Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News Michael Maguire sacked by Wests Tigers

He brought a well underperforming bunnies side deep into the finals in his first year.

He had a unique training regime, including the players playing a softer form of the actual game for 100 minutes plus. That was designed to combat late game fatigue in actual games and also to build up their muscles that are pertinent to actual play.

There is no need to build up your earlobe muscles if you are defending in your red zone.

The Rabbitohs had been reputedly trying to sign him up since May when it was apparent he could coach and he held out and got the go ahead from the Broncos big boys.

it was his dream and probably all of the information he had, all of it, suggested that it was going to work out for him. The keys to Brisbane and the Stinger car they gave him.

But he didn’t reckon on player and old boy unrest. He was consistently undermined. He had a disinterested senior group. He met with them every week ( there’s a doco about it) and his plan went in one ear and out the other.

He had too many bush fires to put out instead of the unqualified support he was promised.

He had Wayne and Kevin piling into him in rearguard actions.

I think he once famously said that he should have stayed at Souths, but hindsight is so easy.

I think he was disappointed that his backers at the broncos were displaced too.

As for the non game related personal attacks, especially against his innocent family, that was outrageous.

He said he was fair game but not his family.

it reminded me of people criticising Cameron Smiths wife when she got a prize. It wasn’t her idea. I’m not a Cameron Smith person because he is boring to me. But I have no issues with him doing his thing and best of wishes for his wife.

Billy slaters wife, she is an excellent person. She gets on the web and shares stuff with us filth! My partner has chatted to her about a shared hobby. No footy lol. She doesn’t have a single arrogant bone in her body 👍

I was going to add brother @Colk that I whilst appreciate he needed the sponsors Korean car, the superior option is always embodied in those built in Japan.

They build Lexuses in the US but even if I lived there, I would import one from the land of the rising Sun.

Colk

I was going to add brother @Colk that I whilst appreciate he needed the sponsors Korean car, the superior option is always embodied in those built in Japan.

They build Lexuses in the US but even if I lived there, I would import one from the land of the rising Sun.

They build everything well over there. We should be in partnership with the Japanese to build our transport networks for example.

So happy that they are opened back up as well. Can’t wait to go back over there. Fascinating country

They build everything well over there. We should be in partnership with the Japanese to build our transport networks for example.

So happy that they are opened back up as well. Can’t wait to go back over there. Fascinating country
I’m very jealous!

I borrowed a vw recently, had it for six weeks.

* 2008 model is rusting
* Front headlight bulb blew
* the sensor for the passenger seatbelt goes off when you put a cup on it,
* fabric peeling off doors
* oil guzzler
And then the master cylinder surrendered because it has a known fault. Very dangerous. Weirdo internal issue. I mean it must have taken those engineers an enormous amount of time to design something so bad and life threatening.

And no gentle warning, no dash light, just an atom of braking power left in half a second. I was furious.

chugs like a Leyland.

Versus

My old Japanese built Lexus in 4 years of ownership, needed in that period of running:

4 new tyres, smooth, everything else works as intended as when it first drove off the production line!

Colk

I’m very jealous!

I borrowed a vw recently, had it for six weeks.

* 2008 model is rusting
* Front headlight bulb blew
* the sensor for the passenger seatbelt goes off when you put a cup on it,
* fabric peeling off doors
* oil guzzler
And then the master cylinder surrendered because it has a known fault. Very dangerous. Weirdo internal issue.

chugs like a bus.

Versus

My old Japanese built Lexus in 4 years of ownership, needed in that period of running:

4 new tyres.

You’ve never been to Japan mate? Definitely recommend you to go if you haven’t. Amazing country and their people are probably the most hospitable that I have come across

Not surprising mate although Toyota had a manufacturing problem recently. Generally though their cars work like a charm

You’ve never been to Japan mate? Definitely recommend you to go if you haven’t. Amazing country and their people are probably the most hospitable that I have come across

Not surprising mate although Toyota had a manufacturing problem recently. Generally though their cars work like a charm
No I’ve been to China and stuff, but not Japan.

It’s on my bucket list!

Toyotas are very good cars. I’ve got one of those as well as the Lexus. I’ve owned a lot of cars, mostly from Japanese companies.

China is interesting. Massive difference between the rural areas and the urban areas
Definately. Massive internal issues that we never hear about. The government getting more involved in the market in recent years. Difficult country to manage.

