Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Magic Rd Tigers

R&WTILLIDIE

I think I need to stop watching footy for a few weeks. It’s just week after week of utter disappointment. Knowing my dumb ass, I’ll be watching these shit merkins play next week hoping things will be different. It’s like heroin. I can’t kick the habit. My brain knows it’s just a game. But my heart has me fully invested in these merkins. f**k me.

AJDragon

Welcome to the forum, glad I could inspire a new person to join.

In answer to your question, I will stop once there is genuine improvement in this team.

I will stop once we have a board who runs this sporting club like a professional organisation.

I will stop once we have a proper back of house structure that cultivates success on the field.

I will stop once the nepotism from board down to head coach, disappears.

I will stop once our fellow supporters start demanding success and stop accepting mediocrity.
Agree on points 2 and 3. Disagree on point 1 as I do see improvement; partially agree on point 4, particularly in relation to board and executive positions; but, we all want success, so Ill leave point 5 to the forum.

Disappointing loss tonight but in the positives its the first time we have grown some genuine local talent in the forwards in a while. Egan, Stewart and Couchman were all very good tonight and have been all season. With Loko and halangahu in the wings and other couchman recovering from his injury we look like we are going to have a very strong pack in years to come.
Loko should be next to be selected. He should replace lGuler who has been a big disappointment to me.

Do we have a young center ready to replace Suli. I believe suli should be selected at 17.

Leilua should be selected to come off the bench in the prop rotation. Some changes are required because things aren't working as they are. He is big enough and strong enough to transition to a prop.

I can only guess that Gutheerson is acting under instructions from the coach when he routinely is moving to support Sloane on the wing in defense and under the high ball. I say Sloan has had his fair share of chances but still falls short under the hight ball and when it comes to putting his body on the line in defense.

If CT is available, I suggest the wingers should be CT and Lawson. Both Sloan and Finau are quick but both have shown to be shaky under the high ball and reluctant in defense. Allen did not impress me and is far to slow to be a winger. Maybe a replacement for Suli is a better option.

For 2026, I would like to see DCE as our 7 and have Atkins and LKT vie for the five-eighth spot. DCE would bring lots of skill and experience to the halfback spot while at the same time, be a great game manager.

thebigredv

Tigers by 8.
Prediction was 2 off.

I actually got a bad feeling before the match as can happen with such an unreliable team. Funnily enough we left several tries out there un-scored not just the Su'a whoopsie. Tigers opened up like a can of sardines dozens of times but we didn't execute enough. Then we folded like a cheap suit when they got within 10 of our line almost every time. It was quite a weird game all in all.

The Bulldogs loss was fair.
The Eels and Rabbits losses were inexplicable.
The ANZAC flogging was disgraceful.
The Tigers defeat was the biggest waste I've seen for quite some time and we have wasted a lot of matches in the Flanagan era alone.

By this time the Shane Flanagan Dragons should be doing better. We should have recruited better but we should not be losing games like these, and yet we almost expect to as fans.

Ironically our forwards look like they will be well stocked for years to come. Can't deny that.

This Year?

Just watched it after work and can put any delusions of finals this season straight to bed. It just sucks that there's always at least 4 players at any given time in this side that don't deserve to be in 1st grade. I'm treating the rest of the season as pretty much a mini rebuild and will try to at least get some joy out of watching the kids have a crack.

saintmar

I have not posted for a while because I want to refrain from criticising and upseting so many in here who refuse to see the truth
If any of you want me to unleash let me know
Otherwise I will go back into my hole and pretend everything is wonderful
At least there is a few on here who refuse to be shut down with the glaring truth.

RedVDave

I think I need to stop watching footy for a few weeks. It’s just week after week of utter disappointment. Knowing my dumb ass, I’ll be watching these shit merkins play next week hoping things will be different. It’s like heroin. I can’t kick the habit. My brain knows it’s just a game. But my heart has me fully invested in these merkins. f**k me.
This is the most relatable post ever!!!

