Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Match Discussion: Round 6 vs Newcastle @ McDonald Jones Stadium, New Lambton / Awabakal

Who will win? Round 6: Newcastle v Wests Tigers

• Newcastle Knights 13+

Votes: 1 14.3%
  • Newcastle Knights 1-12

Votes: 2 28.6%

• Wests Tigers 1-12

Votes: 1 14.3%
  • Wests Tigers 13+

Votes: 3 42.9%

Nutz

Hopefully competition for the spot drives them both on to continue, but TBH, I like the mongrel Naden brings to his game, it's something we lack generally imo.
That's what I like about Nado too.
The thing about To'a is he has more of a skillset than Nado and just as fast.
People aren't that rapt in To'a but he's been hit with injuries. Just when he looks to be getting back into he's injured in trial and his was season over.
It looks like he's fitter than ever and is right up there for the Daly M's centre.
He's averaging around 48pts a game in Fantasy Coach and last week he scored 52. The player who is average scores around 30, often lower.
I know, it only a guide but you cant drop an in form player like him. But as you say, the competition is driving them to compete.
A point about Nado that some people might not know is when he was at the dogs he was a bit of a loose canon and the split from them to us didn't go down too well with everyone, including some tiger fans. Since he arrived he too has been hit with suspensions and injuries.
Later on he had a little bub, and the way he was showing her around to his mates and fans you could tell he was proud and ready to settle down.
I'm getting a sniff that he's 100% committed in trying to secure his young family's welfare.
He's been training the house down in preseason and playing well, so I'm with you two in that I hope he keeps playing well.
If he does, he's bound to get another run again as injuries will keep happening.
When he gets another run he'll be desperate to keep his spot..... that's what we want from all of our top 30 and our pathways.
We need a club culture that has a high bar set. No more pussy footing around.
Only if they train hard and follow that up with a solid performance on the weekends do they get rewarded by being retained in the 17.

Hopefully competition for the spot drives them both on to continue, but TBH, I like the mongrel Naden brings to his game, it's something we lack generally imo.
I might also add, last season he was playing in the halves and I think, kicked goals (will stand corrected on that) in NSW Cup. So has some utility about him as well.

Nutz

I might also add, last season he was playing in the halves and I think, kicked goals (will stand corrected on that) in NSW Cup. So has some utility about him as well.
Your right. In KOE he took on a leadership role and did kick goals.
I watched one game where he practically won the game on his own.
I'm not doubting his ability, but still behind To'a for mine.
I just hope for the team's sake and not Nado's that that doesn't change because if it doesn't it means To'a is still scoring tries and killing it. If not so be it :)

Your right. In KOE he took on a leadership role and did kick goals.
I watched one game where he practically won the game on his own.
I'm not doubting his ability, but still behind To'a for mine.
I just hope for the team's sake and not Nado's that that doesn't change because if it doesn't it means To'a is still scoring tries and killing it. If not so be it :)
Yep, totally agree, To'a has done everything right and I certainly don't see any reason to drop him, just for the sake of it.

Nutz

I hope all are fit and ready to fire on weekend as this is our number 1 team. No excuses.
We have to get more out of Hunt.

Pezz70

Same. Id like to see him come in for Toa after a week or two back in nsw cup
Naden generally plays left side for us, so he is more likely to come in for Douehi if he gets a run, or may possibly have him cover for Skelton. Douehi has predominately been a right side player so if Naden comes in at left , Douehi may switch to right displacing Toa. I think Toa is a fair prospect, he does poke through the line reasonably regularly, hopefully with more time in the top grade his game will move forward. He has played near 70 games in NRL but he has been injury prone, so I’d be willing to give him as much footy as possible at this level (dependent on him getting the job done of course) to see what happens, he is not yet 25 years old.

WA Tiger

The irony is that Staines could be more potent with the current mob because he would chime in better with the more open play breaks that are occurring now compared to last year..
Luke L does nothing for me. I only saw missed opportunities from him in that last game. Tho only a couple, that’s still too many and am expecting more of the same from him. Staines may have got that try Luke fumbled with his speed? And his experience may have counted in that game

WA Tiger

Benji is an AD fan so AD is less likely to need a manager because of that relationship. AD will die for Benji after how Benjis stuck with him.
But aside from that his performance in the trials shows he’s got a 5 star game in the halves with his kicking, weather repeat set short or long and his passing is top shelf..I havnt seen an overall halves performance that good from our boys since. Not even close . I know it was only a trial but you’ve iether got it or you havnt. .
Benji would have seen that and related to AD becoming an effective option as he gets older. Obviously combined with his calm head and leadership this should add to his chance of retention with a reasonable price tag

Benji is an AD fan so AD is less likely to need a manager because of that relationship. AD will die for Benji after how Benjis stuck with him.
But aside from that his performance in the trials shows he’s got a 5 star game in the halves with his kicking, weather repeat set short or long and his passing is top shelf..I havnt seen an overall halves performance that good from our boys since. Not even close . I know it was only a trial but you’ve iether got it or you havnt. .
Benji would have seen that and related to AD becoming an effective option as he gets older. Obviously combined with his calm head and leadership this should will add to his chance of retention and a reasonable price tag

This is the interesting point but you have to put it into perspective. He was given multiple chances in the halves and he was pretty poor and then he plays in the halves this year and he has been great albeit with little time. He hasn't looked good in the centres whereas previously he looked great a couple of times in the centres.

I'd argue we have heaps of halves. Luai, Latu (but he is always injured), AD, Galvin & Sullivan (back next year).

He is clearly our best centre and he would make most teams.

He seems to be physically more capable and competitive this year. But he’s getting better too.

Having an otherwise in form Nado breathing down your neck is good encouragement.

For this game Star bit there could a game in the near future that we could sling Nado into, even off the bench.

WA Tiger

This is the interesting point but you have to put it into perspective. He was given multiple chances in the halves and he was pretty poor and then he plays in the halves this year and he has been great albeit with little time. He hasn't looked good in the centres whereas previously he looked great a couple of times in the centres.

I'd argue we have heaps of halves. Luai, Latu (but he is always injured), AD, Galvin & Sullivan (back next year).
Sullivan is non entity.. in fact he needs to keep a wide berth of the halves spot at all costs ..and yea the little fellas seem to be getting knocked out LR and centre..With potential injuries I’d have AD up there with Latu as equal first alternative …for creating breaks and tries and serious touch for kicking I’d go for AD for when we need outrageous individual tries and courage to go for the killer play I’d go for Latu ..I’d have either ahead of Galvin..it’s a shame there’s no replays of that trial game where AD was half back with Galvin .. You don’t want to lose that level of ability when it’s needed and we won’t. I’d be tempted to label what I saw that day as elite from AD. Much better overall than what’s been dished up since

But big minute forwards, that’s pretty exciting.

And week after week they continue to adjust to the physical strain, so barring injury, it should become easier and they can put more in.

Terrell has some kind of home brew he drinks before the match. Other players are getting the recipe.