Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Message to Henry - Tilse is a powder puff

Bay56

f**k this site atm ... I type something in and then cant get the submit button to work

nickraider

Sydney_Raider said:
Matt, how you can single out Weyman from the 4 front rowers last night is beyond me. He was the only one who looked like breaking the line. Logan and Thompson need to have a good look at themselves imo.

I'm with you mate, although I think Logan went okay. Weyman was good apart from the drop balls. An injury free run and he'll be carving them up.

matt

mate ill let the log off the hook as he was our best last year.....but as for the rest of our pigs....roll on contract time.:lol:

not singling anyone out just they all sux atm.:lol:

id prefer not to bag players at all.I just wish that i was presented with players by you know who..that dont deserve

it.

ANYWAYS ROLL ON ROUND 2

fourxman

Tilse may not be as aggressive in attack as we would hope. But he doesn't make a lot of mistakes and does a fair bit of work in defence which in a game like that we could use a few more defenders.

and as mentioned Weyman is the player we should be doubting. He may run the ball hard but i prefer a player who can catch the ball to one who can't. And when he does catch a ball he takes an age to get off the ground which lets the defence set anyway! I hope he gets sent to Souths Logan with Withers!

Between Weyman and Withers i am not sure who is the closet to being the new boogs/gafa but they both have claims on the title!

dubby

I dont know what Neil sees in Tilse. Tilse needs to harden up and act like a man. I'd rather have Plum, Thurling or Picker in the team, but these guys arent really props so that leaves TLL who only has to look at a footy field to get injured.

Our prop stocks are low boys. Miller has the impact of a water balloon, Logan goes alright, Weyman can be good on his day, Tilse is too bloody soft for a man that size.

Bay56

dubby said:
I dont know what Neil sees in Tilse. Tilse needs to harden up and act like a man. I'd rather have Plum, Thurling or Picker in the team, but these guys arent really props so that leaves TLL who only has to look at a footy field to get injured.

Our prop stocks are low boys. Miller has the impact of a water balloon, Logan goes alright, Weyman can be good on his day, Tilse is too bloody soft for a man that size.

For once we agree dubster.

Since playing FG I've seen Tilse have one good game and that was against the Knights last year where he hit the line with force.

The facts are that he doesnt even pump his legs after being tackled .. just submits and goes down without a wimper.

It worried me in preseason when Henry mentioned that Tilse was his preferred starting prop ... not having seen any of Tilse since 2007 I thought yea OK he's obviously improved heaps since last season ... FFS the guy has gone backwards if anything.

dubby

Thats to be understood pete. TLL needs some game time under his belt and Dobbo may as well move to QLD.

One game for Souths should do the job for TLL
And you're spot on dubs, Dobson might aswell get rental property in QLD, he'll be a QLD cup player most, if not all of the year

Lime_Green

Looking at the stats Tilse made more metres than Thompson from one less hit up. He made the same number of tackles.

Why aren't we talking about Thompson?

I think people expect that just because Dane has height he will carve through defenders. Maybe in time he will, but the reality is at the moment he's a very tidy player who doesn't make mistakes and gets through plenty of work.

He plays better when he's named in the run on side too, and I hope that he is named there this week.

Mick_63

When Tilse came to Canberra i thought he wad heaps of potential,plenty of enthusiasm to go with an offload and a pretty strong defender,in a position where you don't peak until you're 25,generally speaking.
My problem isn't with Dane as such,its that he has appeared to stagnate.I'd like to think that he was getting some coaching,improving,learning some tricks.But fm if he isn't turning into a one out battering ram with no decoys or supports.

Bay56

Lime_Green said:
Looking at the stats Tilse made more metres than Thompson from one less hit up. He made the same number of tackles.

I think people expect that just because Dane has height he will carve through defenders. Maybe in time he will, but the reality is at the moment he's a very tidy player who doesn't make mistakes and gets through plenty of work.

He plays better when he's named in the run on side too, and I hope that he is named there this week.

He needs to fire-up big time ... we need mongrel, he's big and should deliver.

Lime_Green

I repeat, if he made more metres than Thompson why aren't we talking about him?

Seems to me Thompson, though he hits the line a touch harder, hasn't been effective for quite some time now.

Bay56

Lime_Green said:
I repeat, if he made more metres than Thompson why aren't we talking about him?

Seems to me Thompson, though he hits the line a touch harder, hasn't been effective for quite some time now.

You are free to start up your own thread Limey ... this one is to bag off Tilse .. hopefully if he reads it it will fire him up.

But yea feel free to set up a thread re Thomo .. lets face it after Sat nights effort they could all do with a bit of firing up huh :lol:

Lime_Green said:

Agree. I have no problems with Tilse, Thompson, Turner and Miller. Weyman frustrates me but i keep thinking of the games he played against very strong Dogs and Dragons sides 2 years ago and i still have some faith he can consistantly play like that although he hasnt shown anything for a long time. Costigan's error rate also frustrates me but he makes up for that with his strong running game and hard tackles. Logan is our best foward atm imo.

skeepe

Statistically, Tilse was our best prop last year. Played more minutes than anyone. Made more hitups than anyone. Made more metres per hitup than anyone.

I think if some people could see past the hate, they'd see that we've got ourselves a pretty bloody useful prop.

Bay56

The problem is that we have too many of his type in the forward ranks ... Tilse has the potential to be different but is being used as a battering ram only ... the guy must be taught to get his arms free and off-load.

Stats can be used to prove anything ... at the end of the day it is my impression of his impact on the game that will make my judgement on the big guy.

Brimmer

As I've said countless times before... he's still a young bloke. Give him a couple more years. People are expecting these hulking 20 year olds to break a game wide open. Doesn't happen that often. He'll come good....

I'd be more worried about weyman. That shoulder charge he attempted... HAHA! NASA would have had more chance of making contact.