Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Magpies Victa Jerseys

I have to hand it to you Maggie fans, you are a breed apart! And I mean that in a positive way.

As a Balmain supporter, I've not been able to follow the Wests Tigers at all, I feel that merging is the same as being killed. But I wish that Balmain fans had stuck together like you blokes have and travel to away games and really get behind the team. I now get my footy fix at Newtown, now that is what RL is all about. No mergers, no dancing girls, no glitz and no video screens. Just pure RL, the local club playing in front of local people and trying to make ends meet through the best steak sambo's in Sydney and the famous raffle. It was a honour to see all the old Magpies at Henson last season and it was refreshing to see the diehards there in all there glory!

I'm still a FC member of Balmain DRLFC, but my interest has been lost. I'll be able to have my say when the vote comes around to continue the merger, I'll say NO but that's my lone voice against the brain washed majority.

Anyway, loved reading all the memories of the Maggies, almost brought a tear to my eye! Keep 'em coming!

Long live the Jets and the Maggies, and oh yeah it would be nice to have Balmain back, but Danny sold us down the river for his $8mil to spend on winning us a premiership within 4 years, and look where we are now. Thanks Danny and the rest of the board for killing Balmain.

Henson Park Hornets said:
I have to hand it to you Maggie fans, you are a breed apart! And I mean that in a positive way.

As a Balmain supporter, I've not been able to follow the Wests Tigers at all, I feel that merging is the same as being killed. But I wish that Balmain fans had stuck together like you blokes have and travel to away games and really get behind the team. I now get my footy fix at Newtown, now that is what RL is all about. No mergers, no dancing girls, no glitz and no video screens. Just pure RL, the local club playing in front of local people and trying to make ends meet through the best steak sambo's in Sydney and the famous raffle. It was a honour to see all the old Magpies at Henson last season and it was refreshing to see the diehards there in all there glory!

I'm still a FC member of Balmain DRLFC, but my interest has been lost. I'll be able to have my say when the vote comes around to continue the merger, I'll say NO but that's my lone voice against the brain washed majority.

Anyway, loved reading all the memories of the Maggies, almost brought a tear to my eye! Keep 'em coming!

Long live the Jets and the Maggies, and oh yeah it would be nice to have Balmain back, but Danny sold us down the river for his $8mil to spend on winning us a premiership within 4 years, and look where we are now. Thanks Danny and the rest of the board for killing Balmain.

Jeez, you've got problems.

Flock of Seagulls haven't charted for 25 years, you can change the hair now.

1982 is long gone, try living in the year 2003 like the rest of us.

yappy

:lol: :lol: :lol:

enjoy McMurdoch world antichrist - I'll stick in reality (you know that world that is the exact opposite of what you read about in the Telegraph) with fine folks like HPH who can't be conned. The REAL Western Suburbs lives on - not in that joke of a thing you call Wests Tigers, but in the bits that weren't handed over to appease the Dark Lord Rupert. The Maggies live not on some Tiger's sleeve, but in the hearts of those of us who won't forget.

I don't know what the future exactly holds, but there is one thing I can guarantee 100%...

In 25 years time you won't find anyone getting excited about the prospect of buying a replica 2003 Radisson Maine Wests Tigers Jersey.

I think that sums it up nicely.

yappy said:

enjoy McMurdoch world antichrist - I'll stick in reality (you know that world that is the exact opposite of what you read about in the Telegraph) with fine folks like HPH who can't be conned. The REAL Western Suburbs lives on - not in that joke of a thing you call Wests Tigers, but in the bits that weren't handed over to appease the Dark Lord Rupert. The Maggies live not on some Tiger's sleeve, but in the hearts of those of us who won't forget.

I don't know what the future exactly holds, but there is one thing I can guarantee 100%...

In 25 years time you won't find anyone getting excited about the prospect of buying a replica 2003 Radisson Maine Wests Tigers Jersey.

I don't read the Telegraph often but I think it's important that you make assumptions like that. It'll make it more interesting in the long run.

What makes you think I'm not a Magpies supporter?

That's exactly what I have been for more than a decade, but I've accepted what happened as inevitable and preferrable to the alternatives. Swallowed up by Canterbury sounded fantastic......

