Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 21 vs Penrith @ CommBank Stadium, Parramatta / Burramattagal

Who will win? Round 21: Penrith v Wests Tigers

• Penrith Panthers 13+

Votes: 6 54.5%
  • Penrith Panthers 1-12

Votes: 1 9.1%

• Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 2 18.2%
  • Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 2 18.2%

League Unlimited News

NRL 2025 - Round 21
Penrith Panthers v Wests Tigers
CommBank Stadium, Parramatta / Burramattagal (TICKETS)

Saturday 26 July 2025
NRL kickoff 5:30pm
Live on Fox, Kayo

PENRITH2024.png

1. Dylan Edwards 2. Thomas Jenkins 3. Izack Tago 4. Casey McLean 5. Brian To'o 6. Blaize Talagi 7. Nathan Cleary 8. Moses Leota 9. Mitch Kenny 10. Lindsay Smith 11. Luke Garner 12. Isaiah Papali'i 13. Isaah Yeo 14. Brad Schneider 15. Liam Henry 16. Luron Patea 17. Matt Eisenhuth 18. Paul Alamoti 19. Liam Martin 20. Daine Laurie 21. Mavrik Geyer 22. Luke Sommerton

Out: Scott Sorensen (second row), Jack Cole (bench), Paul Alamoti (centre to reserve)
In: Izack Tago (centre), Nathan Cleary (halfback), Isaah Yeo (lock)
Changes: Brad Schneider (halfback to bench), Isaiah Papali'i (lock to second row)

Wests Tigers

1. Sunia Turuva 2. Izaac Tu'itupou 3. Taylan May 4. Starford To'a 5. Jeral Skelton 6. Jarome Luai 7. Latu Fainu 8. Terrell May 9. Apisai Koroisau 10. Alex Twal 11. Alex Seyfarth 12. Tony Sukkar 13. Adam Doueihi 14. Tristan Hope 15. Jack Bird 16. Fonua Pole 17. Sione Fainu 18. Brent Naden 19. Charlie Murray 20. Charlie Staines 21. Luke Laulilii 22. Krystian Mapapalangi

Out: Charlie Staines (wing to reserve)
In: Izaac Thompson (wing)
Changes: Tristan Hope (hooker to bench), Jack Bird (second row to bench), Apisai Koroisau (bench to hooker), Alex Seyfarth (bench to second row)

Ref-White.png

Referee: Peter Gough
Sideline Officials: Daniel Luttringer, Chris Sutton
Video Referee: Chris Butler

HEAD TO HEAD - 2000 - 2025​

TOTALPENRITHWESTS TIGERSDRAWN
ALL MATCHES4227150
COMMBANK3300

LAST FIVE MEETINGS​

YEARROUNDRESULTVENUECROWD
2021Round 24PENRITH 30-16Moreton Daily5351
2022Round 18PENRITH 18-16CommBank11464
2023Round 9WESTS TIGERS 12-8Carrington11055
2024Round 7PENRITH 22-6Carrington12000
2025Round 14PENRITH 18-14CommBank17708

BIGGEST WINS​

YEARROUNDRESULTVENUECROWD
2001Round 25PENRITH 44-10Penrith11172
2017Round 2PENRITH 36-2Campbelltown12232
2012Round 7WESTS TIGERS 30-0Centrebet15759

NEXT FOUR MATCHES​

Round 22Round 23Round 24Round 25
PENRITHGOLD COAST (A)NEWCASTLE (A)MELBOURNE (H)CANBERRA (H)
WESTS TIGERSCANTERBURY (H)(BYE)MANLY (H)NORTH QLD (H)

LAST THREE MATCHES​

Round 18Round 19Round 20
PENRITHBYE-PARRAMATTAW 32-10SOUTH SYDNEYW 30-10
WESTS TIGERSSYDNEYW 30-28WARRIORSL 14-34GOLD COASTW 21-20

STATE OF PLAY: 2025 SEASON​

POSITIONPLAYEDBYESW-L-DFORAGAINST
PENRITH6th1739-7-1384339
WESTS TIGERS12th1827-11-0355456

LOWER GRADES
Penrith - NSW Cup (H) v Manly, Commbank, Saturday 3pm
Wests Tigers - NSW Cup (A) v Norths, NSO, Friday 6pm
Jersey Flegg - bye weekend

