Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Memo Brian Smith

Like I said. You can't handle the fact Kids made the doubters look daft today. It is quite funny how Ricky Stuart (merely the national coach) told Bellamy (merely the best coach in the game) to pick him at half. Clearly Stuart and Bellamy are just nuffy coaches aren't they. You are hilarious mate. Bellamy knows absoluitely nothing about the game or Stuart for that matter hey. What with having made five out of the last six grand finals between them. Clearly amateur stuff. :sarcasm:
blah blah blah. just because a couple of well respected coaches agree with you (although im not sure bellamy does at this stage?) doesn't mean you're right.
just answer me this. how do you think kidleys kicking game and complete rabble for organisation today would be received in origin? QLD would be licking their lips at the thought surely.

keeney

Short answer, we watch more Knights games than these coaches, we watch them more intently, and have longer memories. We all remember what Kidley was like in half years ago.

Pika

Short answer, we watch more Knights games than these coaches, we watch them more intently, and have longer memories. We all remember what Kidley was like in half years ago.

I am not so sure about that mate.

If Brian Smith is anything to go by, he watches more opposition footy than all of us put together.

He sent me a clip at 2.00am mid last week on a series of tackles made by a Roosters player from around 11 last year.

The video footage prepared for the boys this week included clips from all Roosters games this year, as well as some from last year.

This is done for every team, every week.

Even I have been watching the last three games for each team we play each week, and I am a part time hack.

I think its fair to say, certainly when Knights are in the forecast for a team, Coaches are taking a very close notice.

antonius

Well all the Kidley at 7 fans can stick to their guns, I'm sticking to mine, if he gets picked at 7 in origin he is going to be made to look very, very ordinary (to the point of embarasing). He has no attributes at all that make a good halfback. He had a poor game in terms of what a halfback is expected to do yesterday.

Yosh

Hmm... I reckon last season I would have totally agreed that Kidley would of been a nuffy at Origin at 7 BUT after watching him play this year and late last season I have changed. We all know what your halfback is supposed to do right, but he doesnt have to play like the conventional halfback. He can just do what he does best, just run with the ball everywhere, offload when he kinda has a handfree, bring others into the play, get the rest of the team to be enthusiasm plus with him, and keep the opposition guessing. He is also a great defender like we all know, he can go tackle those big QLD forwards for 80mins and eat his heart out!!!

Only weakness to this plan is the kicking game, however if we get a 5/8th with a half decent kick on him, we all know who will be there chasing right after the kick right? The commentators always say a kick is only as good as its chase and Kidley has that covered.

It would be good if we had Farah playing hooker because it would mean that we have a genuine kicking opition in the team but he is injured and hasnt been playing so he wont get picked... Bedsy at hooker is awesome but we need a kicker so whoever is playing 5/8th or fullback will probably need a good boot...

What you guys think?

macavity

possibly work with Anasta at5/8 and Bird at lock who can both organise and kick

possibly

but it still doesn't sit well with me having a non-kicking non-organising halfback. sort of defeats the purpose doesn't it?

it also puts a huge burden on Bird. with him taking on such a role we will need strong ball-running and tackling backrowers - meaning Laffranchi is a must....

would still prefer Kids at FB (Stewart on wing if the Manly cabal insists on playing him) with zoolander and an organising half (Pearce or Finch, yes stocks are low...)

antonius

I still think No, He will be made to look ordinary. Being a halfback isn't about enthusiasm, his job is to organise the team and lead them around, to execute the game plan, that involves a miriad of things. Kidley just doesn't have that. Look no further than our last tackle options on Sunday (forwards kicking the ball etc), and that's just one of the aspects that is poor about his game at halfback. As good a player as he is I don't think Kidley can read the play in advance like the good halfbacks do, he's a spur of the moment type player.

keeney

Agree entirely with antonius, Kidley's confidence will be shattered at 7 because he will be made to look bad. Definitely. NSW's attack is impotent enough as it is, do we really want a 7 who can lay on a try every 2 games through passing or kicking?

shane1970

Look no further than our last tackle options on Sunday (forwards kicking the ball etc), and that's just one of the aspects that is poor about his game at halfback. .
To be fair I believe that three out of the four kicks by the forwards, or was it two out of the three wasn't even on the last tackle!!!!!!!!!

Pika

Kick chase will not matter when the kick sails dead in goal.

Poor gids, his kicking is not great.

How about Bails bomb.... nett gain of -15m..... kick coach will love that stat.

A lot of people are totally forgetting Kurt's defence that really helped seal the worst aspect of the Brisbane game.

His kicking game yesterday also gave us two repeat sets in the last 13 mins. And the switch of play to get the 2nd half's first try showed more vision than I've seen in a while.

Considering he's not played halfback for so long I'm kinda leaning toward letting him have another few shots at it.

Rusty

The ball service was ordinary to Kids on the weekend. A few times he waited for the ball only for it to be kicked by someone else. His last tackle play options and he's kicking needs work. He ran the ball a few times when he should have kicked, same thing with Bedsy.

KniGhTs BaTTLeR

The ball service was ordinary to Kids on the weekend. A few times he waited for the ball only for it to be kicked by someone else. His last tackle play options and he's kicking needs work. He ran the ball a few times when he should have kicked, same thing with Bedsy.

That pretty much sums up why he isnt a halfback. Do you think Thurston, Joey, Lockyer, Orford, Cronk and all the other top flight halfbacks of the last decade would let a backrower kick because of bad ball service?. He should have been in the right spot, and be screaming at everyone to get out of his way. Thats what a halfback is, an organiser, hence he would be made to look silly at origin. Especialy with so many big name players, he has to control them and steer them around a park? Leave that to halfback and put him at fullback where he can do wahtever the bloody hell he wants whenever he wants to do it.

Burwood

In fairness to Kidley, each time one of the forwards kicked the ball it was during a fast break. The mistakes were more due to them getting over-excited at the position that they found themselves in, rather than Kidley not demanding the ball. If anything he was probably positioning himself to get the ball on the next play once his teammate took the tackle.