Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manly v Dragons Thread - Everything.

SRB_SEA_EAGLE

Have a read of the dragqueens forum..whingers of the highest order , almost nearing the pathetic parra-doesnt-matter level of ignorance , or even souths head in a burrow mentality , ....they list missing players , ( geez manly have a few in brett stewart , george rose and wolfman ), players who were unfit and not available for selection , they list players backing up , ( geez when did 3 become a larger number than 8 ? ) , tries " scored" on the dead ball lines are supposed to be tries , and forward passes on try scoring plays arent foward.....is this typical of these clubs supporters , or , does it have more to do with not winning a comp in 30 years ?? or a combo of both ? Icing on the cake - TREX killing it on matt " I dont play city /country " cooper.

Someone

What was once a friendly congratulations will now be a snipe fest. Shows the maturity of some fans i guess.

SRB_SEA_EAGLE

Pearce orf thommo..ya suck up here saying clearly the better side one , but started a thread about how the morris no try , was a try...get it up ya.

patzz_

Have a read of the dragqueens forum..whingers of the highest order , almost nearing the pathetic parra-doesnt-matter level of ignorance , or even souths head in a burrow mentality , ....they list missing players , ( geez manly have a few in brett stewart , george rose and wolfman ), players who were unfit and not available for selection , they list players backing up , ( geez when did 3 become a larger number than 8 ? ) , tries " scored" on the dead ball lines are supposed to be tries , and forward passes on try scoring plays arent foward.....is this typical of these clubs supporters , or , does it have more to do with not winning a comp in 30 years ?? or a combo of both ? Icing on the cake - TREX killing it on matt " I dont play city /country " cooper.

Tell me this mate. Would you rather have Lyon, T Williams, Ballin, Perry, Kite and Watmough all not playing? Because we had injuries as well as people backing up. I'm pretty sure i would rather have everyone backing up.

Oh and Wolfman is like us saying we didn't have Goodwin, he is a nothing player.

As for tries scored on the dead ball line, there is a thing called benefit of the doubt to the attacking team for simaltaneous calls like that. Have you been watching rugby league for the past decade? Probally not then.

I will admit you guys did play better, congratulations to you guy for it. Whether or not you can do it against a full strength dragons line up later this yr at our home ground is a different matter.

Harold Bishop

Comparing a premiership winning winger to a reserve grade player. Get a grip.

Funny how no one mentions that we did it without Foran (our chief playmaker) for the majority..

patzz_

Williams wouldn't make first grade at half the clubs in this competition. Maybe at cronulla ahead of Isaac Gordon.

Dutchy

As for tries scored on the dead ball line, there is a thing called benefit of the doubt to the attacking team for simaltaneous calls like that. Have you been watching rugby league for the past decade? Probally not then.

No there isn't you dumbass. Deadball line is dead. Simultaneous or not.

patzz_

Mate, if two players ground the ball at the same time, benefit of the doubt goes to the attacking team. The interpretation rule is the same here.

Dutchy

LOL, no it isn't. If your foot is on the line as you ground it, try or no try?

cupid

Suck it dragon fans, both the Morris decision and the forward pass were both write. The frame where Brett grounds the balls is very well on the dead ball line. And what the f**k is a floating bullet pass?

Daddycool

Just when you thought Dragons fans couldn't possibly get any more pathetic......

The latest excuse one of them has proposed is....wait for it... they intentionally ran dead!! :crazy:

That's right, demonstrating the ability to think outside the square to come up with even better excuses for a loss; this bloke actually believes the Dragons did "something similar to rd 26 last year" referring to when the Eels sucker punched them.

Come on Thommo.... Comments like these don't do you any credit.

DRAGONZ_RULE

Congratulations Manly, far too good for us last night - was at the game, and it was highly disappointing ... comfortably our worst performance of the season, and comfortably your most consistent 80 minutes of footy.

Even with all our players out (ignoring the season-long injuries, we had Weyman, J Smith, Saffy, Nightingale, Scott out last night and Costigan went down early in the 2nd half), I thought our defence was pretty solid apart from a couple of bad reads by Brett Morris, who was clearly very jaded after the previous night's Test match. I feel that Manly probably would have scored 40 or 50 against most other sides last night, as you guys were pretty much camped inside our 30m zone for 70% of the match.

You guys only have 1 player left to come into your team (Rose), as D Williams won't be selected ahead of T Williams/Robertson/Farrar on current form, and Stewart is out all year, whilst we have 6 to come back (including 1 incumbent Aus rep, 2 incumbent NZ reps, and 1 incumbent QLD rep).

It's hard to take too much out of last night's game given all the circumstances ... everything else we already knew:

1) Manly will make the top 4.
2) St George will make the top 4.

After that, who knows!

Looking forward to the re-match later in the season, hopefully both sides can be at full-strength!

Congratulations again on a fine win.

DRAGONZ_RULE

P.S. I would like to make mention of one particular Manly fan ... he was sitting about 5m to the right of the Dragon Army last night.

He gave sh*t to us all evening, yelling at us, abusing us, laughing at us etc ... whenever Manly scored a try, or whenever St George would make an error, the first thing he did was to jump up and look towards us and have a laugh rather than cheer his own team on.

With a couple of minutes to go, after virtually 80 minutes of copping abuse from this bloke, one bloke from the Dragon Army who couldn't handle it anymore walked over there, stood 5m away and asked the Manly supporter to stand up and face him like a man .... when, 'lo and behold, the Manly bloke sat down on his arse, firstly pretended he couldn't hear, and then pretended that the Dragons supporter was actually talking to someone else. When he couldn't pretend anymore, he got up and literally ran off down the hill.

Honestly, if there's one thing I can't stand, it's supporters (whether Dragons fans or opposition fans) who go to the game and intentionally make it their aim to piss off opposition supporters.

But if there's one thing that's even worse, it's blokes like this guy who are happy to give sh*t all night, and then as soon as someone calls them on it, they run off like a little coward.

Whoever that bloke is should be ashamed of himself .... if you are reading this, you will know exactly who you are ..... how about next time you go to watch your team play, you actually cheer them on rather than laughing at the opposition .... tosser.

P.P.S. I think both the Dragon Army and the Manly fans were very well-behaved last night ... the Army provided wonderful atmosphere all game, even though we were down on the scoreboard, and the Manly fans (apart from the guy I am talking about and another 1 or 2 in the near vicinity) didn't go out of their way to point out that we were getting belted.

Daddycool

Very gracious.

However, bearing in mind the fact that 99% of Dragons fans mercilessly dish it out every chance they get.......

Well, lets just say.... moments of clarity such as the one you've demonstrated, are very few and far between.

to_ddeath

Well done and well played Manly, came at us a million miles an hour & our blokes couldnt stand up to it, especially in the 2nd half. Morris looked buggered, much slower defensively than usual due to the test and your blokes exploited that with great success...plus our halves were sh*te. With some more forwards back we wouldve been far more competitive, but credit where it's due. See you in the finals hopefully.

T.

Very gracious.

However, bearing in mind the fact that 99% of Dragons fans mercilessly dish it out every chance they get.......

Well, lets just say.... moments of clarity such as the one you've demonstrated, are very few and far between.

So from the above comment Daddycool I take it you attend many of the Dragons games each year, apart from the 2 (maximum) we play manly ?

Doug2234

Quite a positive thread until this wanker decided to show up...

o well well player Manly. Cya in Rd 23