League Unlimited News

1. Sunia Turuva 2. Izaac Tu'itupou 3. Taylan May 4. Starford To'a 5. Jeral Skelton 6. Jarome Luai 7. Latu Fainu 8. Terrell May 9. Apisai Koroisau 10. Alex Twal 11. Alex Seyfarth 12. Tony Sukkar 13. Adam Doueihi

14. Tristan Hope 15. Jack Bird 16. Fonua Pole 17. Sione Fainu
18. Brent Naden 19. Charlie Murray 20. Charlie Staines 21. Luke Laulilii 22. Krystian Mapapalangi

Out: Charlie Staines (wing to reserve)
In: Izaac Thompson (wing)
Changes: Tristan Hope (hooker to bench), Jack Bird (second row to bench), Apisai Koroisau (bench to hooker), Alex Seyfarth (bench to second row)

Staines sacked for Tu'itupou. He had a shocker last week.

They have Liam Martin listed as a reserve and I'm still worried about our backrow.

Our backline can score points even though they've been ordinary. Sione and Pole on the bench are quality.

I hope the team puts in a good game.

Heard a lot about Izaac and it's all been good, so will be interesting how he goes.
Poor Charlie, unfortunately deserved his demotion.
Still hold out hope we can do this mob, but need to forget about last week's game quickly.

Nutz

Staines sacked for Tu'itupou. He had a shocker last week.

They have Liam Martin listed as a reserve and I'm still worried about our backrow.

Our backline can score points even though they've been ordinary. Sione and Pole on the bench are quality.

I hope the team puts in a good game.
I feel for Staines but he won't kick stones.
I'm eager to see how Tu’itupou goes. He's in good form.

I feel for Staines but he won't kick stones.
I'm eager to see how Tu’itupou goes. He's in good form.

I like Staines. He has been a consistent performer for us and I think he is unlucky to have not played more first grade last week. He had a shocker though.

I don't know anything about Tu’itupou but apparently he has been performing in reserves. I hope he plays well.

Nutz

I like Staines. He has been a consistent performer for us and I think he is unlucky to have not played more first grade last week. He had a shocker though.

I don't know anything about Tu’itupou but apparently he has been performing in reserves. I hope he plays well.
I had him as a cash cow when he was a winger at Souths so I've watched most of his NRL games there and I have to be honest here....he is hot and cold. I recall him having a blinder and I scored heaps of FPts. BUT, I've watched him have some shockers.
I'm pretty sure Souths got rid of him because of him being inconsistent. He wasn't on big money....I think.
The games I've watched of him since he's been with us suggests he's more powerful. A bit like Skelton.
Our wingers will be some of the biggest this weekend :)

Pezz70

Handy looking squad. I hope they put it together. There really isn’t much between a good game and a bad game, a dropped ball, missed tackle or stupid penalty. It’s been a frustrating year so far, but after watching the Mayday podcast, learning a bit more about the backstory of Turuva and how the boys really respect Benji, I’m dumping the negative attitude for the rest of the season, going positive and getting behind the boys. The run starts this week

Nutz

after watching the Mayday podcast, learning a bit more about the backstory of Turuva and how the boys really respect Benji, I’m dumping the negative attitude for the rest of the season, going positive and getting behind the boys. The run starts this week
Good lad, that's the spirit :)

I had him as a cash cow when he was a winger at Souths so I've watched most of his NRL games there and I have to be honest here....he is hot and cold. I recall him having a blinder and I scored heaps of FPts. BUT, I've watched him have some shockers.
I'm pretty sure Souths got rid of him because of him being inconsistent. He wasn't on big money....I think.
The games I've watched of him since he's been with us suggests he's more powerful. A bit like Skelton.
Our wingers will be some of the biggest this weekend :)

Admittedly a grade down from NRL but agree with you that his form now is better then what he showed at Souths. He is very eager for work, often taking the first hit up, then getting to dummyhalf on the next play the ball and going for another run. His finishing has also been top notch.

