Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Lyon left because...........

Of the coach according to Hadley and he said that was a fact.

Smiths coaching is out of wack and players dont seem to enjoy the footy under him.

Pazza

i am leaving my current job cause i dont like working under my total dickhead of a boss!

parralight

Look if I was playing for parra at the moment and the Roosters offered me a contract I would seriously think about going !
AND I love the eels and hate the rooters BUT I would think about just how good I could be at a PROFESSIONALLY run team.

You imagine then what some players are feeling , who have no real allegience to parra and only play for the pay packet.

IMHO we are in real danger of losing Nathan Hindmarsh for next year because of this.

If I was the CEO of Brisbane or the rooters I would approach Nathan with that specific carrot- "Nathan , you are a great player but think of how much better you would be at a club that was run properly ?"

Nathan - like most champion players , arnt playing for money. They play to be the best that they can be.

Jamie Lyon was the first - Is Nathan the next ?

Ron Jeremy

The thing is how many players have left Parra in the last 5 years??......how many have stayed??....that answers th equestion & isn't rocket science to work out.

We have players leave our club TO SIGN FOR LESS MONEY AT OTHER CLUBS....YES LESS MONEY

That say's it all, if they where happy here they would stay for less money because they where happy.

I aint gonna believe anything Ray Hadley says. He's always finding more and more reasons to have a go at Smith, and dig up any dirt that he can. He may be right, but since he's the only source I'm not going to pay any attention to the rumour.

I knew this problem a month after Lyon had left and said he needed to sort a few things out. He'll come back if Smith goes.

I hope Hindmarsh doesnt leave, I really do like all Parramatta fans. But it wouldnt suprise me if he decides to leave and then join his brother at Canberra

Likewise for Michael Witt.

Ron Jeremy

Well i won't take the risk & release Lyon because he may well be right and did seem very convincing.

Misty Bee

Parralight, I'd have to agree. That's why Smith is pushing his barrow hard for rep footy.

One only has to look at Bobcat - who will probably get an Origin jumper - because he is at a strong club and is playing well, and LOOKS to enjoy himself. As much as I hate Canterbury, I am happy for Bobcat - a great servent while he was with us.

Hindy doesn't look happy -there are times when you see the head hang low and you wonder.....

I reckon Killer left because he wasn't happy at the club - the defense v Canterbury left him posted, but remember he spent last year being a defensive centre when everyone knows he is the best attacking 3/4 in the world with decent men inside him.

If it's a case of Killer leaving because of Smith, and Hindy going also, then Fitzgerald really has blood on his hands. Parramattas.

fish eel

If....and thats a big if, thats whu Killer left then I have no respect for him whatsoever.

Same goes for any player a the club, if anyone is not putting in because they dont like the coach, then get stuffed and put someone in there who will put in for the jersey.

thedux

I heard the same rumour straight from a board member about two weeks ago. Hadley is on the money with this one! I'm not going to side with Jamie because there are better ways to deal with hurdles but I know a few ex-Eels are very much enjoying life away from parra at the moment. If it was just the odd player, then you could cop it but it now seems to be an ever-increasing problem at the club.

Y2Eel

sook or or not if i was working under a person i didnt like and had to listen to his instructions all the time i would leave as well.. no point sticking it around if your not happy

ParraEelsNRL

didn;t smith have the same thing happen at the dragons?
if i remember the next yr saints went really well with the same players that smith had :-k

GAME FIRST

Smith is too technical and clever for his own good and more importantly the teams good.
He has not grown the side and his bigger is better is best answered by R Stuart and Roosters.
Fitter is better and skill is better.Bigger can be slower which Parra are proving now.
Anyway his players dont grow and his technical theories miss the fact that any good footy side has a five eight with skill and fitter forwards-not necessarily bigger -look at thge dogs and roosters

Misty Bee

ParraEelsNRL said:
didn;t smith have the same thing happen at the dragons?
if i remember the next yr saints went really well with the same players that smith had :-k

*waqiting for Strider to race in and bag Parra Eels NRL for daring to suggest this..*

Yeah. Tallis sat out the 94 season. Smith also alienated Brad Mackay, because he always picked Jeff Hardy ahead of him, despite Mackay being test lock at the time!