Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Maybe you're gonna be the one that saves me ...

No, not Noel Gallagher

Tom Shines could well have his arse saved next year by Blake Lazarus.

The difference between the 2 sides and a real class above

T

1) hodgson
6) Marshall
7) Lazarus
9) farah

14) morris/halatau (when in form)

Now that is starting to look like how it should, not shifting players

Estoboy

Of the games i've seen him play this year (being 2) he's been ok.
As has Molzten.

Definately no Prince, but a young and creative person non the less.

i havn't seen any of our halves dominate in PL
but neither of our halves dominate in FG too

Vicious

Blake Lazarus is a definate prospect, very quick off the mark, good on his feet and a willing defender, but to be fair dinkum he`s still not the playmaker we require. Very good individual player who`ll easily handle the step up to first grade, but more for his running game than his passing and creative skills.
Besides Lazarus, i thaught that Stu Flanagan and more so Lewis Brown were the standouts, problem being they are both hookers. Both Flanagan and Brown are all class and both WILL carry their class into first grade and to be honest i reckon they are both good enough to possibly play 5/8 IF they had a natural playmaking halfback ala Michael Monaghan inside of them, unfortunately we don`t have that.
Apart from that, i reckon Tim Moltzen is a real talent, he has a while to go, but has a good tall physique that he`ll grow into, he`s got good footwork, good pace and has plenty of time like all top class players. I see Moltzen as a 5/8 and possible centre option rather than a halfback. Ryan O`Hara ran hard like he always does, but just doesn`t look like being the player worth double of what the rest of the props on the field are. Danny Galea was strong, but i do believe the back row is his spot, too slow to be a good class centre these days. Tevita Metuisela will make himself available and run the ball all day, which is something our first grade side does require and i`d certainly be looking at retaining him in our top 25, Tom Haberecht does some good things, runs the ball hard and makes plenty of offloads, but his lack of size might play against him becoming a regular first grader. Sam Moa has definate value as an impact prop, whilst Matt Parata is solidly built and a definate first grade prospect somewhere in the outside backs.

Lazarus looked class as i thought did Trimarchi. Back to Lazarus though he scored 2 and made a clear line break that really should have led to a 3rd. Very good on his feet, blinding off the mark, has a show and go and like Vicious said is a very willing defender. He is head and shoulders above the tard that is Morris. Also good to see a lot of the WT boys out there. Hodgo, Galloway, Farah, Bronson, Heighno, Halatau.

On a side note a certain B. Smith was there. Now, knowing the club want O'Hara gone, Newcastle are short of props and O'Hara is a central coast product, I am wondering if he was there to run the rule over O'Hara. Might be way off track and/or wishful thinking but am wondering who else he could have been there for

super_coach

Didnt hear or see the game todaybut Rhys Hanbury week in week out has been been solid so have a gut feeling he could make the grade. Lazarus and Moltzen will make the grade but 2008 is another question. Iam hearing Luke harlem was a standout,funny never even talked about as a F grader

Vicious

super_coach said:
Didnt hear or see the game todaybut Rhys Hanbury week in week out has been been solid so have a gut feeling he could make the grade. Lazarus and Moltzen will make the grade but 2008 is another question. Iam hearing Luke harlem was a standout,funny never even talked about as a F grader

Luke Harlen would certainly hold his own in first grade. He`s not overly big, but very tough and doesn`t take a backward step. I really think Tim Moltzen could be a very good first grade centre and possibly move into 5/8 later on much like Laurie Daley.
Ben Te`o and Chris Lawrence were also at the game as was Sheens, not sure why when he never changes anything anyway ???

Hanbury is nothing special mate. Couldn't cut it at souths which probably says more than enough. Solid yes but has no real X factor or blinding attribute that marks him down as one to watch out for. We all know for Lazarus to make first grade Sheens would need 150 injuries and then whe n the kid plays a blinder shines will cop the wraps for playing the kids and spotting talent. We all know he only picks them when his hand is forced

Vicious

themanonthehill said:
Hanbury is nothing special mate. Couldn't cut it at souths which probably says more than enough. Solid yes but has no real X factor or blinding attribute that marks him down as one to watch out for. We all know for Lazarus to make first grade Sheens would need 150 injuries and then whe n the kid plays a blinder shines will cop the wraps for playing the kids and spotting talent. We all know he only picks them when his hand is forced

I reckon, Lazarus, Moltzen, Parata and Lewis Brown aside from Stu Flanagan and Ben Jeffery have definate first grade potential in the very near future.

Ben Jeffrey does but it will be with the Titans ...
Where was Shines vicious ?
Coach's box in the Latchem ?
He was probably there to look at players not to pick
Clown probably watched Lazarus and thought he wasn't a patch on Morris

Actually I bet he was out on some big arsed yatch sucking down crownies and scoffing into some escargot

Vicious

themanonthehill said:
Ben Jeffrey does but it will be with the Titans ...
Where was Shines vicious ?
Coach's box in the Latchem ?
He was probably there to look at players not to pick
Clown probably watched Lazarus and thought he wasn't a patch on Morris

I didn`t see where he was watching from, but he drove into the ground when i was walking in. Shannon McDonnell was there as well, geez the kid is small. Benji also there with his arm in a sling.

3-Blake Lazarus
2-Lewis Brown
1-Stuart Flanagan

Vicious

themanonthehill said:
Was Ronald there running the rule over some meat and potatoes Elliott style second rowers like Rothery or Picker ?

I`d take Picker in a heart beat, that kid can play the game. I thaught the Raiders forwards were better than ours, just the individual brilliance of Lazarus, Flanagan and Lewis that was the difference.

Vicious

joel caine number 1 fan said:
when is Mcdonnell returning?
I don`t think he`ll be back this season. I really rate him, i just worry that his lack of size is going to make it hard for him to succeed.

smeghead

Smith was there sussing Newcastles potential oppositions next week etc I believe.

Lazzo has come a very long way in his time with us. For an 18 year old kid he has a great head on his shoulders. He shifts between playmaking and a runner. From my experience this year he is our major playmaker until Brown and Flanno are both on together.

Harlen really stood up today and O'Hara really did the hard work to allow our other forwards to shine.

Rocky was gret too and Danny G's defence saved our bacon on more than a few ocasions.

When one considers the size of the Canberra side comparative to ours it really is a testament to the style of play and work ethic in defence that we have gotten over them 3 times this year now.

steven_tiger

Vicious said:
I`d take Picker in a heart beat, that kid can play the game. I thaught the Raiders forwards were better than ours, just the individual brilliance of Lazarus, Flanagan and Lewis that was the difference.

Agree.

Picker will be a great player in a year or two.