Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 3 vs Dolphins @ Kayo Stadium, Redcliffe / Kabi Kabi

Who will win? Round 3: Dolphins v Wests Tigers

• Dolphins 13+

Votes: 1 14.3%
  • Dolphins 1-12

Votes: 1 14.3%

• Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 3 42.9%
  • Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 2 28.6%

WA Tiger

Are you talking about the kick to To'a. To'a stuffed that.

I reckon Bula is one of the most underrated players in the comp.
It was 5 out and Bula just dropped ball to his foot for the grubber .. and it dribbled 2 inches (the far right corner on attack)

Wizardman

Doueihi has been so good.

Farnsworth is an awesome centre.

Isaiya katoa was far and away the best half on the park. That was a million dollar performance. Galvin had some class moments but he is miles away from that level at this point in time.
Katoa is an interesting one.

*His first year, was definitely not ready for NRL football. His main benefit that year was just playing with men, not much else.
*His 2nd year was much better as he did impact on some results. He made some poor choices here and there, but was a step up.
*This year (only three games), he looks ready to go as a major playmaker. The problem for Katoa though is it looks like every other player in that squad looks to have regressed. Hammer looks quiet, Nikorama has been dreadful and I've not noticed JMK in attack.

I'd swap Katoa for Galvin in an absolute heart beat.

It's interesting right. Galvin gets all the press but Katoa is a weapon.

Stef got all the press last year and Pole was so so much better. It wasn't close. This has continued on this season. Maybe Stef will develop his game but geez Melbourne went after the right guy for us.

Thinking about this it's more like when you were a shitty kid and you only want what your brother has. If no one wants it it's no good but if everyone wants it it's good.

Wizardman

It's interesting right. Galvin gets all the press but Katoa is a weapon.

Stef got all the press last year and Pole was so so much better. It wasn't close. This has continued on this season. Maybe Stef will develop his game but geez Melbourne went after the right guy for us.

Thinking about this it's more like when you were a shitty kid and you only want what your brother has. If no one wants it it's no good but if everyone wants it it's good.
Rugby league has operated that way for a long, long time.

Here is another thing. Nobody really pays attention to the three other Qld clubs in the competition. It really is a thing, reflects in tv ratings too. Katoa looks an Origin contender if Cleary goes down.

Nutz

Katoa is an interesting one.

*His first year, was definitely not ready for NRL football. His main benefit that year was just playing with men, not much else.
*His 2nd year was much better as he did impact on some results. He made some poor choices here and there, but was a step up.
*This year (only three games), he looks ready to go as a major playmaker. The problem for Katoa though is it looks like every other player in that squad looks to have regressed. Hammer looks quiet, Nikorama has been dreadful and I've not noticed JMK in attack.

You've made that assess wiz from someone who has played rep footy and been playing for 3 years to someone who's been playing since breakfast.
Have you watched both players since they were 16.
I just don't get the hate for someone who is given us some hope for the future.
If he pisses off, then let's throw some knives at the kid then.

simmo1

I've seen nothing from Katoa to suggest he is even close to a million dollar player. Dolphins had that game in the bag, any decent half would have seen them home. He has a lot to learn, just like Galvin.

Wizardman

You've made that assess wiz from someone who has played rep footy and been playing for 3 years to someone who's been playing since breakfast.
Have you watched both players since they were 16.
I just don't get the hate for someone who is given us some hope for the future.
If he pisses off, then let's throw some knives at the kid then.
It is much more of a compliment to Katoa than a bagging of Galvin. I think Katoa has been great. The rest of his team seem to be really low in spark.

I've put the line through two teams making the 8 in the Cows and Parra. I've not put the line through the Dolphins as I think there will be some sort of improvement in them. It will probably not be enough to make the 8 but they do have the tools to be better than what they are playing at the moment.

Nutz

It is much more of a compliment to Katoa than a bagging of Galvin. I think Katoa has been great. The rest of his team seem to be really low in spark.

