Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Matt Dufty

BBTB

Once we played Storm and got all those injuries/suspensions I adjusted my expectations and faced facts, it’s a good opportunity to look at some of the kids and accept we may lose every game until we get our best troops back.
I’ve actually been enjoying the footy again. It’s good to see that they have been putting in 100%.
I hope they don’t rush Dufty back, I would like to see a bit more of Ramsay at fullback, even if it means losing more games. Thus far Dufty looks superior to Ramsay but I want to see what he does behind a more dominant forward effort.
Dufty at this stage, is way better attacking player (than Ramsey).
Ramsey is a great finishing winger. Let them work together, as before...
In time, maybe Ramsey will develop into a fb. For now Dufty is our best attacking weapon.
Defense is a bit iffy
But IMO, so is all the smaller NRL fb's.
J. De belin, will tighten
up the centre field, &
Make it easier Dufty. Sign him up Hook...

dungay dragon

In time, maybe Ramsey will develop into a fb. For now Dufty is our best attacking weapon.
Defense is a bit iffy
up the centre field, &
Thinking if Hook is applying reverse psychology with Dufty ,,,telling him the Not Wanted line , hoping for a positive reaction..Duff will either come out and give a MOM performance or a rocks n diamonds effort
shame he didnt do the same with Norman .....

Griffin did say that he had no intention of going outside for the Duffs replacement . Ramsey has played well - not the same sharpness in attack as Duffy , but fairly solid at the back .

Although he did drop one under the high ball , he continued to take them well . I noticed that when he did drop the kick the camera went to Duffy who was laughing at his misfortune - a bit sad .

However I do prefer that Griffin does change his mind and keep the man , surely his indiscretions could not be that bad ?

Dragon David

Defense is a bit iffy
up the centre field, &
Im wanting to see Dufty charge into the backline in attack and either splits the defence and scores or he sends cut out passes to Ramsey or Rava for them to score. This has been missing in our games recently. We get two or three of these against the Broncos and we win provided our forwards do the hard yakka in defence and this is where JDB comes in.

SaintPauli

Sign Dufty for 2 years.

I believe Ramsay will need 2 off seasons and NRL games to get to standard.
Who knows ! In the same time frame, Dufty may actually develop his defense.
Considering our salary cap restrictions, right now Dufty is the best we have.
SIGN HIM UP HOOK & DRAGONS MANAGEMENT.

getsmarty

Where will Matt Dufty be playing in 2022? Ranking the Dragons fullback's likely destinations

Liam O'Loughlin
2 hrs ago

In shock news last week, St George Illawarra Dragons fullback Matt Dufty has been told he is no longer wanted by the club, and now looks set to move on at the end of 2021.

The 25-year-old is one of the most exciting players in the competition, and has the ability to create points by himself at any stage.

Dufty possesses insane speed, crisp ball-playing and elusive footwork, making him a great pick-up for a number of rival NRL clubs.

There have always been question marks over his defence and positional play, but there is no doubt that the positives could outweigh the negatives if Dufty was in the right system.

And with the in-demand Nicho Hynes joining Cronulla and Will Kennedy also re-signing with the Sharks, Dufty's name will certainly be linked with a few clubs in the coming weeks.

We've gone ahead and ranked the most likey destinations for Dufty in 2022 below.

1. BRISBANE BRONCOS
Another club without a secure long-term fullback, Brisbane are another club reportedly interested in Dufty for next season and now appear a genuine front-runner for his services.

After missing out on their prime target in Nicho Hynes, the door is certainly open for the St George Illawarra speedster to head north and join the Broncos next year.

Jamayne Isaako has been shuffled in and out of the fullback position in recent years, but has shown glimpses of his potential at the back so far this year.

The Penshurst RSL junior would benefit from playing alongisde an elite halfback in Adam Reynolds, as well as a strong forward pack including the likes of Payne Haas and Tevita Pangai Jr.

2. CANTERBURY BULLDOGS
Definitely a club that could do with Dufty's speed and creativity, sources can reveal the club have already put some feelers out there for the fullback for next season.

Canterbury have struggled for points for many years and it hasn't changed too much in 2021 with new halves Kyle Flanagan and Jake Averillo.

The only thing potentially standing in the way would be Josh Addo-Carr, who had been rumoured to be offered the No.1 role when he moves to Belmore next year.

