Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Manu poll - to Vulcans for a week?

manu to Vulcans?

Meth

My love for Maloney (Him and Inu being my favs) doesn't even go that far :lol:, he was pretty ordinary and should be at the Vulcans alongside with Manu if the coaches word is true about being consistant and picking players on their form not REPUTATION then this is a fine example for the coach to act on it.

I am not a Maloney fanboy by any stretch, and I thought that he and Johnson were as ordinary as Manu on the weekend...but there's no way we can drop him. We don't even have another option at 6, really.

Wasn't the reason he missed out in round 1. We haven't been told the whole story but his Vulcans career does not owe to one ridiculously lazy, loose carry of the ball.

Even that in itself is concerning. The fans and the shareholders deserve to have the best 17 on the field full stop.

Actually I don't blame Inu for being basket case sometimes because some fans are basket cases themselves, forgiving Manu for this and that WTF?

How about we all give high fives to Manu that will fix everything :sarcasm:

Fast Eddie

Yeah all is forgiven with Manu but Inu is put out to pasture. I'm a big fan of watching Inu play so I look forward to seeing him as a starting centre for the Bulldogs.

:lol: Too right. I wouldn't be surprised to see Inu "The Mantis" in another uniform ripping it up, has too much talent that needs the right coach to understand his issues. Is Des a good fit for him? I reckon someone like Flannigan at the sharks, he seems to trust his players to make their own choices and doesn't like smoothering a players confidence.

The sharks are doing awesome at the moment without Inu but they would be more complete with him in the mix and they need some good leapers. Inu email shane as blue bags will pick his boy Manu without hesistation. :(

joseph1

Inu - too much talent - where have I heard that before? Oh yeah, Parramatta. Face it guys, the man will not reach his 'potential.' EVER. Why? He's a nutjob who thinks hes playing park footy. At least Manu gives 110% every week. Inu gives about 50%.

Look at the error stats Vatuvei v.s Inu (Taking into account Manu has played more) still the error rate is worse with Vatuvei. (People, Coaches: Anderson & Bluey) need to get over the fact that you can smile at training and just because he doesn't show a grimace of pain during training.

Atleast Cleary relised he was wrong towards the end of 2011 and played the talent. Seriously what do you do when manu makes a mistake?

A. Shrug your shoulders and think meh it's Manu.

B. Have an urge to give him a pat on the back or high five after mistake no 3 and conceeding a few tries,

C. Give him captaincy.

D. Drop the myth and play someone who has been overlooked despite the coach saying that he will pick people on form.

My option is obviously the bolded option but some just don't relise how stupid they are when they back 1 person but NOT the other when he has bad days. This is meant to be a team, let's keep it that way. :)

Fast Eddie

So if Manu takes an hitup and makes an error and grins away afterwards its alright because he is trying? If Inu takes a hit up and loses the ball in the tackle it shows that he isn't trying? Even the holding the ball in one hand thing, multiple players do that. I've seen Billy Slater do it hundreds of time for example, I hardly think it shows a lack of effort. What people who bag Inu can never explain to me is this, despite the guy being to casual, not looking like he is 'trying', poor trainer etc etc the guy was still our best outside back for the first half of last season, was good in the finals run and the weeks preceding it and then this season he has two chances, both at fullback where he is out of position with one bad game and thats the end of him? Ridiculous.

He would be an upgrade on both Ben Henry at centre and Bill Tupou on the wing.

Meth

It looks like Jennings in Cleary's new Inu. Named in reserve grade again. Hilarious that he came into Origin camp from there and is getting sent straight back there. He can't beat Geoff Daniela for a spot.

Penrose Warrior

It looks like Jennings in Cleary's new Inu. Named in reserve grade again. Hilarious that he came into Origin camp from there and is getting sent straight back there. He can't beat Geoff Daniela for a spot.

I reckon he'll play him. See how Jennings gets through Origin, keep it under wraps, fire him up a bit that he's not named, then play him.