InFlannoWeTrust

f**k did I get another sleepless night sleep thinking about the game again!
To be fair to us, I think our attack is quite strong and can string some points together when it all flows. I do think last night we looked more dangerous than we have the past 2 weeks.
Though defence is key to winning comps, and to concede a few on last tackle is not good enough. Simple 1on1 misses.
We don’t have many wing/centres available due to injury , and as for Lawson to not get crack yet HE MUSTN’T be ready! Look at finau last week: got exposed.
Really need CT back to replace Sloan OR if Ramsey’s body can handle it upgrade him to top 30 and play wing. SOS RAMSEY!!
thought Luch done well off the bench but maybe better to give him 2 x 25min stints. Can’t have a player like him (on his day) sitting out for 52minutes.
Guler is poor!! Hopefully Loko to debut .
Egan limped off in 72min, hopefully nothing too serious.
Highest 3 tackles last night - Egan , Stewart & Couchman (who was playing with a dead arm)
Yes we may not be getting the results we want, though watching these 19/20yr olds coming through excites me.
I love jdb, though his minutes and output just isn’t there anymore . Still defends well.
Suli NEEDS TO WAKE UP!
Next week with a few injuries I doubt we’ll see much change . Besides someone for Guler .

Blood Shot Eyes

Loko should be next to be selected. He should replace lGuler who has been a big disappointment to me.

Do we have a young center ready to replace Suli. I believe suli should be selected at 17.

Leilua should be selected to come off the bench in the prop rotation. Some changes are required because things aren't working as they are. He is big enough and strong enough to transition to a prop.

I can only guess that Gutheerson is acting under instructions from the coach when he routinely is moving to support Sloane on the wing in defense and under the high ball. I say Sloan has had his fair share of chances but still falls short under the hight ball and when it comes to putting his body on the line in defense.

If CT is available, I suggest the wingers should be CT and Lawson. Both Sloan and Finau are quick but both have shown to be shaky under the high ball and reluctant in defense. Allen did not impress me and is far to slow to be a winger. Maybe a replacement for Suli is a better option.

For 2026, I would like to see DCE as our 7 and have Atkins and LKT vie for the five-eighth spot. DCE would bring lots of skill and experience to the halfback spot while at the same time, be a great game manager.
I agree Poss with your post but isn't it a sad state of affairs that here we are YET AGAIN!!!!!! talking about next season already and it's only round 8.....it might be ok for the vision of the future for the younger supporters but for old bastards like me and I'm sure there's plenty of others on here that we have to once again depend on the next year mentality....bloody incredibly sad tbh

Trying to be positive, the young batch of forwards we have are very good. Something you should be able to build a team around. That leaves a lot of dross in other positions. I thought the halves went OK, but it's a big ask to get a 19 year old to steer the team around. Cook needs to be the next one dropped, he offers nothing in attack or leadership. Old Flanno should be forced to write 1000 times on the blackboard "I shall not recruit Wayne Bennett rejects". I don't know what you do with Sloan, so far he's shown he's not a fullback and he's not a winger, maybe he's not anything. We have the slowest line speed in defence and the worst sideline defence of any team in the comp. Is our defence coach that bad, or are the players lazy, unfit, or stupid, or all three?

The frustrating thing is there was some decent attacking play amongst the crud. This side does just enough to keep you coming back to watch, even though you know your hopes will most likely be spear tackled into the mud.

Blood Shot Eyes

Gladly havnt experienced Heroin but I get your drift re the investment bit and have for 66 years....my wife and I just spent a week in Longreach and drove back 1250 klms to catch the game in time on TV.....FMD after watching that frustrating and at times pathetic performance We wished we were still in the Outback

Mojo

A 12 point turnaround, you can’t make it up. They were ok for 5/6 minutes at the start. My honest opinion is unless we can sign a Bellamy or Robinson who will bring players to the club we won’t win a premiership in my lifetime and that’s probably about 20 years. Heartbreaking
If you stop following StGI you could extend by at least another 5 years I reckon.

Blood Shot Eyes

Trying to be positive, the young batch of forwards we have are very good. Something you should be able to build a team around. That leaves a lot of dross in other positions. I thought the halves went OK, but it's a big ask to get a 19 year old to steer the team around. Cook needs to be the next one dropped, he offers nothing in attack or leadership. Old Flanno should be forced to write 1000 times on the blackboard "I shall not recruit Wayne Bennett rejects". I don't know what you do with Sloan, so far he's shown he's not a fullback and he's not a winger, maybe he's not anything. We have the slowest line speed in defence and the worst sideline defence of any team in the comp. Is our defence coach that bad, or are the players lazy, unfit, or stupid, or all three?

The frustrating thing is there was some decent attacking play amongst the crud. This side does just enough to keep you coming back to watch, even though you know your hopes will most likely be spear tackled into the mud.
Yep agree mate....as soon as we recruited Cook and Illias from Souths the first warming sign for me was Bennett doesnt offload players that (A.) Have run their course or (B) He doesn't feel they have a future under his tutorlidge