If we were to place a bet on where the 25-year-old lands in 2022, the Bulldogs are near the top of the list.

3. CANBERRA RAIDERS
With regular fullback Charnze Nicoll-Klokstad sidelined with a neck injury, the Green Machine have struggled recently and Ricky Stuart could be searching for answers.

Canberra have recently lost George Williams, with the English playmaker moving home and they are now a man down in the spine long-term.

Dufty's ability to create points would surely entice the Raiders, even if it meant moving him into the halves or shuffling things around with Nicoll-Klokstad in the backline.

It may be a left-field option, but it is certainly one that could work for both parties if executed well.

4. NEW ZEALAND WARRIORS
This move was in the works for quite a while, with Dufty a potential replacement for departing fullback Roger Tuivasa-Sheck.

Unfortunately for the Dragons star, the Warriors have now gone and signed Reece Walsh and he looks to be their long-term choice at the back after starring in his first five games of NRL.

They could still go after Dufty for next year and move Walsh to five-eighth - but at this stage, that looks an unlikely move.

5. GOLD COAST TITANS
Another club that had been chasing Dufty in the past, the Red V speedster remained at the club last year despite some keen interest from the Titans.

It led to a career resurgence for the fullback, who went on to lock down the Dragons' starting spot.

There is a slim chance he ends up on the Gold Coast for next year, but there's always the possibility of playing AJ Brimson in the halves and Dufty at fullback.

https://www.msn.com/en-au/sport/new...ons-fullback-s-likely-destinations/ar-AAKlalS

Dragsters

I believe that once JDB is back to his defensive and ball playing best that Dufty will shine.

Let's face it, since we've been without De Belin's services, everyone has been down on form really...

Slippery Morris

How strange selecting Dufty when he was told he was not wanted for 2022? Or was he? This just shows that there still could be some chance he will remain a Dragon beyond 2021.Hook must have still some faith in the guy to pick him.

I believe Alex Johnson copped the same treatment at Souths last year only to later be given another year or 2. If no club offers Dufty big dollars to leave, the Saints will get him on a more reduced rate that what they would have at the start of the season which may have been part of the game they are playing or justifying his worth.

Illusion

How strange selecting Dufty when he was told he was not wanted for 2022? Or was he? This just shows that there still could be some chance he will remain a Dragon beyond 2021.Hook must have still some faith in the guy to pick him.

I believe Alex Johnson copped the same treatment at Souths last year only to later be given another year or 2. If no club offers Dufty big dollars to leave, the Saints will get him on a more reduced rate that what they would have at the start of the season which may have been part of the game they are playing or justifying his worth.
He is a better man than me , if I was told I'm not in their plans going forward , I would have told them to shove it .... Or have they told him to look around and if something came his way to go and if not they will reassess ..... Time will tell ....

TruSaint

Replying on the proviso that the rumours are true, it makes sense for both parties.

Dufty plays well and improves his market value and Griffin keeps any slim chances of finals footy alive by picking his best team.

kit66

I like Dufty and appreciate his attacking skills and what he's done at the club but I don't think he has it in him to go up a gear when we need it, I really don't see much improvement space for him. But then few in our team have that extra gear either, maybe Sims and also Hunt once in a while but that's it. Dufty may have trouble securing a fullback spot anywhere in first grade I'm afraid. I wish him all the best though, hope he lands a gig somewhere. Too bad Bellamy or Robinson couldn't utilize his skills and give him some decent coaching.

Crush

Dufty is done at Dragons.
He will finish out the year in the number 1 spot if his good form continues but he won’t be there next year, Hook isn’t going to just change his mind surely.
If his form slips then he’ll be quickly back to reserve grade I reckon.
I really hope Ramsay/Sloan/Schiller/Silverman work out as his replacement.

Forbes Creek Dragons

Dufty is done at Dragons.
He will finish out the year in the number 1 spot if his good form continues but he won’t be there next year, Hook isn’t going to just change his mind surely.
If his form slips then he’ll be quickly back to reserve grade I reckon.
I really hope Ramsay/Sloan/Schiller/Silverman work out as his replacement.
There’s a young kid running around for the Dapto Canaries under 8s worth keeping an eye on. I think he’s a distant relative of Silverman. Let’s hope now that Dufty is gone, Ramsey and Sloan follow. We don’t need anymore pathway blockers. We are primed for a tilt at the 2031 premiership.