Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 16 vs Warriors @ Scully Park

Who will win? Round 16: Warriors v Knights

• Warriors 13+

• Newcastle Knights 13+

Old dog

He should be ready, first game in a while, playing his old club, chance to play 6 for rest of season, semi’s etc and playing for a contract 2021 onward

Yosh

Reckon we could win a comp with Pearce and Lino as our halves with Lino goal kicking?

Spot On

I think it would make Spot On's head explode

Yeah, winning a comp would be shit.

And of course, every other forumite here has been nothing but full of praise for Pearce's run of form the past 9 weeks.

More chance of winning something if we have someone to do the bulk of Pearce's job though.

You're onto something Yosh!!!

Frederick

Yeah, winning a comp would be shit.

And of course, every other forumite here has been nothing but full of praise for Pearce's run of form the past 9 weeks.

More chance of winning something if we have someone to do the bulk of Pearce's job though.

You're onto something Yosh!!!
Where did I say it would be shit? Just said it would make your head explode...

https://www.newcastleherald.com.au/...r-tex-hoy-for-knights-warriors-clash/?cs=2503

AUGUST 25 2020 - 8:45PM

Knights coach Adam O'Brien on why Mason Lino will play his first NRL game of the season on Saturday.

BARRY TOOHEY

Newcastle Knights

Newcastle coach Adam O'Brien has turned to little-used playmaker Mason Lino to help pilot the Knights to their first finals appearance in seven years following Blake Green's season-ending knee injury.

Lino hasn't played an NRL game since the final round last season and is off contract at the end of the year. But he been given the chance, just ahead of Tex Hoy, to potentially resurrect his NRL career with a strong performance against his former club the Warriors in Tamworth on Saturday.

O'Brien admitted he thought long and hard before opting for Lino as Green's replacement ahead of Hoy.

Mason Lino

"I was really tempted to go with Tex but I just think in terms of Mason's kicking game, having a voice out there and organising our structures to help Junior [halfback Mitchell Pearce], I think that's what we need this late in the season," he said.

"I certainly haven't put a line through Tex at all in that regard but for where we are at for the moment in terms of kicking and organisational stuff, I want to see what Mason can give us."

The Knights coach met privately for more than 30 minutes with Lino yesterday and came out of their meeting confident he will get the job done despite plenty of criticism of his defence during his career.

"We just talked about his role and what he needs to do,"O'Brien said.

"As far as his defence goes, I don't have anything to gauge it on because there hasn't been any games for him this season.

"To be fair to him, he was carrying a shoulder injury in that Penrith game at the end of last season when he struggled defensively and I've probably been guilty of judging him on that performance for way too long.

"But all he can do is train really well and he's done that. He's a smart kid who completely understands our defensive systems. I can tell you he completely understands the importance of it and he also understands why I have gone with some other guys over the top of him prior to now.

"So he's more aware than anyone of his responsibilities in that area."

Toohey's News: Listen to Barry Toohey's new podcast in your Podcast app

O'Brien has made no other changes to the side that accounted for North Queensland Cowboys 12-0 last Sunday with the Knights on the brink of securing a finals berth if they beat the Warriors.

Injured prop Daniel Saifiti has been given another week off as a precaution to make sure his troublesome knee in 100 percent and will return for Friday week's clash with Cronulla.

Young winger Starford To'a, who failed a HIA after being concussed in the first half against the Cowboys, was named for the Warriors game and is set to play.

"Star is fine," O'Brien said. "He has to get through the protocols for the rest of the week and won't be involved in any contact stuff but I'm really confident he'll be right to go in Tamworth."

The Warriors clash will be a milestone game for Knights prop David Klemmer, who will be playing his 150th NRL game.

"It's a special milestone - I was happy to play one first grade game and now I've played 150," Klemmer said.

"The reason why I play footy is for my kids and being part of this footy club now, it's very special to me and I'm very proud to be where I am today."

Klemmer said the serious nature of Green's injury against the Cowboys took the gloss off the club's third straight win.

"Everyone is very shocked and frustrated and sad for Greeny," he said.

"Since he's come here, it feels like he has been here for 10 years. He's got that nature about him and he is such a good bloke. It's absolutely gut-wrenching."

Green will have surgery next week to repair a ruptured anterior cruciate ligament in his left knee with his playing future under a cloud. He turns 34 next month.

Spot On

Where did I say it would be shit? Just said it would make your head explode...

I can play that game...

Where did I say you said it would be shit?

It will make everyone's 'head explode' when Pearce has a good game.

Except for Alex... he gets excited when Mitchy passes the ball...

Rodney Rude

I don’t understand how a lot of people seem to think that the Warriors will win this weekend....

We beat them Round 1 - 20/0 with their full strength side and now they are missing a lot of quality players. Granted we haven’t played well for the past fortnight, we have still got the job done and if we are fair dinkum, we should handle these blokes with ease.

Tamworth won’t be a home ground advantage for them either if anything benefits us.

Knights to make it 4 in a row

Knight Vision

I hope they book Ponga in for at least 12 sessions with Hazem El Masri over the off season. Actually they should already have the sessions arranged.

He obviously has some natural ability just needs some help to get him where he needs to be.

Apey

I don’t understand how a lot of people seem to think that the Warriors will win this weekend....

We beat them Round 1 - 20/0 with their full strength side and now they are missing a lot of quality players. Granted we haven’t played well for the past fortnight, we have still got the job done and if we are fair dinkum, we should handle these blokes with ease.

Tamworth won’t be a home ground advantage for them either if anything benefits us.

Knights to make it 4 in a row

We've been pretty average and us winning seems to entirely depend on whether or not our attack clicks, which it seems to only be doing every other week. I think we defend way better than they do - but I don't trust our ability to score atm. On song we are a much better team than them but they're showing a lot of resolve atm and have won 3/5 coming into this with an 8 point loss to Roosters and 6 point loss to Panthers. That's a better form card than us tbh.

Yosh

At least our defense is rock solid. We're putting a lot of pressure on defense because our attack sux but still we're doing great. If our attack improves, less pressure on our defense and we should start to dominate teams.

Still Nutty