I've put the line through two teams making the 8 in the Cows and Parra. I've not put the line through the Dolphins as I think there will be some sort of improvement in them. It will probably not be enough to make the 8 but they do have the tools to be better than what they are playing at the moment.
I get ya mate. I rate Katoa as I had him in my team for the last 2 years but not this year because he was too inconsistent. When he's hot he's hot and like most good half's he plays best on the back of a good go fwd.
I rate half's on their ability to produce no matter how the team was performing.
Andrew Johns was a classic Newcastle would not have won as many games as they did without him.
Brooks however couldn't ice a cake no matter how good our go forward was.
Given time, I reckon we will win more games than ever before as we should convert.

Wizardman

I get ya mate. I rate Katoa as I had him in my team for the last 2 years but not this year because he was too inconsistent. When he's hot he's hot and like most good half's he plays best on the back of a good go fwd.
I rate half's on their ability to produce no matter how the team was performing.
Andrew Johns was a classic Newcastle would not have won as many games as they did without him.
Given time, I reckon we will win more games than ever before as we should convert.
Joey was one of a kind though. Vast majority of halfbacks need a good pack to win games. Joey was great at picking up opportunities when he could.
I agree with you with Brooks though....why on Earth did we stick with him for so long? Manly has proved he is a Robin, not Batman.

Tiger Ted

Brooks was the most pathetic & imbecilic half I’ve ever seen play the game.Sterling was another majestic half who had the IQ to deliver the goods if his team especially the forwards weren’t at their best albeit the crazy Ray Price never had a bad game

Tiger Ted

The dolphins can increase their chances of making the 8 by setting up a mannequin of Wayne Bennett in the dressing sheds

Dolphins v Wests Tigers​

• Dally M votes: Terrell May 3, Lachlan Galvin 3, Isaiya Katoa 2, Api Koroisau 2, Fonua Pole 1, Adam Doueihi 1.

The Mole
9. Api Koroisau (Tigers)
Terrorised the Dolphins around the rucks, scoring a try, laying on another and always probing for breaks.

10. Terrell May (Tigers)​

Big man with a big motor, topping the tackle count and running for nearly 200 metres to dominate the Dolphins pack. The Roosters' reject is the Tigers' gain.

5 Selected !!!

5. Sunia Turuva. Club: Wests Tigers. SOO appearances: 0. TOTW selections: 2.

Turuva was part of the 18-point blitz in the second half, scoring his second try of the afternoon in the 63rd minute, in the come-from-behind 30-18 win over the Dolphins at Kayo Stadium in Redcliffe.
6. Lachlan Galvin. Club: Wests Tigers. SOO appearances: 0. TOTW selections: 2.

Galvin joins his teammate Turuva in making back-to-back TOTW nominations by being his usual ball of energy - 21 runs for 145 metres.

Three of those were from dummy-half to add to his three offloads, a tackle-break, 12 tackles and 11 kicks for 232 metres.
8. Terrell May. Club: Wests Tigers. SOO appearances: 0. TOTW selections: 3.

The 25-year-old has made his third TOTW appearance in as many rounds and will continue his run if he keeps his stats as high as he does.

Again he topped the Wests Tigers’ tackle count with 42 against the Dolphins, making 182 metres from 19 runs in 65 minutes on the field. He had an offload, a tackle-bust, made no errors and only missed one tackle.
9. Api Koroisau. Club: Wests Tigers. SOO appearances: 4. TOTW selections: 1.

What captain doesn’t want to score the winning try in an away game, and Koroisau did just that in the 75th minute on Saturday night in front of the Redcliffe faithful.

He also made a line-break, a line-break assist, a short pass for second-rower Alex Seyfarth to crash over, three tackle-busts, five dummy-half runs and pulled off 33 tackles.
11. Alex Seyfarth. Club: Wests Tigers. SOO appearances: 0. TOTW selections: 1.

Seyfarth is the fifth Wests Tigers player to make this week’s TOTW. It’s his maiden appearance after busting out of four tackles and making a line-break in his 30 post-contact metres off 12 runs.

His support play earned him his first try for the season, and his defensive efforts resulted in 32 tackles.

11. Alex Seyfarth. Club: Wests Tigers. SOO appearances: 0. TOTW selections: 1.

Seyfarth is the fifth Wests Tigers player to make this week’s TOTW. It’s his maiden appearance after busting out of four tackles and making a line-break in his 30 post-contact metres off 12 runs.

His support play earned him his first try for the season, and his defensive efforts resulted in 32 tackles.

He ain't ever going to be David Fifita but he is a low budget player who can get the job done.