On the friendliness front, good and bad like here. No real difference. I liked the night dancing and everything open at 11pm where I went. No trouble or crime issues during my experience. Beautiful art etc. Can of Coke 30 cents aud. Big breakfast for $3.50

We tried mystery meals at local shops. Still don’t know what we ate. When in Rome…

Colk

Definately. Massive internal issues that we never hear about. The government getting more involved in the market in recent years. Difficult country to manage.

On the friendliness front, good and bad like here. No real difference. I liked the night dancing and everything open at 11pm where I went. No trouble or crime issues during my experience. Beautiful art etc. Can of Coke 30 cents aud. Big breakfast for $3.50

Yeah the food and drink was really good and obviously really inexpensive. The people in the country were very nice; obviously you have to speak a little Mandatin to get by.

If you ever go to Japan, I really recommend you going to Nara and Kyoto. Nikko Valley as well. Their countryside is really beautiful so obviously with the trains as they are you can go on little trips to places outside of capital cities pretty quickly. Be prepared to carry a lot of cash because some shops and restaurants don’t allow payment by card. Also be careful with your expenses when you go out (probably drink out less and buy alcohol etc from convenience stores)

Yeah the food and drink was really good and obviously really inexpensive. The people in the country were very nice; obviously you have to speak a little Mandatin to get by.

If you ever go to Japan, I really recommend you going to Nara and Kyoto. Nikko Valley as well. Their countryside is really beautiful so obviously with the trains as they are you can go on little trips to places outside of capital cities pretty quickly. Be prepared to carry a lot of cash because some shops and restaurants don’t allow payment by card. Also be careful with your expenses when you go out (probably drink out less and buy alcohol etc from convenience stores)
Yep, I was fully chaperoned by family friends living there

But excellent advice that I will pass onto them ( they will smile at my cheek!)

Just getting back to those German engineers, spending a year in the VW Munich Brake master cylinder institute. Everyone has 2 doctorates and there’s a Nobel prize winner in quality control.

And someone receives the calculations from Bremen, party sourced from the LHC and they build this Frankenstein monstrosity of a braking system with defies all known laws of Physics.

And not only does it fail, it fails without warning and has probably killed people.

versus Toyota and Lexus

Akira: “ let’s keep it simple and toughen up the plastic”

And the thing works perfectly 59 years later.

Colk

Yep, I was fully chaperoned by family friends living there

But excellent advice that I will pass onto them ( they will smile at my cheek!)

Just getting back to those German engineers, spending a year in the VW Munich Brake master cylinder institute. Everyone has 2 doctorates and there’s a Nobel prize winner in quality control.

And someone receives the calculations from Bremen, party sourced from the LHC and they build this Frankenstein monstrosity of a braking system with defies all known laws of Physics.

And not only does it fail, it fails without warning and has probably killed people.

versus Toyota and Lexus

Akira: “ let’s keep it simple and toughen up the plastic”

And the thing works perfectly 59 years later.

Haha that’s cool you have been given that advice. It’s good to be prepared before you go to any country. You should get them to teach you some Japanese as well (if you don’t know any already)

Wow you worked in Munich. That’s a really interesting experience. Did you pick up any German btw? The problem with speaking German over there is because they speak such good English they never want to speak German with you.

It’s surprising about your story considering the image and reputation of the Germans. I have heard similar stories about European made vehicles in general though. In any case, I have no idea about engineering and mechanics at all so I’ll defer to your judgement, knowledge and experience on those matters.

Haha that’s cool you have been given that advice. It’s good to be prepared before you go to any country. You should get them to teach you some Japanese as well (if you don’t know any already)
Wow you worked in Munich. That’s a really interesting experience. Did you pick up any German btw? The problem with speaking German over there is because they speak such good English they never want to speak German with you.

It’s surprising about your story considering the image and reputation of the Germans. I have heard similar stories about European made vehicles in general though. In any case, I have no idea about engineering and mechanics at all so I’ll defer to your judgement, knowledge and experience on those matters.

Thank you.

Alas I am hobby mechanic with very little knowledge of the optimum material existence of a Master Cylinder.

But otherwise some experience in brake failure, having owned vehicles manufactured by General Motors.

Munich is on the old bucket list as well.

There’s a family history of two of my ancestors meeting in battle on the Somme.

And the good fortune of both surviving!

As I told @soc123_au once, they happened upon each other in the foggy haze with the same frightened countenance, winked, took aim at each other’s leg for grazing purposes and spent the rest of the war to end all wars, recuperating behind the lines, chasing nurses and banging it on when the doctors appeared.

One got a Victoria cross and was sent home to blighty for being rude.