Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

May Brother's

Nutz

I'm cynical and my thoughts are money is the no 1 thing that attracts players. I think salary sacrifices are more like accepting money off the cap.
Bit of both Tiger. Players playing for a good club/system know that their next contract with or away from that club will be a good one. Better chance of rep footy, finals footy, media etc etc

Once we start winning (and that will happen) what club offers anything better than we have?
I agree, players want money but they want to win as well.
We've got some elite players here and they seem to think we are heading in the right direction.

Bit of both Tiger. Players playing for a good club/system know that their next contract with or away from that club will be a good one. Better chance of rep footy, finals footy, media etc etc

Like Stefano and Galvin ? You reckon they took less or more money ?

I mean it's not black and white but I think it's often more to do with the player than the off field success. Some players will stay loyal. AD did it this year.

Nutz

Like Stefano and Galvin ? You reckon they took less or more money ?

I mean it's not black and white but I think it's often more to do with the player than the off field success. Some players will stay loyal. AD did it this year.
At the end of the day of course it's all for cash, TPA's etc.
In Stefano's case I think he did take less. At the tigers he felt he wouldn't make a premier prop tere under their system so he went to the storm with his ex tiger mate . Did you see bellyache tear strips off him in the sheds, it was great theatre. After that match he played several good games and I believe after this years finals and another preseason with the Storm he will be worth the money he wants ... crystal ball stuff.
Be interesting to see how he goes up against King and Hughes tonight.
Either way Storm got a good deal now that Nelson has shot himself in the foot again.

Nutz

There in lies the difference. When Madge tore strips off our blokes they would be allowed to cry about how unfair it all is. The Melbourne lads are expected to put their big boy pants on and aim up.
Pretty much mate.
The true difference lies in the fact that Bellyache knows what he's doing. Players at Melbourne put their sooky pants away and aim up because they know they are in a good system and everyone buys in right up to the front office. Sook and your gonesky and so has your career, well at least it takes a hit.
Madge had a great South's team led by a warrior forward and won the title.
However, his coaching stats don't come anywhere near bellyache's.
Managers know that if their client stays in reserve grade at the Storm and it's common knowledge that he's not a good fit with them, it then makes it hard to get him another good gig or upgrade.
Nelson could little afford ill discipline at this stage of his career. But alas he stuffed up again so the Storm are shopping him, bad knees and all. Only a dumb club will offer him a retirement package
How many finals has bellyache missed? 0
Oh, except for salary cap breach :)

If Benji can jump puddles, learn and build, one day great players might want a piece of the action and come to our club??????

WA Tiger

I think Madge expected at wt that if he yelled enough with a team of at best average talent, like he’d done previously when he had a team with talent across the park, then he could get the same result; top 4 and premiership. Unfortunately there’s a bit more to it than that..to have success he needs the team to be ready made.. with a bit of tweaking to get them running rampant .. he’s proven that he can’t develop / create a team from scratch he hasn’t got the patience, insight, comms skills..nothing to do with big boy pants or whatever it was

Ron's_Mate

May Day: Tyrone and Terrell answer Samoan SOS for Tonga showdown
By Christian Nicolussi
October 21, 2025 — 7.30pm

Tyrone and Terrell May have answered a Samoan SOS ahead of Sunday’s must-win blockbuster against Tonga.

Samoan trio Jazz Tevaga, Ata Mariota and Jaydn Su’A all failed head injury assessments in Sunday’s 24-18 loss to New Zealand, leaving Ben Gardiner’s side short on troops. Melbourne’s grand final forward Ativalu Lisati has also been rushed into the side.

Former Panthers centre Tyrone won the Super League title with Hull KR just over nine days ago, and was not only excited to be back in Samoan colours for the first time since the 2022 World Cup, but also to be playing alongside brother Terrell, the Wests Tigers prop.

The May brothers, including the injured Taylan, have made it known they are desperate to play together, and even inked deals so they all come off contract at the end of 2027.

“I’m just so excited to be around Samoan camp again, and the chance to play with Terrell would be a dream come true,” Tyrone told this masthead.

“The only time the three of us have played on the same team was 2018 when we snuck up to Queensland for an Indigenous tournament. We went to a place called Dirranbandi for a knockout. Each team was allowed up to five ‘ring-ins’, or non-Indigenous players, and we ended up winning the thing.

“‘Tiny’ [Taylan] was only 17, and they went for him hard the whole time. They tried to kill the poor bloke, but he stood his ground. It would have been nice if Tiny was available this weekend, but it’s just as great to be with Terrell.

“It’s still the dream to all play together one day. We’re all off [contract] at the end of 2027. When I re-signed with Hull KR the boys understood my intentions and why I did it, and how it was the best thing for my footy, while I know they’re both happy at the Tigers. A lot can happen in two years in rugby league. We’ll see.”

A Blaize Talagi sideline conversion locked up the scores in Auckland late in the game, before Deine Mariner had the chance to win it for the Samoans only to over-run a Talagi pass. Mariner then threw a ball above Brian To’o’s head when he also could have snatched victory.

Should Samoa lose to Tonga in front of a crowd tipped to approach 40,000 at Suncorp Stadium, they will miss the final.

May is happy to play the utility role he filled at the Panthers, especially given Jarome Luai and Talagi were solid as the starting halves.

The 29-year-old said he had spoken to Gardiner several weeks ago about making himself available for the second game, which would have given him time to recover from the Super League grand final against Wigan.

