Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 25 vs Cowboys @ Campbelltown Stadium

Who will win? Round 25: Wests Tigers v Cowboys

Clifferd

In the end the diff was the smarts of the cows spine taking advantage of our fatiguing state cup players in the last 15 mins of the match !!

Yeah this is what I thought aswell

Unforgivable what the dead beat chee Kam did but it was only moments before nofoluama got shoulder charged by winterstein yet nothing happened lol. Cowboys must be in contention I think that's why

We seemed to clock off big time after that chee kam brain snap

Tiger Ted

I reckon with the cattle we had on the field, we overperformed.

No regular half, our best centre out and the rest of the team having trouble making a regular reserve grade team, Ivan is obviously doing something right.

I bet he sits there after the game and thinks - "thank god these f**k wits wont be here next year..."
I can't help but laugh picturing the exemplary Ivan using the F word.I have no doubt that even IC would find the necessity to have used it umpteen times while at this club particularly when he would've sighted a copy of the wanka Moses's contract offer.Id luv to have a picture of IC's disposition when he found out the money this shitbag was being offered !!!!

MCK brain explosion was the difference. After that it looked as though the players accepted we were going to lose and played accordingly. MCK should be punted. I can't see that he offers anything at all.

The defence on the go ahead try to the cows was diabolical. 3 players plodding along watching, waiting for the other to do something. The cows could have easily scored another 2 in the last 10 mins. I know we're not competing for the semi's but f**k me, show some urgency when you're in the lead.

That was disappointing. For 63 minutes we were slightly on top, or at worst evens.

As others have pointed out the refs didn't help. Nor did Tedesco. When we really needed him to step up and take charge he had a holiday.

f**k it!!

magpie4ever

I played league for over 12 years including rep teams although admittedly in the dummy half position I've probably only played 5 times as a stop gap because we had so many injuries

Quite possibly one of the toughest positions on the field as you get extremely fatigued making tackles so getting your defence right is pretty crucial but unfortunately at this level I think you have to offer a lot more than just defense which is pretty much all mcillwrick has.

Well approx 25 years if you ask and yes the hooker (now no. 9) does work his arse off and needs his fellow pigs to do the same. The guy stood out like a beacon on the moonless night last night. Must have been in (and was the primary defender) in 4 out of every 6 tackles in the middle.

Cleary is no dope and will develop his game during the off-season (scooping out from dummy half drawing defenders to him and the odd kick out of the ruck). He will be a great asset with a decent pack around him next year.

Clifferd

I didn't say he's a bad defender. I think that's his best asset

All I'm saying is I don't think he offers anymore than that. No running game. No kicking game. More often than not shit service to his halves

That's my current opinion on him now. If IC can turn him around next year then full credit to him. I'd love to see him do well

magpie4ever

I didn't say he's a bad defender. I think that's his best asset

All I'm saying is I don't think he offers anymore than that. No running game. No kicking game. More often than not shit service to his halves

That's my current opinion on him now. If IC can turn him around next year then full credit to him. I'd love to see him do well

I didn't say you did but there are so many deficienies in this current group MM is the last one to worry about.

Well approx 25 years if you ask and yes the hooker (now no. 9) does work his arse off and needs his fellow pigs to do the same. The guy stood out like a beacon on the moonless night last night. Must have been in (and was the primary defender) in 4 out of every 6 tackles in the middle.

Cleary is no dope and will develop his game during the off-season (scooping out from dummy half drawing defenders to him and the odd kick out of the ruck). He will be a great asset with a decent pack around him next year.

I get that you love him and his whole hearted efforts every game is to be admired. However being whole hearted doesn't make you a good player. I have no doubts Jordan Rankin tries his heart out every time he stepped onto the field, yet he wasn't fit to tie the bootlaces of 97% of NRL players.

MM is 26 and is at his 4th club in 4 years. The guy isn't going to suddenly become a quality NRL 9 over 1 off season.

magpie4ever

I get that you love him and his whole hearted efforts every game is to be admired. However being whole hearted doesn't make you a good player. I have no doubts Jordan Rankin tries his heart out every time he stepped onto the field, yet he wasn't fit to tie the bootlaces of 97% of NRL players.

MM is 26 and is at his 4th club in 4 years. The guy isn't going to suddenly become a quality NRL 9 over 1 off season.