Talk to your Newtown mate there, his team is where our side would be if we tried to go it alone. Maybe you should read his other diatribe in the other thread, he's clinically insane and is waiting for the day the newspaper is delivered that has the headline "Jets back in the N.R.L".

I'd love to be a stand alone club, but I can't see it happening in the near future, so unlike HRH or whatever he calls himself, I'll just accept what we have and get on with it. Instead of getting a chubby every time someone mentions Victa. And typing things in bold because it means something to someone else....

yappy

Mate I'll ask you one question.

What's the big deal with First Grade?

Me I just don't get it. Sure I want to get back there one day, but it ain't worth selling out for. I get as much (maybe more) pleasure watching my team go around in Premiers or even the Junior Reps. The 2002 S.G. Ball Grand Final was one of the highlights of my 25 years of support. That's because they are my team.

If you're happy with watching that bunch of nuffies run around in that abortion of a jersey fine for you, but critizing people who have real passion for the club and support it through thick and thin is a bit rich. I know people who follow the Tiges, I don't knock them for it, but I don't understand it. Not one of them has ever said to me that that have the same passion as they did (or still do) for the Magpies. You may be a 'realist' or maybe you're just a quitter, I suppose it depends on how you look at it.

I'd rather be accused of living in the past than ever giving up on my club and accepting whatever crumbs the rich and powerful decide to throw my way. If the NRL don't want me and my club fine, neither of us need the NRL to continue doing what we've been doing for decades. So tell me again why its so damn important to be in First Grade - so damn important that we have to surrender our identity and become a phantom?

yappy said:
Mate I'll ask you one question.

What's the big deal with First Grade?

Me I just don't get it. Sure I want to get back there one day, but it ain't worth selling out for. I get as much (maybe more) pleasure watching my team go around in Premiers or even the Junior Reps. The 2002 S.G. Ball Grand Final was one of the highlights of my 25 years of support. That's because they are my team.

If you're happy with watching that bunch of nuffies run around in that abortion of a jersey fine for you, but critizing people who have real passion for the club and support it through thick and thin is a bit rich. I know people who follow the Tiges, I don't knock them for it, but I don't understand it. Not one of them has ever said to me that that have the same passion as they did (or still do) for the Magpies. You may be a 'realist' or maybe you're just a quitter, I suppose it depends on how you look at it.

I'd rather be accused of living in the past than ever giving up on my club and accepting whatever crumbs the rich and powerful decide to throw my way. If the NRL don't want me and my club fine, neither of us need the NRL to continue doing what we've been doing for decades. So tell me again why its so damn important to be in First Grade - so damn important that we have to surrender our identity and become a phantom?

Pretty harsh on the selling out statement there.

If selling out means that I get to watch a First Grade side then so be it. Take a look at that pathetic Newtown supporter. He's about as relevant as flares and 1/2 as intelligent. If Wests had gone the same way, you'll be him in 20 years, talking to yourself in a forum that's only there for winos and Mental home escapees.

I've been through what you go through, spending time watching Juniors etc. and I saw stars coming through as well, but circumstances change, family takes precedence and although I'd love to keep doing that, priorities preclude that. When the ruggies are old enough, I'll do it again but for now, I'll be there at Campbelltown on game days and when they play away within reason, but I'll only see two matches.

I'd never undersell another supporter just because they only want to watch First Grade. It doesn't make them more or less than anyone else.

Don't put yourself on a pedestal bud, it only means the fall is longer. I love the Magpies too but I like to watch the Wests Tigers and I am warming to them more and more. I see a future there and want to be a part of it. If that makes me less of a fan, I can live with that.

yappy

Um mate it was you who started the name calling. Henson said nothing about Wests Tigers fans, just that he wished some Balmain fans had stuck solid like the Magpies Diehards. He put the boot into Munk and the Balmain board, but he pays his membership fees so he has every right.

It was you who came onto a thread where several fans have enjoyed memories of times past and contributed such gems as:

and the perennial chestnut...

It's a free thread and if that's what you want to contribute fine. Enjoy your moment and your next Tigers game. I know I'm going to love watching the Magpies, and I have no doubt Henson will enjoy watching the Jets and if you want to tell the likes of us that we've got problems we won't lose a moments sleep, but we might return serve just for the f*ck of it.

