Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 6 vs Cowboys @ 1300SMILES Stadium

Who will win? Round 6: Cowboys v Wests Tigers

Tiger Woody

It's a win at a low point in the history of the club and for that I am very appreciative....

Still... I won't be getting too carried away with the performance...

Can I suggest that the Cowboys are on a decline...
It's a win at a low point in the history of the club and for that I am very appreciative....

Still... I won't be getting too carried away with the performance...

Can I suggest that the Cowboys are on a decline...

Well they lost Tamou..Scott is injured,so is Glanville,so is Winterstein...
But now could be without Thurston due to calf injury.

axl rose

I thought Mcillwrick was our best..
That f**king kick @ the end when ponga ran approx 80mtrs almost cost us the game.

Hmm hate to be negative tonight but that was not the time for a trick shot play that no chases even knew about.

McIlwrick has been going strong, great thing is no-one in the media talks about him, no overhype or nonsense, Just improving every game.

Tiger Ted

Hmm hate to be negative tonight but that was not the time for a trick shot play that no chases even knew about.

McIlwrick has been going strong, great thing is no-one in the media talks about him, no overhype or nonsense, Just improving every game.
Geez mcilwrick has been good & he'd b on peanuts.Same for Chee Kam 2nite he made a few great offloads & defended well.Grubby Isaac's puppets could learn a lot from these 2 re integrity !

Das Hassler

I took it as a good sign that teddy and moses ran out first with woods behind 200er Lawrence .....odd that after full time Woods looked a little distracted....tedesco was delerious with joy....wonder if there's something to read in that?
Great effort well and trully against the odds ....the season is not a loss yet that's for sure

Mr_Raditch

Cowboys were very poor & we did everything possible in the 2nd half to try & lose, but a wins a win & hopefully that will remind the boys how it feels. I think after a long losing stretch you forget how to win a game & you stop believing in your ability. It's like when you're on a long dry spell, you've been holding out for a decent girl but it's been so long you've completely forgotten how to close the deal. So you lower your standards, scrape the bottom of the barrell just so you can get that inkling of a feeling of how it feels to win again. You know you can do better, and you swear to yourself next time you will do better. But hey, the pressures off now, you've got your confidence back.

A few things.

Naiqama was switched with Suli (Kev on the wing) for most of the game.

Our centre defenders came up to meet the attack. It forced the Cowboys to go wide a lot. ET and our back rowers targetted JT in defence all night. It was an odd tactic to force the Cowboys to give the ball to JT a lot but ET especially suffocating him and had him shut down.

Our defensive line did not contract, it didn't slide real well either, sort of stayed in its place, but it was an immense improvement.

Idris finally had a good game. I got the impression that Idris could be the one to improve immensely under Cleary.

Tedesco wasn't given the ball all the damn time.

Littlejohn controlled the game well thanks to the good work by the forwards.

Lawrence and Aloiai ran very committed lines tonight. It was good to see Aloiai running straight and hard as often as he did. He had a 5 minute period in the second half where he had a few f**k ups, but other than that he was solid.

Grant was good off the bench and I believe he outplayed Ava.

Chee Kam also solid off the bench.

The biggest difference was playing with urgency and enthusiasm. Using their speed to cover for their lack of size (an old 2005 tactic)

It won't work all the time, but it will ensure we are more competitive more often

Clifferd

That was obviously our best 1st half all year. And our defense won us the game in the end after we made too many f**king errors but somehow our scramble kept coming. Was fantastic

Interesting Teddy and Moses seemed genuinely happy, no sign of a club in disarray at all. Woods didn't seem all that crash hot though honestly

Clifferd

Although Moses is a wanker he also stood up last night. Seems he can only play good footy when he wants to..

simmo05

Yeah i was at the game. Woods was definitely distracted. Moses was very upbeat and animated. What a difference it made with jones on the wing, the fact that the gimp taylor persisted for 2 seasons with it proves he should not be a first grade coach. Suli and isris were great, as was mcillwrick. Jt was shut down all night, and with him gone so are the cowboys for the season.

Front-Rower

What a difference a week makes. I'll have to watch the game again as I was out last night and socializing made it hard to concentrate purely on the game but one thing I noticed was that the defensive line was no where near as compressed as it normally was.

Performance wise, it was amazing how committed some of the performances were and as mentioned here, I was impressed with McIlwrick (spelling).

From dead last to one win out of the 8.

Shredder

MacIlrick is becoming my favourite player pretty quickly.
I just can never remember how to spell the guys name.

Post game, Teddy gets asked what Ivan said all week - he said "play with more intensity" No shit.

Cowboys were off today, but we played well to.

Very happy with that. Especially with the look of excitement on Teddys face after the last try. Another win or two I reckon Teddy stays. Woods really stood up last night to, But that defence..... wow. .

Clifferd

Cowboys ordinary 1st half - pretty good in the 2nd half to almost snatch defeat. It was our defense for once that won the game for us in the end

Although Moses is a wanker he also stood up last night. Seems he can only play good footy when he wants to..

I was going to say that he really could be a special player. The main downside I see with him is that I think he could be cancer to a club especially with his uncle/cousin whatever as his manager.

McIlwrick & Liddle were both pretty good. McIlwrick was really good. Woods showed to me that he is overpaid. Comparing him to Taumalolo is laughable. Woods on the right money is decent but he isn't anywhere the great forwards in the game. I'd rather give some of Woods money to Moses.

Chee Kam was also awesome. He just came up with big plays all game.