When I see a natural footballer, yeah I like the product, tackles his gutz out and seeing all the deficiencies in other team members - it doesn't take a genius to say this dude is a goer.

Some of the accolades posters on here about other players are so far off the mark it makes me wonder whether they ever laced a boot up.

Yeah, I don't give a root how many clubs he has been at - Cleary knows what he has got and likes what he sees.

That Loeloia (sic) - shit how many deficiencies has this guy got - as Warney said "can't bowl, can't throw" - "can't tackle, can't read a game".

Crazyperpman

Once again the game was there for he taking and we come up short.

I dont blame MCK, as dumb as what he did was, three tries were scored afterwards, NQ to me always looked comfortable and were looking to come home stronger. Take Morgan out of the cows and put him in our team and we win.

Positives were Aloiai & Marsters. If nothing else comes from this year we ave seen Aloiai progress and Marsters realize how strong he is. He is potentially a very damaging future backrower.

Hard to be disappointing when you have a group of footy players teamed up with a couple of flogs and put them in first grade and tell them to have a crack. As long as the effort is there I'm not going to get too upset with results,

Tui is starting to look like the being one of those "close to being a great footy plauer but he is really a crap footy player" isn't he.

He has great footwork, he can pass the ball really well, he has a good kicking game but he can't put it all together regularly.

Maybe at fullback he will come good.

Clifferd

Marsters and Aloiai next year in the back row could be seriously damaging. These two guys are probably our most damaging runners with the ball, always denting the line

8. Packer
9. Liddle/Mcillwrick
10. Matulino
11. Marsters
12. Aloiai
13. Taylor

That is one tough no non sense forward pack.

Clifferd

Tui is starting to look like the being one of those "close to being a great footy plauer but he is really a crap footy player" isn't he.

He has great footwork, he can pass the ball really well, he has a good kicking game but he can't put it all together regularly.

Lolo isn't a natural half but I feel he works a lot better under Brooks. Maybe having a new half next to him last night didn't help

The pass he threw to Nofoaluma last night was also a money ball. Rewatch it and Nofoaluma was standing pretty deep, if he pushed up further we would all be saying what a great ball

magpie4ever

Tiger05, I don't see "close to being a great footy player".

magpie4ever

Marsters and Aloiai next year in the back row could be seriously damaging. These two guys are probably our most damaging runners with the ball, always denting the line

8. Packer
9. Liddle/Mcillwrick
10. Matulino
11. Marsters
12. Aloiai
13. Taylor

Lawrence will be in the pack as captain.

Tiger Woody

Lolo isn't a natural half but I feel he works a lot better under Brooks. Maybe having a new half next to him last night didn't help

The pass he threw to Nofoaluma last night was also a money ball. Rewatch it and Nofoaluma was standing pretty deep, if he pushed up further we would all be saying what a great ball

i think Nofa was too far back...
lolo is not really a 6.....
Maybe he will excel at 1......we will find out sooner or later.

8. Packer
9. Liddle/Mcillwrick
10. Matulino
11. Marsters
12. Aloiai
13. Taylor

We have a lot of options now but what about Eisenhuth ? I reckon Eisenhuth is a quality lock. I like that pack though. We straight away have the ability to dent the line with our pack. Sue, Twal and Grant coming on up the middle as well. Even if we get some injuries we are fine.

I think MCK could play instead of Marsters as well.

Tiger05, I don't see "close to being a great footy player".

I laughed at this. He has great footwork, he can go to the line and get a great ball away, he has put in some great kicks.

He is also completely inconsistent.

I reckon if he could put it all together he would be great.

Tiger Woody

The jury is out on that one Magpie.
Both MM and Liddle are not up to it at present.
Ranking starting hookers in the NRL they would both be in the bottom 2-3.

I know its not cricket but just being a good fieldsman doesnt give you a certain start to be in a team.
If you bat or bowl you go in first.
With MM he just tackles=fieldsman
Has no passing,running or kicking game= batsman / bowler

Tiger Woody

I laughed at this. He has great footwork, he can go to the line and get a great ball away, he has put in some great kicks.

He is also completely inconsistent.

I reckon if he could put it all together he would be great.

Well we will find out next year pretty quickly if hes a number 1...