You still haven't given any answer to why supporting a First Grade side is so important whether it is selling out or not. Perhaps its a question whose answer is too uncomfortable to be admitted, or perhaps you've just never even considered the alternative. You say you wouldn't undersell another supporter just because they only watch First Grade - yet you've proven yourself to be completely happy to do so if they don't want to watch First Grade at all - interesting. Those of us who have no interest in First Grade are presumably less than everyone else or why else would we be open to such attack as 'pathetic', 'irrelevant', '1/2 as intelligent as flares', 'winos', and my personal fave 'mental home escapee'.

So you can drop the hurt and injured crap act. You can clearly dish it out, you should be big enough to cop the returns. Especially when you have taken it upon yourself to start it up. I'm not putting myself on any pedestal, I'm putting myself at the games or in any other position that might put back something into the club that has given me so much.

As you have young kids might I make a friendly suggestion? Bring them to the stand alone games like I do. $10 gets me and the missus in - next year it will be free with our footy club membership. The small crowd means you don't have to worry so much about the kids or all the problems that are potential at NRL crowds. You get the hills pretty much to yourself and they can run around in safety. Hell they might even enjoy the game like my daughter does. For your $10 you even get to come back to the pub after the game and join in the free buffet. You might have reason to knock Premier League and the Club that plays in it and the fans that support it - but value for money is surely not one of them. Its an alternative well worth considering I reckon and I'm sure glad Campbelltown Stadium when the Maggies are playing was where I found myself after escaping the asylum. ;-)

yappy said:

Awesome post Yappy,
I love the Magpies.

Bill.

B_Tiger

I can't speak for everlovin but for me first grade is important because it represents the best competition in rugby league. Along with that comes the media attention given to such a competition. It is fantastic to go to Leichhardt oval on a saturday arvo and watch first division with a tiny group of others and see the balmain jersey go up against manly or parra or wests, but I think it is also good being a part of a large crowd supporting a team in first grade. Every year I think it'll be impossible for me to support first grade and they keep on doing things like bringing out a shit jersey to make it that much harder. But, when they come out on to the field, I can't help but be excited. Wests tigers is a much much poorer version of the Balmain tigers, but it's all we have in first grade. It is a bullshit team in first grade but at least it gives our young players a chance to compete against the best. Seeing O'hall, Farah and even bradley go up against the best is something to look forward to.

I agree with you about the team though, the jersey is shit, the logo is shit, the atmosphere is shit. All in all it can feel f**king hollow sometimes (or a lot of the time) but I'll continue to support them for as long as the club exists.

yappy

But that's the rub isn't it mate. If it's just for the atmosphere or the fact it's the best comp what does it matter what team is playing. I enjoy a big crowd atmosphere and a top quality game too. That why I enjoyed the Origins and the Grand Final. The result doesn't mean a great deal, but its an event.

So if that's why you go, what did it matter that the JV happened. You could have got the same thing going to see the Roosters or Parra, plus the atmosphere and quality would have been way better. You admitted that the feeling just ain't the same. For me it's kinda like going to a funeral. It isn't Balmain or Wests. It's someone else out there. Kinda similar - but not the real thing.

Gobbso

Yappy you know me well, and others on here that are Magpies through and through. I embraced the Joint-Venture for one sole reason. That reason was that the Magpies were going to be apart of it. They are represented through their brand name 'Wests' and the Magpie stills lives on, by forever remaining of the Jersey for as long as the Joint-Venture sticks around for. Sure it might be the sleeves, but hey...that's more than what the Steelers or Bears have.

Is it an issue for some supporters that they just want to follow a 1st Grade team? Perhaps, but then perhaps not. I am a supporter who wouldn't care where Western Suburbs Magpies or Wests Tigers played, be in Harold Matt's, or even park football. If that's were their future lies at and in what ever capacity, well i'd be there throwing my ongoing support behind them and my love and passion for the club would not diminish, if anything it would probably grow.

