Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 14 vs Penrith (H) @ Commbank Stadium, Parramatta / Burramattagal

League Unlimited News

NRL 2025 - Round 14
Wests Tigers v Penrith
Commbank Stadium, Parramatta / Burramattagal (TICKETS)

Sunday 8 June 2025
NRL kickoff 4:05pm.
Live on Fox, Kayo, Nine, 9Now

Wests Tigers

1. Jahream Bula 2. Sunia Turuva 3. Adam Doueihi 4. Starford To'a 5. Jeral Skelton 6. Heath Mason 7. Jarome Luai 8. Terrell May 9. Apisai Koroisau 10. Sione Fainu 11. Samuela Fainu 12. Tony Sukkar 13. Alex Seyfarth 14. Latu Fainu 15. Jack Bird 16. Kit Laulilii 17. Charlie Murray 18. Luke Laulilii 19. Tallyn Da Silva 20. Charlie Staines 21. Brent Naden 22. Elie El-Zakhem

Out: Royce Hunt (front row), Alex Twal (lock), Charlie Staines (wing to reserve), Brent Naden (bench to reserve)
In: Jeral Skelton (wing), Latu Fainu (bench), Kit Laulilii (bench), Charlie Murray (bench)
Changes: Alex Seyfarth (second row to lock), Sione Fainu (bench to front row), Tanous Sukkar (bench to second row)

Penrith Panthers

1. Dylan Edwards 2. Thomas Jenkins 3. Izack Tago 4. Casey McLean 5. Brian To'o 6. Blaize Talagi 7. Nathan Cleary 8. Moses Leota 9. Mitch Kenny 10. Lindsay Smith 11. Scott Sorensen 12. Liam Martin 13. Isaah Yeo 14. Luke Sommerton 15. Matt Eisenhuth 16. Luron Patea 17. Daine Laurie 18. Brad Schneider 19. Isaiah Papali'i 20. Trent Toelau 21. Luke Garner 22. Paul Alamoti

Out: None (one unused interchange player last week)
In: Daine Laurie (bench)

Match officials

Referee: Ziggy Przeklasa-Adamski
Sideline Officials: Drew Oultram, Jon Stone
Video Referee: Adam Gee

HEAD TO HEAD - 2000 - 2024​

TOTALWESTS TIGERSPENRITHDRAWN
ALL MATCHES4115260
COMMBANK2020

LAST FIVE MEETINGS​

YEARROUNDRESULTVENUECROWD
2021Round 13WESTS TIGERS 26-6Leichhardt9127
2021Round 24PENRITH 30-16Moreton Daily5351
2022Round 18PENRITH 18-16CommBank11464
2023Round 9WESTS TIGERS 12-8Carrington11055
2024Round 7PENRITH 22-6Carrington12000

BIGGEST WINS​

YEARROUNDRESULTVENUECROWD
2001Round 25PENRITH 44-10Penrith11172
2017Round 2PENRITH 36-2Campbelltown12232
2012Round 7WESTS TIGERS 30-0Centrebet15759

NEXT FOUR MATCHES​

Round 16Round 17Round 18Round 19
WESTS TIGERSCANBERRA (H)MANLY (A)SYDNEY (A)WARRIORS (A)
PENRITHWARRIORS (A)CANTERBURY (H)(BYE)PARRAMATTA (A)

LAST THREE MATCHES​

Round 11Round 12Round 13
WESTS TIGERSSOUTH SYDNEYL 12-22(BYE)NORTH QLDL 28-32
PENRITH(BYE)NEWCASTLEL 6-25PARRAMATTAW 18-10

STATE OF PLAY: 2025 SEASON​

POSITIONPLAYEDBYESW-L-DFORAGAINST
WESTS TIGERS13th1215-7-0254312
PENRITH14th1214-7-1268281
LOWER GRADES

NSW Cup: NORTH SYDNEY (MEL) v PENRITH, North Sydney Oval, Sunday, 5:00pm
NSW Cup: CANTERBURY v WESTERN SUBURBS (WST), Accor Stadium, Monday, 1:40pm
Jersey Flegg: MELBOURNE v PENRITH, AAMI Park, Friday, 3:30pm
Jersey Flegg: CANTERBURY v WESTS TIGERS, Belmore Sports Ground, Friday, 7:00pm