A bit worried that he will be playing right wing as he has only played left for the magpies but Im sure he will adjust.

One things for sure, with a back 3 of Turuva/Skelton/Tuitupou our meters wont be an issue

Nutz

Admittedly a grade down from NRL but agree with you that his form now is better then what he showed at Souths. He is very eager for work, often taking the first hit up, then getting to dummyhalf on the next play the ball and going for another run. His finishing has also been top notch.

A bit worried that he will be playing right wing as he has only played left for the magpies but Im sure he will adjust.

One things for sure, with a back 3 of Turuva/Skelton/Tuitupou our meters wont be an issue
He often played on the right at Souths Vic, I don't think it will be a problem. He's a big unit.

Nutz

Thanks mate wasnt aware of that, he also looks like hes played centre and runs a really good line.
I'm eager to see what player runs out, the inconsistent one or the type that's been running around in reserve grade since joining us. I hope it's the later.
It will should make players more accountable if competition is fierce hey.

Ron's_Mate

New deal, new hair – now Koroisau wants Luai to re-commit to Tigers
By Christian Nicolussi
July 24, 2025 — 7.40pm

Api Koroisau celebrated his new Wests Tigers contract with a new blond hairdo – then pinned down good mate Jarome Luai on a tackling mat at training, hoping the club can do the same by persuading the star playmaker to commit his long-term future to Benji Marshall’s side.

The Tigers this week confirmed Koroisau had signed an extention to remain at the club until the end of 2028, with his experience and leadership the main reason they were happy for Tallyn Da Silva – 12 years Koroisau’s junior – to chase his NRL dream at rivals Parramatta.

While the Tigers and Adam Doueihi have hit a stalemate over their one-year, $350,000 extension, and comeback centre Taylan May plays his way towards a deal, the signature fans will be sweating on most is that of Luai.

The playmaker is signed until the end of 2029, but can walk away at the end of next year if he chooses to activate a get-out clause by the end of next April.

The four-time premiership-winning playmaker insisted he was committed to the Tigers while in NSW Origin camp earlier this month, but said he had not discussed the clause with his agent.

“I haven’t really spoken to my manager about it yet,” he said. “We’ll speak about that after the season and see what the go is there.

“I’m really committed to the Tigers, committed to turning the club around, and bringing some joy to the club and the fans.”

Luai, who is close with coach Marshall, at least now has the certainty senior players like Koroisau are going nowhere soon. Koroisau could only laugh when he flattened his fellow skipper during a tackling drill on Thursday.

Koroisau said his on-field chemistry with Luai was almost still in its infancy, and was excited about how far the pair could develop.

“He’s one of those guys you just need at your club,” Koroisau said. “He’s shown the way the whole time he’s been here. Let’s just hope he feels the same way and wants to stay.

“He is massive for this club, he’s been one of the loudest guys here in terms of leadership, and his competitiveness is next level – it’s second to none.

“He’d be hearing it from everywhere and everyone [about what to do]. I really enjoy the friendship we have, we keep it pretty cordial, and if I feel like I need to say something I will, but in the meantime, I don’t need to.

“I love that [our on-field chemistry] is still so raw. We haven’t really tapped into what we can do together, and how much pressure we can put on other teams.”

The Tigers have no plans to ask Luai to remove the clause, and know that by leaving it in his deal, it will ensure he only re-commits because he recognises positive signs at the club.

Koroisau, Luai and a host of former Panthers are relishing the chance to take on the premiers at CommBank Stadium on Saturday evening.

Jahream Bula remains a week away from returning from a hamstring injury, with his cameo at a Canterbury game on the weekend not upsetting his teammates.

“He’s good friends with Lachie Galvin, and he’s a footy lover as well – I wouldn’t read too much into it,” Koroisau said.

Former South Sydney winger Izaac Tu’itupou will make his club debut, and became emotional when discussing what will be his first NRL appearance since round 11 last year. Tu’itupou was ready to quit the game after being released by Souths but completed a pre-season with the Raiders and earned a train and trial deal at the Tigers for this season. He thanked his wife, Tiana, for convincing him not to quit his dream.

Tu’itupou will start on the left wing outside good friend May, with Jeral Skelton switching to the right wing.