Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manu gone

BLN2

If we did have to give Manu a bit of coin next year - It would be small. Other wise we'd tell him he isn't going anywhere. The Salford fella is a brown paper bag guy, Manu would be getting a good retirement over there.

And if that's not the case, we should be charging a release fee, like the ESL clubs do.

Anyway, Israel Folau, is he even off contract? If the stars aligned and he was signed, he would have to play in the centres. Blake to reserve grade? Kata on this years form however. It would seem like a bit of a luxury buy, we have far bigger issues in our pack. I can't help but think it could be another Hayne situation, taking over a season to find his feet again.

Manu + Forans salary = Folau'
Hoff = Harris
Bodene = Pulu
Matulino = ??

Rich102

From the list you provide BLN2 there doesn't look to be a step up for next year.
Boy, we need a couple of BIG forward signings.

BLN2

There's a lot goings which aren't there also, such as Lolohea, Allwood, Gubb etc. But those guys will hardly give us a war chest. Just some fringe players and upgrading young fellas.

I think it shows though that potential back money would buy you a star, and getting a star back is plastering over the obvious cracks (like Foran has shown).

Skinner

So...he is gone, and no testimonial......bastards. Manu, I watched you from mini and mod grades, and then
into the big grades. I think you deserved a much better send off than this. All the best in the UK. Knock em
dead mate.

TheDMC

So...he is gone, and no testimonial......bastards. Manu, I watched you from mini and mod grades, and then
into the big grades. I think you deserved a much better send off than this. All the best in the UK. Knock em
dead mate.

In lieu of the testimonial and of any payout of his current contract, I'm sure Manu has a life long gig as footy ambassador for the warriors post- UK. Win-win.

legs 11

i sure hope there is going to be something official for this legend.....but its starting to look terrible and another management f**k up....certainly one of the greatest warriors ever!

Rich102

I think time may be a big factor here.
Our game is Friday and they want him in the UK this weekend.
Unfortunate last weekend was a bye.

Burns

Haven't they annouced they are having a send off for Manu before kick off?

Should be a massive motivation for the team to put in, and keep the season alive.

SpaceMonkey

I think time may be a big factor here.
Our game is Friday and they want him in the UK this weekend.
Unfortunate last weekend was a bye.

Yep just unfortunate timing, the club just isn't in the position to give him a testimonial. It sucks but that's how things pan out sometimes.

SpaceMonkey

Yes, we can't keep aussie tv waiting...

What's it got to do with Aussie TV? He can't play because he's contracted to Salford. That's not our club's fault. They're giving him every honour they can this weekend in the circumstances from what I'm seeing.

ozbash

They're all Claytons honors. .
ffs, naming the guy in the starting line up ( but he's not really playing)... and naming the f**king stadium after him.. for the night !

It's a joke... the last 2 years of Manus career with the club have been a joke.

We have an 8pm kickoff to cater for the aussie audience, if they showed a tribute half the viewers would still be on their way back from the pub.

Fufu Andronez

They're all Claytons honors. .
ffs, naming the guy in the starting line up ( but he's not really playing)... and naming the f**king stadium after him.. for the night !

It's a joke... the last 2 years of Manus career with the club have been a joke.

We have an 8pm kickoff to cater for the aussie audience, if they showed a tribute half the viewers would still be on their way back from the pub.
What do you suggest then?

From my perspective the club has bent over backwards to give him his rightful send off given the circumstances regarding timing

ozbash

I knew at the start of this season Manu was gone.

The 'injuries' he was supposed to be carrying were bullshit, he was fit enough for ISP and being named on an extended NRL bench.

So, if dopey old ozbash knew he wouldn't be back in FG, why didn't the people paying his wages and how hard would it have been to organise a testimonial game (let alone a season) ?

Poor form really. ..

Rich102

The people paying his wages most probably did and did him the ultimate courtesy of not telling the world, or more likely the clubs he was being peddled to, that he was no longer up to it.

SpaceMonkey

He was named to start twice this season Ozbash and played once, so your idea that he was gone before it started doesn't hold. I reckon until Ken's mid-season form improvement and CNKs successful debut there was every intention that he'd be required in first grade agin.

KeepingTheFaith

He was named to start twice this season Ozbash and played once, so your idea that he was gone before it started doesn't hold. I reckon until Ken's mid-season form improvement and CNKs successful debut there was every intention that he'd be required in first grade agin.

Over on the other site there's a bit of bashing for the "honorary tributes" too, but you can bet if the Warriors did nothing they would be getting bashed for that too.

Very few players are given an ideal send off. That's the nature of the game. It's a business first, like it or not. The rest (one last game etc) is sentimemtal bs that doesn't really have a place in reality.