League Unlimited News

1. Jahream Bula 2. Sunia Turuva 3. Adam Doueihi 4. Starford To'a 5. Jeral Skelton 6. Heath Mason 7. Jarome Luai 8. Terrell May 9. Apisai Koroisau 10. Sione Fainu 11. Samuela Fainu 12. Tony Sukkar 13. Alex Seyfarth

Interchange
Latu Fainu 15. Jack Bird 16. Kit Laulilii 17. Charlie Murray

Reserves
Luke Laulilii 19. Tallyn Da Silva 20. Charlie Staines 21. Brent Naden 22. Elie El-Zakhem

Out: Royce Hunt (front row), Alex Twal (lock)

In: Jeral Skelton (wing), Latu Fainu (bench), Kit Laulilii (bench), Charlie Murray (bench)

Changes: Charlie Staines (wing to reserve), Alex Seyfarth (second row to lock), Brent Naden (bench to reserve), Sione Fainu (bench to front row), Tanous Sukkar (bench to second row)

Geez Staines is unlucky. I would play Turuva in the centres and drop Doueihi.

Is Hunt injured or dropped. He definitely isn't meeting our standards at this point.

Kit coming in is awesome.

1. Jahream Bula 2. Sunia Turuva 3. Adam Doueihi 4. Starford To'a 5. Jeral Skelton 6. Heath Mason 7. Jarome Luai 8. Terrell May 9. Apisai Koroisau 10. Sione Fainu 11. Samuela Fainu 12. Tony Sukkar 13. Alex Seyfarth

Interchange
Latu Fainu 15. Jack Bird 16. Kit Laulilii 17. Charlie Murray

Reserves
Luke Laulilii 19. Tallyn Da Silva 20. Charlie Staines 21. Brent Naden 22. Elie El-Zakhem

Out: Royce Hunt (front row), Alex Twal (lock)

Changes: Charlie Staines (wing to reserve), Alex Seyfarth (second row to lock), Brent Naden (bench to reserve), Sione Fainu (bench to front row), Tanous Sukkar (bench to second row)

Some old faces back, unfortunately, it means we have injuries, but they are not bad.
Good to see Skelton back.
The 3 Fainu's will play together again at some stage.
Kit Has been going great in cup.
Us by 6, with Bula MoM.

Team List:
1. Jahream Bula - sponsored by Sensory Gardens Australia
2. Sunia Turuva - sponsored by Ellis Consolidated
3. Adam Doueihi - sponsored by Murray Kennedy Real Estate
4. Starford To'a - sponsored by Z Wealth Group
5. Jeral Skelton - sponsored by Exclusive Estate Agents
6. Heath Mason - sponsored by Retro Air
7. Jarome Luai (c) - sponsored by APN Compounding
8. Terrell May - sponsored by Z Realty Group
9. Api Koroisau (c) - sponsored by KwikFlo
10. Sione Fainu - sponsored by Club Menangle
11. Samuela Fainu - sponsored by Mars Forklifts
12. Tony Sukkar - sponsored by Ultra Building Works
13. Alex Seyfarth - sponsored by Endacom
Interchange:
14. Latu Fainu - sponsored by One World Courier
15. Jack Bird - sponsored by Shane’s Waterproofing
16. Kit Laulili'i - sponsored by MJS Electrical Products & Supplies
17. Charlie Murray - sponsored by Workplace Law
Reserves:
18. Luke Laulili'i - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower
19. Tallyn Da Silva - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower
20. Charlie Staines - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower
21. Brent Naden - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower
22. Elie El-Zakhem - sponsored by Wests Tigers Empower
Coach: Benji Marshall - sponsored by Pepper Money

It looks a small forward pack.
Interesting where they play Latu, at 7 or 6?
Assuming of course, that's where they will play him.

It looks a small forward pack.
Interesting where they play Latu, at 7 or 6?
Assuming of course, that's where they will play him.

I suppose it doesn't matter but I would have Luai doing most of the general kicking. They both need to run the ball. Munster/Hughes both are runners of the footy. We can use that style as well.

