Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

McKinnon - A Myth?

Allstar Knights

Am i the only one that thinks he's been taking a huge ride in FG for way too long? He had a shocker yesterday and I haven't seen any improvement from him since he first debuted for the Knights. Sure he's had a few big games every now and then, so he's definitely capable of it but he's also had a shitload of solid games mixed in with some poor ones too. He's a Costigan 2.0 but without the errors.

His main issue is he really doesn't seem to be improving much since hitting first grade. Regressing, even. Rochow has certainly overtaken him for mine as far as prospects go. I would definitely be starting Rochow over McKinnon, as I think most would at the moment.

He's certainly got talent, but is one of our blokes in the very inconsistent basket at the moment.

Rod

I must be watching a different player. I've mostly been pleased with his time in FG so far, he's shown to be a strong runner and defender. I think he's worth persisting with.

Was he bad yesterday? I didn't notice, not moreso than almost everyone else anyway. Stats say 29 tackles, 3 missed, 60 metres, no errors or penalties. He spent the last 25 mins at left centre as well I think?

Yeah, he gets switched around a fair bit, which doesn't help him much. A bit of a victim of his own versatility.

Joker's Wild

He had one really bad missed tackle that I noticed yesterday but thats about it. I really think that he has not been given the space that his ability requires this year and he has been overshadowed by Rochow who just seems to go all day and get involved more.

I see heaps in the kid and I think he is worth persisting with. He suffered in his 1st season with us by being put in the middle to make up for our lack of punch which set his pregression back. He is young and if he can work on an off load he will come good.

Allstar Knights

I wish he would just play like an edge backrower should and run hard out wide instead of coming in field and taking hit-ups up the middle. I agree that he suffered a bit playing some prop last year.

Nuffy

Mate, why are we picking on this bloke, he's 20 and played maybe 30 games, rarely in the same position back to back.

You want to point the finger at some blokes, what about:

Gids 200 games and really struggles to produce a decent game in the halves.
Uate - deadset been going backwards since he signed the big money multi year deal.
Houston - Isn't really offering much in defence or attack. Just plain vanilla backrower.
Boyd - The blokes on 500k and drifts in and out of games.
Scott - great signing, we'll be lucky to get 10-12 games out of him this year.
Smith - 6 weeks for a dumb dumb dumb nothing tackle - owes us big time.

And finally Bennett - this is yr2 where he has total control and unlimited resources, we are frankly no better than when Stone or Smith was coaching us.

aqua_duck

He had a poor game yesterday but the reality is he wasn't alone. I personally think he needs to put on abit more size, he still looks like a gangly kid out there. Speaking of young forwards, Korbin Sims needs to be given more minutes , the bloke only gets 15-20 mins a game, the bloke can actually bend the line and can hurt in defence unlike most of our forwards.

Misanthrope

I liked McKinnon's work in the centres. I haven't seen much of his return to the back row, but surely we've got bigger problems than our resident ginger underperforming.

Yosh

He isn't terrible but if I had to let go one of McKinnon, Rochow or Sims, it'b McKinnon.

Myth! Quite a tag to put on a 20 year old kid who has a country rep jumper in his closet. He is a fine young footballer. Many clubs would sign him in a heartbeat.

Allstar Knights

Myth is actually pretty harsh for a 20 year old, sorry about that. I realised a bit after I made the thread.

I'm just concerned about his lack of improvement since his debut. I know age is on his side, but I worry that he's nearly played a year and a half of NRL and still isn't showing a lot besides every now and then. I think because he's so young, he's better off playing some NSW Cup and then coming back to FG with some form and confidence.

I reckon this season wouldn't have been great for him with him being picked on and off the bench, changing positions, different hookers and half combinations etc.
Put him in with Smith, Scott and Bedsy out there and give him time to settle and he'll do fine. He's been more than ok so far and is the least of our problems.

Jono078

I think we really missed him tonight, tbh.

He is a good workhorse and always goes forward with his hitups.

Hope he's not out for too long.

He has been playing really well the last few weeks and stringing good form together when left to play in the back row. He's got good aggression, too.

Whats Doing

His performance over the last few weeks has been exceptional. Would be one of the first players picked at the moment

Allstar Knights

Yep, he's been awesome the last 3 or so weeks. His leg drive is pretty impressive when he carts the ball up. It's a shame he'll be out for a while.

Feeling like quite the knob for calling him a myth, lol. It was bad wording because I knew he had the ability based on a few games last year, but I was just disappointed with his form.

Nuffy

Bennett said in the press conference that he thought that McKinnon's injury was likely 6-8 weeks.