Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Metal Bands to do Maiden Tribute Album

alien

f**k, check this one out.

Flight of the Icarus :

Vocals: Ripper Owens (Judas Priest/Iced Earth).
Guitar: Doug Aldrich ( Whitesnake/DIO ).
Bass: Jimmy BAIN ( DIO/Rainbow).
Drums : Simon WRIGHT ( DIO/ACDC )>

Song No; 4.

that should be interesting. one of my favourite songs

Trollhammaren

I haven't heard that one but I can only take AE in small doses. At their best they're pretty decent but they can be fairly samey at times.

There are far better bands of the 'melodic death' persuasion.

I literally liked Arch Enemy for a week, when I was 18, and can't listen to them at all since. Complete Borecore...

BTW that AE cover was with their previous, superior, male vocalist.

SpaceMonkey

I literally liked Arch Enemy for a week, when I was 18, and can't listen to them at all since. Complete Borecore...

BTW that AE cover was with their previous, superior, male vocalist.

Yeah they were ok for 5 min when they first formed, then got boring real quick.

Zigwaa

Yeah they were ok for 5 min when they first formed, then got boring real quick.

I'm only just getting into AE after seeing them live with Trivum and Machine Head last year.

I think they're pretty damn awesome. 2nd Best band in that genre closely behind In Flames (I think they're both Melodic Death Metal, could be wrong).

SpaceMonkey

I'm only just getting into AE after seeing them live with Trivum and Machine Head last year.

I think they're pretty damn awesome. 2nd Best band in that genre closely behind In Flames (I think they're both Melodic Death Metal, could be wrong).

Thats probably the main problem I have with them, I just don't like melodic death metal much, I prefer my DM filthy and brutal.

Zigwaa

Thats probably the main problem I have with them, I just don't like melodic death metal much, I prefer my DM filthy and brutal.

Fair enough. I like filthy and brutal DM as well, but there's only so much filth & brutallity u can take before it starts to sounds the same. You need a bit of melody to change it up I reckon.

2 True Blues

that should be interesting. one of my favourite songs

Mate this album I mentioned has been out for several years now. Not sure who is on this NEW one though.

But will be buying it in anycase. Have every album Maiden ever did and then some mate. Double up on the good ones, with Records and tapes as well.

Top and underated band.

Tunguska

Track listing:

01. BLACK TIDE - Prowler
02. METALLICA - Remember Tomorrow
03. AVENGED SEVENFOLD - Flash Of The Blade
04. GLAMOUR OF THE KILL - 2 Minutes To Midnight
05. COHEED AND CAMBRIA - The Trooper
06. DEVILDRIVER - Wasted Years
07. SIGN - Run To The Hills
08. DREAM THEATER - To Tame A Land
09. MADINA LAKE - Caught Somewhere In Time
10. GALLOWS - Wrathchild
11. FIGHTSTAR - Fear Of The Dark
12. MACHINE HEAD - Hallowed Be Thy Name
13. TRIVIUM - Iron Maiden
14. YEAR LONG DISASTER - Running Free
15. GHOSTLINES - Brave New World

SpaceMonkey

So it's the usual tribute album with 2 or 3 big names and a bunch of nobodies then.... hopefully it turns up on iTunes and I can just buy the tracks I'm interested in.

2 True Blues

Lol CDs still a bit too high-tech for you? :lol:

Nah. It's just that when I followed them in my teenage years they had not invented CD's yet mate. Think about it !!!

I as such had to buy records and tapes. Then CD's were invented, so as I liked Maiden so much I bought the cds of the tapes and records that I already owned.

PS... Got it. ?? ;-):lol:

2 True Blues

Track listing:

01. BLACK TIDE - Prowler
10. GALLOWS - Wrathchild

Track 2 should be interesting played by metallica.

f**k I hope Motorhead dont f**k up "Hallowed Be thy name". One of my favourite Maiden songs.

Motorhead were involved in ' The Trooper, fear of the dark and others on that other tribute album I mentioned as well.

Will be worth a look for sure mate. Thanks for the tip.

Scorpio30

Track 2 should be interesting played by metallica.

f**k I hope Motorhead dont f**k up "Hallowed Be thy name". One of my favourite Maiden songs.

Motorhead were involved in ' The Trooper, fear of the dark and others on that other tribute album I mentioned as well.

Will be worth a look for sure mate. Thanks for the tip.

Here is another tip...Machine Head not Motorhead :p

Trollhammaren

I've seen a clip of Metallica do 'Remember Tomorrow' and it was pretty good, however, it was from 1992 when Hetfield's voice was more suited to it. I really dislike a few of those bands on that cd ala. Trivium and Devildriver, but I'd be keen to hear a few of the others.

Track listing:

01. BLACK TIDE - Prowler
10. GALLOWS - Wrathchild

Some interesting picks there...

2 True Blues

The other albums have had mixed artists from differing bands playing together etc. This one appears to be the other band as a whole then, playing each song etc.

Song 2 should be interesting IMO....