LeagueNut

Here's Chris Rattue's vote. (linky)

The Warriors' soft loss to the West Tigers was the last straw for this punter when it comes to Manu Vatuvei.

The supersized wing has been a marvellous part of the Warriors' history, deservedly loved by many fans through the thick and thin adventures of the Auckland-based NRL club. Vatuvei's humble demeanour and thunderous exploits will live in the memory - he has been one of this city's great sporting characters.

But if the Warriors have aspirations towards a Melbourne-type dynasty of excellence, they can't afford Vatuvei's error strewn game anymore. It's time to start planning for a future without Big Manu by promoting a new young prospect.

Vatuvei single handedly lost the match to an under-strength Tigers outfit ripe for a mauling. It was beyond frustrating to watch the Big Clanger again. Three Vatuvei errors turned the match against his team: he inexplicably botched a lame Tigers kick on the ground, bombed a bomb he had in his grasp, and parked on his goal line allowing Matt Utai to burrow over. After 140-odd NRL games, he's still the same old Manu Vatuvei unfortunately, and the loss of concentration which allowed the Utai try is typical of the lack of defensive co-ordination and nous that has marred his career.

How many times have we been through this before - his errors were also at the heart of the season's opening round loss to the Sea Eagles at Eden Park. Yet Vatuvei appears immune from the selection axe.

Until this year I've been in the Vatuvei camp, but the tide began to turn after that maddening display against Manly. The really frustrating part about the Wests Tigers debacle - and it was a debacle in terms of snatching defeat from the jaws of victory - is that it pulled the rug out from under all the good foundation work which had brought impressive victories against the Broncos and Roosters. Momentum lost, confidence dented, two points down the drain.

The overall formula for the Warriors is relatively straightforward: be efficient in the basics and allow the advantages in power and skill to turn this club into an unstoppable NRL force (that's why they need to show the lazy, hazy Krisnan Inu the door). Coach Brian McClennan must have thought he was making progress only to take a few steps backwards against Tim Sheens' under-powered unit.

While other clubs promote sharp wings with spectacular ways of scoring in tight situations, Vatuvei is more of a dedicated hit up merchant early in the tackle count and a target for the Warriors' cross field bombs. He does both very well but errors a la the Tigers' stuff up leave the bad outweighing the good. The Warriors have more than enough outstanding props to do most of the crash-bash work. They've got ample power in the backs with fearsome Konrad Hurrell on the rise and the big Melbourne unit Dane Nielsen on the way.

The recent NRL powerhouses have been moulded by fanatical taskmasters who demand attention to detail and discipline. The Warriors' way may allow a bit more latitude, but not the sort that should accommodate Vatuvei's continual bloopers. The time has come to celebrate Vatuvei for the wonderful-if-tainted memories, and move on.

vvvrulz

Rattue jumping on the bandwagon... to say he single handedly lost it is a bit harsh given that an on-song Tigers attack is pretty hard to stop regardless, many of our defenders were caught out.

Manu's blunders were just as bad as Moltzen's at the back, one got lucky and got away with them and the other had his lead directly to tries. Defensively their games were as shocking as each others.

Bounce of the ball, that's all.

beefstew

Saw this on another site. Stats only tell part of the story, but handy.

errors
manu 24. bill tupou 8,

Missed tackles
tupou 17, vatuvei 28

tries
tupou 5, vatuvei 4

metres gained
tupou 949, vatuvei 1152

hitups
Vatuvei 120, tupou 111

metres per hitup
Vatuvei 9.6, Tupou 8.5

Line breaks
Tupou 4, Vatuvei 4

Tackles
Vatuvei 54, Tupou 48

mate where do they find these statistis?

Strange that they dont consider Vatuvei gifting Ryan his try an error.....anyway, those stats are pretty damning, even Manu's meters run,
which is supposed to be his saving grace, are only average when compared to other wingers....add that to all the errors and poor defense,
and it all points to a pretty bad winger.