Millward Mess.Hope Mann & his manager don't now want Halfback money in their deep discussions with Millward!!! This is brewing to be another mess.
Mann is a poor man's Jason Hooper. Can fill a gap here and there.
Just lifting the blinkers off some on here.
Gypsy
When I saw the team list with Mann at 7 and McCrone at 17, I climaxed
Tell Mc Innes because that is where 90% of it will come from.Widdop needs early ball - I hope Mann understands this!
I remember as a kid I made mum buy me the Changa Langlands record, one of the versus was "if they'd played him hooker, you can bet he'd win the ball".Mann is on a hiding to nothing
Another position,
If he fails in the first game to impress,the club and Mary and some fans will say we told you so I did not work and end of experiment
He succeeds everyone who rates Mann will say told you how good he is
The club and Mary will pat themselves on the back
Some fans will still bag Mann
Gitano will be top of that list
Do we have another player at this club that can play every position in the backline and be good at each of them
I don't think so
He could easily be hooker as well
I hope he has a blinder and his value increases as I think he is amongst our best players
I am more excited to watch this game now than any other game saints have played this year
Just to see how Mann goes
You could be right mate problem is it wont be with usi reckon he will end up being a superstar 7
I rate Mann highly but there are so many intangibles to being a great 7. That's why JT and Cronk are rated so highly as they have such a high footy IQ and just know how to win. It's why we're paying Ben Hunt circa $1m per year.
We'll be better off as he won't have the clangers that McCrone had, but I'm not expecting miracles.
At least my friend, the L plates move from the coach to a very good footballer who has been stuffed around since he came to the club.As one of Mann's biggest supporters and believers on the forum (perhaps only challenged by Como who has stuck rock solid in support with him from the get go) i completely agree with you. Out of all the positions from 1-7 that i think he is the least suited to, it is the No. 7. Don't get me wrong, the kid has the freak value to come out and kill it in the 7, nothing would surprise me with Kurt, but he is more an instinctive footballer than he is a controlling one, so no way am i expecting a JT or Cronk performance, not even a Pearce or Townsend performance.
The big thing that worries me is the Mary factor. I just have this awful feeling Mary will fill his head with instruction similar to what he gave Benji and we all know what happens when Mary instructs a ball playing, running, instinctive player to forget what he has learnt over the previous 15-20 years and just try and play like Cooper Cronk.
Like you though, i don't believe we will be any worse off than we were with McCrone, particularly if Mann is generally allowed to play his natural game and if Widdop adapts to that and uses it to his advantage. I do fear though, that Mary might find a way to f**k this up by pinning L Plates on Mann and strangle him with instructions.........i'm super excited about the prospect of positive change though.
Disagree. I reckon he will be like Clint Gutherson, capable of filling a few positions, a dangerous runner and a match winner on his day.
Widdop needs early ball - I hope Mann understands this!
You could be right mate problem is it wont be with us
I was going to say the exact same thingTell Mc Innes because that is where 90% of it will come from.
You know the worst thing that can happen here is Mann at 7 and starts killing it and then Mc Crone comes on for an extended time at 9 and plays like the 7 or offers shit service.I was going to say the exact same thing
CLEARLY IT WILL BEYou could be right mate problem is it wont be with us
Thats good news...thought he would move on...bonusCLEARLY IT WILL BE