Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 5 vs Parramatta @ CommBank Stadium, Parramatta / Burramattagal

Who will win? Round 5: Parramatta v Wests Tigers

• Parramatta Eels 13+

Votes: 2 33.3%
  • Parramatta Eels 1-12

Votes: 1 16.7%

• Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 1 16.7%
  • Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 2 33.3%

Nutz

If Moses isn’t man of match we win this comfortably.
Agree.
I've been watching Moses this year because I had him in Fantasy Coach and I reckon he does stuff all in some games.
He basically just kicks but as you hinted Ted, he's still capable of being man of the match if we let him.
Our defense is great and our fitness is awesome so hopefully he won't have much to work on.
Latu is a great defender and can play dummy half, ½ and ⅝ if needed. He'd keep Moses quiet.
I'd keep both Latu and Jock on this new extended bench, at least until we get our injured players back.

Tiger Ted

Yes, for exactly that.
You would think (well I do) that they would be first picks, if they are fit?
I don’t rate Skelton & I’d expect that when everyone is available he has buckleys of playing NRL.A shit defender who moves laterally like an ocean liner & is suspect under the high ball

You would think (well I do) that they would be first picks, if they are fit?

Skelton must be fit. He has been picked the past couple of weeks. Bunty is playing reserve grade as well. My assumption is they are fit and not first picked.

I think that is probably reflective of their ability in terms of our squad. I wouldn't expect them to be picked barring injuries.

Our squad has improved a fair bit.

Tiger Ted

Skelton must be fit. He has been picked the past couple of weeks. Bunty is playing reserve grade as well. My assumption is they are fit and not first picked.

I think that is probably reflective of their ability in terms of our squad. I wouldn't expect them to be picked barring injuries.

Our squad has improved a fair bit.
No doubt Benji has realised he has much better options than the hazardous Skelton.I don’t mind Bunty but our forwards have been extremely impressive so he will have to bide his time

I like Skelton. His hit-ups are great and he can finish. He was great against the Cowboys. He is also a bit of a big lumbersome winger. Tavana gives you a threat in the air. Makasini is a star. Turuva is quality. May and To'a would be our first picked centers if fit and they can also play on the wing. Luke has been great.

I just think our squad is good enough that even with a couple of injuries Skelton is going to have to perform regularly to make the team. He could also probably slot into the backrow so he provides good coverage but also a player rarely used in a 6th man bench.

Bunty may be great but he has to outplay our current middle forwards and I wouldn't drop any of them.

glockers

I'm also a bit of a Skelton sceptic, though I think Bunty is perfectly fine to be in an NRL middle forward rotation.

That said, the fact we don't need to play either of them is a very good sign for the strength of the squad, especially with May and Toa out.

macnaz

Parramatta's star fullback Isaiah Iongi could miss up to two months of footy following a serious ankle injury from their Round 4 loss to the Panthers.

Alongside Iongi, influential forward J'maine Hopgood and edge forward Matt Dooreyhave both been ruled out for the season with ACL injuries.

The injury toll continues with Jordan Samrani (meniscus) and centre Will Penisini(groin) also unavailable.
--------------
What a shame..........not
So all the things that should make us more confident but in reality the alarms would be ringing amongst our supporters that normal performance criteria will return.
This club has damaged me that bad it will take years and years to eliminate my cynicism. The other thing is playing at CumBank will entitle Parra to a 689 to 5 set restart count .

Parramatta's star fullback Isaiah Iongi could miss up to two months of footy following a serious ankle injury from their Round 4 loss to the Panthers.

Alongside Iongi, influential forward J'maine Hopgood and edge forward Matt Dooreyhave both been ruled out for the season with ACL injuries.

The injury toll continues with Jordan Samrani (meniscus) and centre Will Penisini(groin) also unavailable.
--------------
What a shame..........not
Iongi is by no means a star, Joash will do the same job, so he’s not actually a huge out

Still 40 years in six months time.
Yes I understand, I’ve heard that before…..and ? u seem to be a bit of a dick, ur team is going well, as I said though ur only a month in and you’ve already creamed ur jatz, in saying that this week is a game u should win well if ur going to do anything this season

What about this bloke?
Yrs I saw that, but his named and playing so see how we go, at the end of the day tigers are making some strides, I don’t like the likes of Benji and his former mate Robbie (the mean boys) think they were the coaches worst nightmare , and dressing room bullies evoking segregation and shit results, but he has had done well attracting some talent and doing okay so far, though still early days, whilst Parra are again stalling, though injuries don’t help, but not an excuse

Yes I understand, I’ve heard that before…..and ? u seem to be a bit of a dick, ur team is going well, as I said though ur only a month in and you’ve already creamed ur jatz, in saying that this week is a game u should win well if ur going to do anything this season

This is a risky game for us. Parra are fielding a decent team. We have always been inconsistent.