Comparing Premier League to 1st Grade may be hard for some folk. For you, well we all know that your a raving Black and White lunatic :lol: for my own expereince, you get that feeling that you had back when you started supporting the club for the first time, that special, warm feeling inside, that proclaims that you love the club and nothing will ever replace them. Then there's that voice in the back of your head saying, "its not the same, if only they were still in 1st Grade with everyone else, it's not fair". No one can help but think about it from time to time, but when they cross for another try and win the game, that thought disappears for another week.

University and Work commitments stood in the way of me attending many Magpie lower grade games throughout Season 2003. I would have loved to gone to more, but i had to make those very hard sacrificies, and will still have continue to do so. It doesn't make me any less of a supporter, if anything it makes me more hungrier to see them even more next time around when the opportunity presents itself.

In all, yes i'm a supporter of the Joint-Venture due to Western Suburbs being apart of it. But in my heart i'll always be a Magpie, till the day they lay me down in the grave, nothing will ever change that. I support the Western Suburbs Magpies at where ever and what ever shape, form and level in Rugby League that they competing in and at. So that's the Joint-Venture, right through to the Under 13's Junior Magpie Development Program. Hell i even support the Minto Cobra's in the Western Suburbs Junior district. ;-)

Gobbs, you put in a very good reason why you follow the JV, all I can say is good on you, that is your choice. For me Balmain it had to be Balmain Tigers or nothing. It did us for 95 odd years and why all of a sudden we had to join forces with another team? A football team for me represents an area, I can't see the JV representing me. Where is "Wests" I can't see it in my Gregorys or the UBD. I can find the "Western Suburbs" but not Wests....

They say that watching the 1st grade comp is the best that there is, even if that means losing your team in the process. My opinion is that it doesn't matter where they are playing, I will watch my team. But my team reprsents me in an area and the JV don't do it for me, I can't follow the Balmain Tigers with the same passion knowing that they are part of the JV, so where do I turn? I know a team that represents what I feel RL is all about. They are founder members of the league, they never give in, they have never merged, they have fought back from extinction and as Yappy said I get a warm fuzzy feeling when they run out. That my friends is Newtown Jets DRLFC, the one and only.

Gobbso

Mate well said, and i respect your opinion in the highest regard. Wests Tigers is and never will compare to my beloved Magpies, but as i said, Western Suburbs are apart of it, therefore i choose to follow it. Henson Park Hornets, i look forward to attending next year's Newtown Vs. Western Suburbs clash at Henson Park and having one of those steak sambo's and sharing a few beers with you and the diehards. I'll be making every effort to get there, after hearing what a success this year's was. Rugby League at its best! ;-) Yappy, make sure you get someone else driving the booze bus :lol:

King Tigerman

then you shuld look at getting victa to becoming a sponsor of the football club /s victa do sponsor canberra but its only their masoct

also if all these pies fans are dreaming about victas jerseys then lets see if the clowns who mades these strips can make 1969 tigers jerseys & sell em for $120 or less

King Tigerman

Gobbso said:
Mate well said, and i respect your opinion in the highest regard. Wests Tigers is and never will compare to my beloved Magpies, but as i said, Western Suburbs are apart of it, therefore i choose to follow it. Henson Park Hornets, i look forward to attending next year's Newtown Vs. Western Suburbs clash at Henson Park and having one of those steak sambo's and sharing a few beers with you and the diehards. I'll be making every effort to get there, after hearing what a success this year's was. Rugby League at its best! ;-) Yappy, make sure you get someone else driving the booze bus :lol:

if we dont have a 5.30 game that day detour via my place & pick me up

yappy said:
Um mate it was you who started the name calling. Henson said nothing about Wests Tigers fans, just that he wished some Balmain fans had stuck solid like the Magpies Diehards. He put the boot into Munk and the Balmain board, but he pays his membership fees so he has every right.

Shall we call this.... Exhibit A ?

There is more heart and soul in the 13 blokes who pull on the Royal Blue of Newtown then there is combned with the whole of the Wests Tigers, and I'm not having a go at the Die Hards or the likes of Tigger. I'm talking about the muppets who supported the killing of two founation clubs.

I'd say that's cleary a shot at people who have embraced the JV.

If I'm going to be a Muppet, I'd like to be Kermit, cos he got some Pork.

