Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manly the new benchmark

is that you Frank Stanton (biscuits)

brisbane beat the dragons at WIN down 12-0.....did you do that?
brisbane beat the shakrs at cronulla down 12-0...WITH kimmorley
Manly beat the sharks minus kimmorely...big difference there.

t-ba

Charlie Saab said:
is that you Frank Stanton (biscuits)

brisbane beat the dragons at WIN down 12-0.....did you do that?
brisbane beat the shakrs at cronulla down 12-0...WITH kimmorley
Manly beat the sharks minus kimmorely...big difference there.

WITH 12 men on the field...

Pray tell, how'd you go against the Warriors and the Storm again?

Biscuits

We also did it with 12 players. We beat the Storm. They bent you guys over. Swings and roundabouts. Well see whos travelling better in a few hours but i am guessing some will still be finding excuses. Something along the lines of "It was Lockys 3rd game in 8 days" or "we were missing 2 internationals" or "we didnt have our regular dummy=half and our cohesion suffered as a result"

I dont know if we wil win, but if we do will your opinion of Manly have changed?

one game doesnt make a winter biscuits.
It like mundine saying he outplayed daley and fittler...sure he may have in those games, but what about the rest of the season.
There will be no excuses...well unless of course clark sends off lockyer, webcke, and stagg ;-)

Biscuits

Correct. One game doesnt make a winter. But one game doesnt ruin one either. So well forget about saints and you can forget about Melbourne.
What do you need to see from Manly for you to start to beleive they are a fairdinkum footy team? Just like your opinion on how we can finally win some respect.

manly season will not change on tonights game.

Earn respect? i guess by maintaining a conistent run of form for the next 6-8 weeks. If manly are still on top come rnd 15-16 then they are the real deal.
I still have question marks over the backs re manly.
Matai and stephonson as backs dont fill me with confidence
How many games will Tezza play
Michael Witt i question too.

This isnt manlys yr...i like manly for 2006-7-8.

Bullrider

T-Ba this is what annoys me. Everyone complains about the Broncos having the choice over so many playes. Then on the other hand they dont want the Gold Coast admitted as 16th team.

White Poiner

Go manly well played. This is one benchmark sharks dont want to aim up to. :lol:
Here fatty in the first half when stewart was in goal he's gonna score but he got tackled into touch 2 metres out of the in goal. :clap: What a dumbass

CC_Eagle

white pointer! said:
Go manly well played. This is one benchmark sharks dont want to aim up to. :lol:
Here fatty in the first half when stewart was in goal he's gonna score but he got tackled into touch 2 metres out of the in goal. :clap: What a dumbass

Another quality contribution..

CC_Eagle

white pointer! said:

double.

i love benchmarks that get hammered 30-0 in the 1st half.

yes yes yes, the broncos were smashed by the storm, but look how they have responded...thats the sign of a champion team.
Manly built up this match to be a GF and they paid the penalty.
Shows the difference between Bennetts 450 plus games and Haslers 30 odd games.

Garts

Charlie Saab said:
i love benchmarks that get hammered 30-0 in the 1st half.

yes yes yes, the broncos were smashed by the storm, but look how they have responded...thats the sign of a champion team.
Manly built up this match to be a GF and they paid the penalty.
Shows the difference between Bennetts 450 plus games and Haslers 30 odd games.

also Bennett has the better cattle at his disposal. but the Broncos sure did show us that we have alot of work to do, outclassed us in every aspect of the game.

this weekends game will be a test of our mental toughness, the tigers are far from easy beats!!!! it will be tough, hopefully we are up for it.

bennett has the cattle yes...but who had heard of berrick barnes, david stagg, k hunt, costigan, mapp...etc.
these guys are not exactly house hold names 2 yrs ago. Wayne has been the one that has contributed greatly to what they are doing today.

Sea_Eagles_Rock

Mate your like broken record...

The only reason you had 30 at half time is because Manly played some of the worst football I have ever seen. 71% of the ball and you only put on 30!!! Honestly, you should have scored 50. You are right though, the match was built up far too much and Manly choked on it.

As for Wayne Bennett, you speak like you think the sun shines out of his date. He was also responsible for holding back players like Carl Webb in the past. If you get on his bad side, you can forget it.

Barnes did sweet FA last week. I amyet to be convinced he is anything yet. Hunt had an ok game. Certainly not a game he should be talked about in the same sentence as State of Origin... Stagg has been the standout for Brisbane for 2 years now. The bloke tackles like there is not tomorrow.

The Broncos were by far the better side on Friday night. But I wouldn't be looking forward to going to Brookvale for the return match if I was you.

Enjoy the dogs, you should wallop them as well. But I think you are getting way ahead of yourself if you think Brisbane are Grand Final certainties. Rep footy will leave hole you can drive a truck through.

arr rock boy...

origin this yr is different. With the emergence of the cowboys, and the players in the chooks team, the broncos wont have 10 players in the team.
Wayne held back Carl Webb did he? you know that for a FACT do you?
I know barnes did sweet FA, he only played 15 mins. What i am saying is that the broncos dont raid other clubs like the "eagles" do....Brisbane dont have to thats right. But at the same time, who are these young kids? they are not established players are they? They might crumble in yr 1 or 2.
Stagg has only played 20 games. He came on mid season 2004.
I am very much looking forward to the return match...more than anything in the world. I will be there on the hill cheering hard.
If lockyer could kick goals the scoreline would have been 48-12. Still, i will take 38...doesnt bother me. 8 tries to 2 is still a smashing.
Dont try and sugar coat a bitter pill Rocky...they eagles played like crap and their preperation for the game was pathetic.
If i was putting money on who will win the GF 2005 as i have (or who will be there) it will be on the broncos and not manly...thats for sure.