May praised Hull KR coach Willie Peters for making him a better player, and predicted it would only be a matter of time before the former halfback was be snapped up as an NRL head coach.

“Willie is such a good coach,” May said. “The better he goes, the more recognised he’ll get – which is unfortunate for the club, but fortunate for him. He’d do really well in the NRL as a head coach.

“He’s really honest, there’s no grey area, and he’ll tell you how it is. The style of play he’s brought over to England, it’s more of an NRL style, he likes us to get into the grind and go set for set. We try to get on top of the arm wrestle, which is the way we train as well. Being a former halfback, Willie and I often bounce ideas off each other.”

Terrell was forced to withdraw from the Kiwis’ game because of hamstring tightness, but is expected to be fit for the Tongans, whose pack includes former Samoan international – and former Tigers front-rower – Stefano Utoikamanu.

May Day: Tyrone and Terrell answer Samoan SOS for Tonga showdown
By Christian Nicolussi
October 21, 2025 — 7.30pm

Tyrone and Terrell May have answered a Samoan SOS ahead of Sunday’s must-win blockbuster against Tonga.

Samoan trio Jazz Tevaga, Ata Mariota and Jaydn Su’A all failed head injury assessments in Sunday’s 24-18 loss to New Zealand, leaving Ben Gardiner’s side short on troops. Melbourne’s grand final forward Ativalu Lisati has also been rushed into the side.

Former Panthers centre Tyrone won the Super League title with Hull KR just over nine days ago, and was not only excited to be back in Samoan colours for the first time since the 2022 World Cup, but also to be playing alongside brother Terrell, the Wests Tigers prop.

The May brothers, including the injured Taylan, have made it known they are desperate to play together, and even inked deals so they all come off contract at the end of 2027.

“I’m just so excited to be around Samoan camp again, and the chance to play with Terrell would be a dream come true,” Tyrone told this masthead.

“The only time the three of us have played on the same team was 2018 when we snuck up to Queensland for an Indigenous tournament. We went to a place called Dirranbandi for a knockout. Each team was allowed up to five ‘ring-ins’, or non-Indigenous players, and we ended up winning the thing.

“‘Tiny’ [Taylan] was only 17, and they went for him hard the whole time. They tried to kill the poor bloke, but he stood his ground. It would have been nice if Tiny was available this weekend, but it’s just as great to be with Terrell.

“It’s still the dream to all play together one day. We’re all off [contract] at the end of 2027. When I re-signed with Hull KR the boys understood my intentions and why I did it, and how it was the best thing for my footy, while I know they’re both happy at the Tigers. A lot can happen in two years in rugby league. We’ll see.”

A Blaize Talagi sideline conversion locked up the scores in Auckland late in the game, before Deine Mariner had the chance to win it for the Samoans only to over-run a Talagi pass. Mariner then threw a ball above Brian To’o’s head when he also could have snatched victory.

Should Samoa lose to Tonga in front of a crowd tipped to approach 40,000 at Suncorp Stadium, they will miss the final.

May is happy to play the utility role he filled at the Panthers, especially given Jarome Luai and Talagi were solid as the starting halves.

The 29-year-old said he had spoken to Gardiner several weeks ago about making himself available for the second game, which would have given him time to recover from the Super League grand final against Wigan.

May praised Hull KR coach Willie Peters for making him a better player, and predicted it would only be a matter of time before the former halfback was be snapped up as an NRL head coach.

“Willie is such a good coach,” May said. “The better he goes, the more recognised he’ll get – which is unfortunate for the club, but fortunate for him. He’d do really well in the NRL as a head coach.

“He’s really honest, there’s no grey area, and he’ll tell you how it is. The style of play he’s brought over to England, it’s more of an NRL style, he likes us to get into the grind and go set for set. We try to get on top of the arm wrestle, which is the way we train as well. Being a former halfback, Willie and I often bounce ideas off each other.”

Terrell was forced to withdraw from the Kiwis’ game because of hamstring tightness, but is expected to be fit for the Tongans, whose pack includes former Samoan international – and former Tigers front-rower – Stefano Utoikamanu.

I reckon he will end up here, soon.

I reckon he is pretty good but I don't know where you play him.

He is a utility player that slots into lock, centre and the halves. Do we have a role for him in our team ?

Luai, Latu, AD, Javon Andrews and Madden are all in our squad now.

It's like signing Garrick. Where do we play them ? You also have to think how that signing impacts the cap. Richo has said we basically have our squad now.

I reckon he is pretty good but I don't know where you play him.

He is a utility player that slots into lock, centre and the halves. Do we have a role for him in our team ?

Luai, Latu, AD, Javon Andrews and Madden are all in our squad now.

It's like signing Garrick. Where do we play them ? You also have to think how that signing impacts the cap. Richo has said we basically have our squad now.
I think that was the top 17-20, it's always hard to tell numbers, but ZT has us at 28, so there may be a space for him.
As for where do you play him, I guess he would play where it's best (for the team) to play him, if he's good enough.
Strong depth is not something we've ever really associated with the WT's.

I think that was the top 17-20, it's always hard to tell numbers, but ZT has us at 28, so there may be a space for him.
As for where do you play him, I guess he would play where it's best (for the team) to play him, if he's good enough.
Strong depth is not something we've ever really associated with the WT's.

I think that is correct. Javon Andrews and Ethan Roberts are on dev contracts next season.

Bird is still on contract. We have the space. I doubt we have much dollars available. Hunt is on contract for another 2 season. I hope we get some value out of him.

I think there are a lot of open spots in 27.