The pack might be small but Royce has been poor defensively and done very little with the ball. I think it's time to replace him. I really hope we haven't signed him long term because it looks like he needs to go already. I reckon considering we have Pole out and we've let Klemmer and Bateman our pack looks pretty good. I think it's better without Royce.

I'm hoping we see a team ready to attack for 80 minutes and we aren't pushing the ball and doing stupid stuff. We just go at them.

Trollhammaren

I suppose it doesn't matter but I would have Luai doing most of the general kicking. They both need to run the ball. Munster/Hughes both are runners of the footy. We can use that style as well.

The pack might be small but Royce has been poor defensively and done very little with the ball. I think it's time to replace him. I really hope we haven't signed him long term because it looks like he needs to go already. I reckon considering we have Pole out and we've let Klemmer and Bateman our pack looks pretty good. I think it's better without Royce.

I'm hoping we see a team ready to attack for 80 minutes and we aren't pushing the ball and doing stupid stuff. We just go at them.

Royce is signed up for 3 years. No idea what happened, but would have to think he copped an injury on the weekend. Played the first ten mins or so, and didn't come back on. When we were down a middle as well.

I would imagine, Royce is playing to instructions, I doubt he was signed to be another May.
Anyway, I do agree they look mobile, though one of our problems has always been, our pack always looks small compared to other packs.
EDIT: He is playing in NSW Cup this week.

Some old faces back, unfortunately, it means we have injuries, but they are not bad.
Good to see Skelton back.
The 3 Fainu's will play together again at some stage.
Kit Has been going great in cup.
Us by 6, with Bula MoM.
Murray, a 23-year-old lock forward, is set to make his NRL debut after featuring for Wests Magpies in the NSW Cup this season.
-----------
Well done mate.

Royce is signed up for 3 years. No idea what happened, but would have to think he copped an injury on the weekend. Played the first ten mins or so, and didn't come back on. When we were down a middle as well.

He has been picked in reserve grade. He has been shit for us.

I would imagine, Royce is playing to instructions, I doubt he was signed to be another May.
Anyway, I do agree they look mobile, though one of our problems has always been, our pack always looks small compared to other packs.
EDIT: He is playing in NSW Cup this week.

If Royce is playing to instructions our coaches should all be sacked.. He was paid to come in and have an impact even if it is only for 20 minutes.

He has been terrible. He lack of effort without the ball is noticeable. He makes 2 runs a game. Make him play 80 minutes in cup until he gets his fitness back. If he can't do that drop him down another level..

Nutz

I was reading reports on Murray from his junior days coach and he says that he is a weapon and was always the top dog, especially running on the edges.
We have had a few good players come through the Easts Tigers pathways now, like Solomona Fataape, Tristan Hope and now Charlie Murray.
This is because Easts have played very well lately which includes a GF win that Faataape played in.
Having said that, those players are solid but not world beaters.
Murray is only 183cm and 96kg. Unless that small frame can be as good as Nikora's I don't see him having an impact in the NRL.
I really hope I'm wrong but the doubt is warranted.
Bateman is of similar build and he was frigging hopeless. I hope Murray has a better mindset than Johnny.
I really wish the tigers would recruit a beast.
I'm convinced that Hunt has that in him.
He's been my cash cow for a few seasons now, so I've watched a lot of his games.
I've seen him drag several defenders with him in a hit up and make decent post contact metres.
The big issue with him is fitness.
I can't see him being in first grade again until he can play 2 x 20min stints at full on involvement.
Hunt has been very disappointing the say the least, especially after a gruelling preseason where I thought he'd turned the corner.

I'm convinced that Hunt has that in him.
He's been my cash cow for a few seasons now, so I've watched a lot of his games.
I've seen him drag several defenders with him in a hit up and make decent post contact metres.
The big issue with him is fitness.
I can't see him being in first grade again until he can play 2 x 20min stints at full on involvement.
Hunt has been very disappointing the say the least, especially after a gruelling preseason where I thought he'd turned the corner.

He has been crap for us. I'd be happy with one 20 minute stint.

He is pissing me off because I think he is an impact prop and we desperately need that type of player. Someone who can come on and crash and burn.