By the way, I haven't begun to name call. When it happens, there'll be no doubt in your mind.

yappy said:
It was you who came onto a thread where several fans have enjoyed memories of times past and contributed such gems as:

Well, he does have problems. He follows.... Newtown. Granted, not as pathetic as following Ananndale or even Sydney University, but still pretty pathetic.

yappy said:
and the perennial chestnut...

Well, judging by his posts, I'm amazed that he's posting here. I'm amazed that he knows about the internet. Chestnutty enough?

yappy said:
It's a free thread and if that's what you want to contribute fine. Enjoy your moment and your next Tigers game. I know I'm going to love watching the Magpies, and I have no doubt Henson will enjoy watching the Jets and if you want to tell the likes of us that we've got problems we won't lose a moments sleep, but we might return serve just for the f*ck of it.

Please do. I like Dinosaurs. They give Palaeontologists a job.

yappy said:
You still haven't given any answer to why supporting a First Grade side is so important whether it is selling out or not. Perhaps its a question whose answer is too uncomfortable to be admitted, or perhaps you've just never even considered the alternative. You say you wouldn't undersell another supporter just because they only watch First Grade - yet you've proven yourself to be completely happy to do so if they don't want to watch First Grade at all - interesting. Those of us who have no interest in First Grade are presumably less than everyone else or why else would we be open to such attack as 'pathetic', 'irrelevant', '1/2 as intelligent as flares', 'winos', and my personal fave 'mental home escapee'.

You're the one who thinks that he's "special" because he holds out for the old days. The whole argument gets less relevant as the years tick by. The last two seasons Wests were a stand alone in FG were diabolical. I know, because I was there for them. We were on the verge of going the way of the Rams and the Reds. But we survived, you seem to have a large problem with that and I don't.

Let's not get confused, there's nothing wrong with following a Premier League side only, but don't for a second think that it gives you the right to call anyone who follows the JV club a sell out. You seem to have this position where you believe you can dictate the terms people should be supporting the club.

You people throw the words "Sell out" around like you've got the patent on it. Yet, without what you call selling out, there'd be no FG side at all. That would mean that most of us would be jealous of Manly and that under any circumstances, isn't on.

I remember when the JV was announced feeling a great sense of relief that we weren't going to go out backwards. If we hadn't JV'd, we probably wouldn't exist at all, except in the hearts of the die-hards.

A supporter is a supporter, if he or she pays money at the gate, it doesn't matter who they are, they are no more or less important than you.

yappy said:
So you can drop the hurt and injured crap act. You can clearly dish it out, you should be big enough to cop the returns. Especially when you have taken it upon yourself to start it up. I'm not putting myself on any pedestal, I'm putting myself at the games or in any other position that might put back something into the club that has given me so much.

Hurt? LOL

Give it your best shot mate. I've argued with every man and his dog here. I had a stand up blue with Brook when she took aim at Wests, I'm not above giving you a serve for being full of yourself if you show yourself to be just that.

Don't make me cut and paste the evidence...

yappy said:
As you have young kids might I make a friendly suggestion? Bring them to the stand alone games like I do. $10 gets me and the missus in - next year it will be free with our footy club membership. The small crowd means you don't have to worry so much about the kids or all the problems that are potential at NRL crowds. You get the hills pretty much to yourself and they can run around in safety. Hell they might even enjoy the game like my daughter does. For your $10 you even get to come back to the pub after the game and join in the free buffet. You might have reason to knock Premier League and the Club that plays in it and the fans that support it - but value for money is surely not one of them. Its an alternative well worth considering I reckon and I'm sure glad Campbelltown Stadium when the Maggies are playing was where I found myself after escaping the asylum. ;-)

Tried that. My kids don't want to see the Premier League matches unless they're played before the FG. They're part of a generation that wants their team to be in the news, not a team that is a footnote in the results pages of the Sunday papers.

But that's the way of the world unfortunately. Newtown are a footnote, Wests Magpies are a footnote and the Balmain Tigers are a footnote. If you're not in the News or the Papers, you're irrelevant. I didn't make those rules.

You may well have been happy for Wests to go the way of Newtown, but most of us weren't and accept the reality of the JV. It was that or nothing.

yappy

so this dosen't degenerate into a cut-and-paste-a-thon I'll leave this to stand unchallenged except for one point.

