Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 1 vs Newcastle @ Campbelltown Sports Stadium, Leumeah / Dharawal

Who will win? Round 1: Wests Tigers v Newcastle

• Wests Tigers 13+

• Wests Tigers 1-12

• Newcastle Knights 1-12

• Newcastle Knights 13+

Results are only viewable after voting.

macnaz

A home crowd at Cambo to lift the guys to play 80 minutes of enthusiastic committed footy is our only hope. If they can get excited and win momentum we have the players to score points , but the test will be if we have changed and can show the heart to defend them.
PS ... If its not a full house out there , can the place from our home ground roster.

Is Latu completely on the outs or will he return with Api? TDS can’t go 80 so I guess you want a second 9, but considering we’ve bet the mortgage on the kid it seems strange that he’s 18th man.

Some interesting selections there.

I'm not sure why you wouldn't pick Taruva at FB, and use Staines (or someone else) on the wing. As a few have said, I probably would have started with Hope and used Latu Fainu. I think that offers a bit more variety in general, and cover in case of injuries.

Newcastle have also made some perplexing decisions. The combo of Crossland and Sharpe in the halves worked very well for them in the trials. I'm a bit surprised they're starting with Cogger. Even more surprised that they're starting Crossland at hooker and Brailey is coming off the bench. When Brailey comes on they may leave Crossland out there and have too many ball players getting in each others way. Too many cooks in the kitchen so to speak. Here's hoping.

Good to see we have a bit of size for a change. That's new. Across the park though we still look a fair bit smaller than the Knights. It's hard to imagine that Newcastle left edge isn't going to find a fair bit of space. I'd be shocked if they didn't base their game plan around attacking that area all day, no matter what their field position is.

With half our spine out it's gonna be a tough assignment. I'm hoping to see us put in and work for each other, and hopefully show some good structure in attack and defence, which was a bit lacking in the trials. Hopefully we can come away with the 2 points. It'd do wonders for the confidence.

No offence to the knights but their halves combo look like lambs to the slaughter compared to ours.

We will need strong efforts to contain Bradman and Ponga, Gags less so unless he has one of his rare days.

Our rotations look fresh.

We’d be much better with Api and Heath is a worry.

let’s “Hope” is a Benji special that pays off.

A calculated risk.

A lot of cobwebs to dust off in round one for everyone. Focus is the key for us.

Expect a monster game from JL, he will push the boys to the heights or die trying.

Wests Tigers Allrighters! Red for Go!

It’s time for Mason to show us something special, he must have a feel for it by now …..Now that's a bench... a ball playing AD at centre could be good here

I like that AD is in the side so long as he’s ready physically. Their side looks more physical in some respects.

Apart from being a ball player, AD has a powerful kicking game to keep defences guessing.

With this attacking side, we might see a lot more positive 5th tackle options. I suppose we will use JL in a Cleary role at times.

Wizardman

I've seen Turuva play some very good footy at fullback when he played for Fiji. Not a playmaking type fullback but was extremely safe and ran the ball hard...kinda what we want from a fill in type fullback. In saying that, Im ok with Mason having a trot.

Nutz

I think we’re light on in the centres, but Skelton looked better in the last trial. I’m hoping that Skelton and Turuva will lay a good foundation with their kick returns and hopefully they’ll finish a few at the other end, other than Doeuhi (who had some ok games at left, but also some shockers in defence) and Mason (playing out of positions) I reckon we have a fair backline. I’d have probably thrown Bird in at left centre but he is an ace on the bench. Faataape was reasonably impressive during the trials (given he was playing against boys) hopefully he’ll carry into the comp
Good point about Bird. He is so competitive, and people have underestimated his worth.
If we have to, we might find him in the centres in the second half.

Nutz

I've seen Turuva play some very good footy at fullback when he played for Fiji. Not a playmaking type fullback but was extremely safe and ran the ball hard...kinda what we want from a fill in type fullback. In saying that, Im ok with Mason having a trot.
Panthers forum have said several times he is a natural fullback. Maybe he should be at the back and have Staines and Skelton on the wings.

Nutz

You can see AD have really put in over the off-season Maybe we need to get behind him.
As far as I'm concerned it's a new chapter. Innocent until proven guilty.
His goal kicking is solid too.
To'a should be fit and has an upside.
Maybe our centres can hold their own but AD tends to get burnt on the outside so cover has to be on their game.
If AD get drawn in, he is suspect in head on D.

Nutz

How you holding out mate, still got your head above water?
I'm nervous Tm, mainly because I'm an invalid pensioner and a disabled parking permit doesn't hold any worth when the car's under water
laughing-emoji-emoticon-very-happy-smiley-face-character-hard-tears-shooting-out-70646719.jpg

Nutz

Stat Attack
Wests Tigers have not won an opening round game since 2020.

The Knights have won their past six games against Wests Tigers.

Knights five-eighth Fletcher Sharpe scored four tries in his only game against the Tigers in 2024.

Wests Tigers lock Jack Bird has scored six tries in eight games against the Knights.

Stats supplied by David Middleton, League Information Services, author of the official annual of the NRL.

Nutz

Who will Bird come on for, Seyfarth or Twally?
He will replace the one who's struggling imo and Pole will push into the middle. Thoughts???

Is Latu completely on the outs or will he return with Api? TDS can’t go 80 so I guess you want a second 9, but considering we’ve bet the mortgage on the kid it seems strange that he’s 18th man.

Hope was also really really good. It's interesting though isn't it. It's also only one game.