You're the one who thinks that he's "special"

Well actually no. I don't think I'm special. I think Western Suburbs is special, and special in a way the JV will never be. There is a world of difference.

B_Tiger

yappy said:
It's someone else out there. Kinda similar - but not the real thing.

you asked why I support and need wests tigers in first grade rather then simply supporting another club. Well, you just stated why. It is something like Balmain, if only because matches are played at leichhardt. I'm no longer really a rugby league fan, I'm simply a balmain tigers fan. I'll support rugby league for as long as Balmain is around but the competition would get no interest from me if wests tigers or Balmain didn't have a presence. I could never start over with another club.

I think Henson and gobbs have made some good points. I agree with henson that it does hurt thinking about the fact we merged and sold our history. I hate that. It urks me far more today then it did three years ago. No offense to wests, but I hate that all the meet the fan events are held out at campbelltown and the media is starting to report us as a western suburbs club. I want to be balmain, the small club on the brink of survival in an area where league is no longer fashionable. I loved that, and so did most fans of rugby league. A match every second weekend at leichhardt (rather then simply 5 matches all year) was terrific, the club had more of a home then any other side in rugby league. And we lost all of that.

I agree that wests tigers are simply a poor superleague version of our clubs, but I view them as a bonus in supporting my team. I'm glad there is still some sort of a presence in the paper (as everlovin points out). Plus, when wests tigers win over some shitty superleague or wannabe superleague club it is a very satisfying result. Like beating the roosters, I couldn't help but be very very happy with that result. I f**king hate that club and if a tigers team gets the occasional victory over them, then I'm more then happy to support the club. I suppose it is bitter support of my club. I hate most clubs out there, wests tigers are the team I choose to take it to those bastards because as bad as wests tigers may be, at least they are shit enough so that we all can feel sorry for the club.

yappy said:
so this dosen't degenerate into a cut-and-paste-a-thon I'll leave this to stand unchallenged except for one point.

You're the one who thinks that he's "special"

Well actually no. I don't think I'm special. I think Western Suburbs is special, and special in a way the JV will never be. There is a world of difference.

It doesn't degenerate into a C & P-a-thon, it elevates to it. It usually stops when one person runs out of ammo. ;-)

Sorry Yappy, you do think you're a cut above the rest. You specifically mentioned how you and three others were the only defiant ones who voted against the JV. One of whom has apparently changed allegiances and the other has embraced the JV. A tad short of a quorum methinks.

You mention it as if it's a badge of honour, something for others to give you kudos for, something that you honestly believe makes you superior to plebs like myself who decided to embrace the JV for whatever reason.

I mean this with no offence intended, but you were and are in a minority. That doesn't make you a hero to the masses of people who hate the JV. It makes you a hero to the few who hate the JV with a passion. That list includes Tigger, which in itself should tell you something.

We were gone and the JV saved our arses. As painful as it was to lose the Magpies from FG, it would have been more painful to not be there at all.

Love the Magpies, but try and refrain from putting the boot into the JV. It doesn't need it and the alternative to the JV is quite frankly, extinction.

yappy

yeah right. You should read the post again champ. I mentioned the fact of my vote to Max not to big note myself, but in response to him mentioning his vote at the same meeting. It was completely relevant because, 1. He brought it up, and 2. he was criticising two other people who are members of this very small minority as you correctly assert. If pointing out the things people with differences have in common is now some sort of ego trip that should be ridiculed then debates will be very hard to conduct above the level of cheap point scoring. You may prefer that, but sometimes I like to dig a little deeper.

If all I ever did was come on here and bag off people I disagreed with using cheap insults rather than making some real contribution away form this forum to the club I love and trying in my own small way to help make it as successful as it can be then maybe your accusations of delusions of grandeur might have some currency. I know what I do for the club. I certainly don't do it for any kudos from majorities or minorities, but out of a sense of duty to my team, and I certainly don't need to spell it out to you. I have no idea what sort of contribution you choose to make or not so I won't cast any aspersions. There is certainly no shame in simply choosing to support a team and going to as many games as you can manage - it's a position I have held myself for many years.

It doesn't degenerate into a C & P-a-thon, it elevates to it. It usually stops when one person runs out of ammo.

Yeah that might be one of the reasons. :roll: