Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mickey Witt

I was just thinking about something the other day.

A few people say how Player X is better than Witt, or how "I would choose Player W over Witt at halfback because he isn't as raw and is better."

But I pose this question: when did Michael Witt this year ever have complete control of the match? When he partnered Morris, Morris gave him plenty of control, but Morris took full responsibility in togher matches.

When Dykes returned and played great footy, Dykes controlled things.

So essentially, apart from our matches against Souths and Cronulla both games which we dominated, Witt never had the sort of responsibility required to control things at halfback.

Maybe it was because he didn't get involved enough. Whatever the reason.

What I am saying is this: if Witt can gather enough confidence next year to try things and get more involved, he may well be our best prospect at halfback. PLus we can't really say that Thorman is better - although Thorman is a great player, he is older and has more experience and thus confidence in his abilities. If Mick can gather enough courage and get involved, then we can say whether or not he is our best.

And I for one think next year he'll be twice the player he was this year, with a full off season and a full year to play.

I can't say I would like to be 19 yrs old and have to come into a team and control blokes like Caylo, Wagon, Hindmarsh and Lyon who have played for their country.

I have watched him quite a few times- in particular the lower grades when he was first coming through. He is very tough, and as witnessed in the game against Souths has a good step and strength to break tackles. He is a particularly good organiser and once he has played more than just a few games with Dykes I think they can provide a scrumbase combination we have lacked since Sterlo and Bert. They started to look particularly good against Brisbane.

Thorman is a good player. However as I have said before I think he will make a good impact player who can give Morris a break or take on the forwards when they are tired the way Dunley did. From what I have seen Thorman is fantastic out of dummy half and has more than enough skills to make a huge impact in a rotation with Morris. The fact he can play 5/8 and half is also a huge benefit.

Exactly, mate.

All I'm saying is:

1.) Witt did NOTHING wrong (he wasn't spectacular, but he can work on that), so why drop him?

2.) He hasn't reached his full potential; he needs to get more involved.

3.) Thorman hasn't played any NRL footy.

So how can people claim Thorman is a better player (he may well be, but until Thorman proves himself in the NRL and Witt realises his full potential, I don't think it is right to judge just yet)?

Dykes and Witt started looking very good at the end of the year (and I for one think that if we just needed to beat Penrith to make the 8, instead of beating them by 28, we could have made it), and that is a positive sign.

But I think Witt is our number one halfback. The great thing with Thorman is (if he's as good as we all hear him to be) that he can play 5/8, halfback or hooker. So he is very versatile.

Imagine if we had Thorman, Dykes and Witt on at one stage, and Morris, Dykes and Witt on at another - WOW! Playmakers galore!

The thing I find extremely funny is at the start of last year most people were calling for Michael Witt to be brought up to first grade because Green wasn't cutting it. Injuries forced Smith's hand and every person on this and the official forum were happy. Now we have the call to drop him?

:roll:

Hmmmm..... I remember that Sterlo played a handful of games in 79 and 80 but I don't think Jack would not have not played him at the start of 81 just because he wanted him to develop in reserve grade first!

:?

Exactly. But despite all the playmakers in our squad, it will count for nothing if our forwards don't step up and lay the platform!

I don't think it is up to Witt or Thorman or whoever to "control" the pack. They are big enough, old enough and (hopefully) hungry enough to be in control of their own performances. Sure the playmakers can direct them in attack, but the forwards have to dominate (or at least equal) opposition packs.

I can't remember us doing this very satisfactorly at all in 2003. That's where the fear begins - look at the Kiwis vs Aus test. Toward the end of that game guys like Ricko, Fitzgibbon, Mason didn't want to even tackle or take the ball up, because the Kiwis pack had them scared/hurt.

If the Eels can do this, Witt, Thorman, Morris and even Dykes will have a field day!

Freak

Im not sure if I have heard of too many people calling for the dropping of Michael Witt! :roll:
It's great that we have signed a committed POM in Thorman, however his contract is for only 1 year at this stage and you can be for sure and certain that M Witt is our number one pick in the number 7 jersey in 2004.
There is no doubt he can improve and I am for sure he will. He certainly has the passion to succeed, but now we need him to find the confidence and that winning edge that all good successful halfbacks have.

Here is a list of things I think he needs to work on in the off season.
1. Size - Would love to see him put on 5 to 10kg
2. Passing left handed. Big query this year. (A massive reason why Lyon did not see any ball!!!!!!!!)
3. Off the mark speed - Sure he has a great step, but would love to see him that little bit quicker.

He he can improve these 3 little things he has the potential to be a superstar!!!

thedux

Not sure who has been calling for Witt's head? I thought it was the ONE thing that most Eels supporters were willing to agree on and that was that M.Witt was the future of the team. Besides, Thorman is another 5/8th who can play half but then so can Morris and Dykes. Witt will be the starting half and we will see some rotation as in 2001. The key aspect for any of these players will be to get Jamie the ball as much as possible. That is the one aspect of Dunley's game we might miss!!!

thedux said:
Not sure who has been calling for Witt's head? I thought it was the ONE thing that most Eels supporters were willing to agree on and that was that M.Witt was the future of the team. Besides, Thorman is another 5/8th who can play half but then so can Morris and Dykes. Witt will be the starting half and we will see some rotation as in 2001. The key aspect for any of these players will be to get Jamie the ball as much as possible. That is the one aspect of Dunley's game we might miss!!!

If you have a read of the Thorman in EnglandA Side thread there are a few calling for his head.

Nikki

I believe Mick should retain his spot over Thorman. He has earnt it. But until I see Thorman actually play that is going to be my way of thinking. I reckon Mick stepped up well this year. It must have been very daunting for him to do what he did and besides a couple of shaky games at the start he took to the team with a great deal of maturity and did the job well. Hmm... Maybe that could be his problem. Showed too much promise, Smithy wont like that :roll:

half

never let reason get in the way of smithy bashing

if he wasn't in our plans, i doubt we would've signed him for 4 years

Nikki

Dont get me wrong I love Mick and the fact that we have signed him for 4 years. Just wished we coulda kept it a duo with his bro. I have been watching Mick since he first came to Parra and I know the talent and potential that he will offer this club.

Pazza

Witt is still very young, Very little first grade experiance and behind a forward pack that wasn't matching it with the best in the comp.

I think it is better for the club to keep the same halfback over a long period of time rather than chopping every year like we have been for the past few seasons. I think this will be the first time that Parra have gone into the next season with the same half back than the pervious season since 1999-2000 with David Penna.

Even if Witt might not be a dynamic halfback but was John, Sherwin, Gower, Kimmorley like that in there first few games of first grade?

Ron Jeremy

Colonel Eel said:
I can't say I would like to be 19 yrs old and have to come into a team and control blokes like Caylo, Wagon, Hindmarsh and Lyon who have played for their country.

I have watched him quite a few times- in particular the lower grades when he was first coming through. He is very tough, and as witnessed in the game against Souths has a good step and strength to break tackles. He is a particularly good organiser and once he has played more than just a few games with Dykes I think they can provide a scrumbase combination we have lacked since Sterlo and Bert. They started to look particularly good against Brisbane.

Thorman is a good player. However as I have said before I think he will make a good impact player who can give Morris a break or take on the forwards when they are tired the way Dunley did. From what I have seen Thorman is fantastic out of dummy half and has more than enough skills to make a huge impact in a rotation with Morris. The fact he can play 5/8 and half is also a huge benefit.

Dykes will remain 5/8 unless injured!!....i think Brian has shown alot of faith in Dykes & i don't expect anything to change next year....so that rules out Thorman for 5/8!!

The battle will be for the half back spot which i personally like it to go to Thorman.

Regardless if Thorman is in Super League...London came 6 this year & all of those sides above him are just as competitive as any NRL side!!....it's just the bottom half of the Super League which gives the game over there a bad name!!

Thorman has really impressed me this year when viewing him!!...not in the games against lower sides but?? the big games...like when London beat Bradford at Bradford or the SOO game where he was Man of the Match when he came in as a late inclusion....it's obvious he's a big game player who can step up for the big games!!...this is a great trait to have where as the only game Michael Witt stepped up in was against Souths who coincidently finished with 3 wins for the years.

As i've said previously i don't think Witt is a bad player!!....i think he will be magnificant for us in the future & possibly future question as he has shown great maturity & aggresivness for such a age against some of the best competition there is...however??...i feel Witt isn't the gun that he is made out to be just as yet & still needs alot more time before he has truley established his spot...this is where i feel Thorman would be the better choice in the position as he's such a positive player & doesn't hold back anything.

I must admit though im warming to colonel's idea of him being used as a interchange hooker eg Dunley like ;-) ....he is great out of dummy half.

So we agree?

I too think the number 7 jersey is Michael's. And I also agree in order for him to control the game better our forwards need to dominate. [At present, I am not 100% certain we can do it].

In the offseason and with a complete yeaqr under him, Mick will bloom into the great player we all know he is.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
Just to throw my 2cents in...
I think Mick struggled because we were having such a bad season.
In Divvy, he was in a team that was rockin up huge scores week after week and he was shining.
He hits Grade, we get rolled by the Roosters in his first game,
then add that loss to the Warriors, which (and as much as i am a HUGE supporter of his, since forever) which he could have won for us...
and a guy like him, starts to blame himself, worries its all his fault, "if greeny were here this could be different...."
He strikes me as a guy to take losses very hard, so a season like one just passed probably had a huge effect on his form. :-k

MR GEORGE

m witt went very well for us and should start the season at half let thorman fight his way in the side besides isn't thorman a five eighth.

Ron Jeremy

MR GEORGE said:
m witt went very well for us and should start the season at half let thorman fight his way in the side besides isn't thorman a five eighth.

No Thorman is a half however he can play 5/8/hooker & i think even abit of fullback?

Witt done ok in his first year....but i'll be expecting more consistency of him next year as he'll be exposed to more game time.

Pazza

Thorman at fullback, that is interesting. We dont have a Established number 1 for next year.

Freak said:
Here is a list of things I think [Witt] needs to work on in the off season.
1. Size - Would love to see him put on 5 to 10kg
2. Passing left handed. Big query this year. (A massive reason why Lyon did not see any ball!!!!!!!!)
3. Off the mark speed - Sure he has a great step, but would love to see him that little bit quicker.

Lyon did not see any ball in the start of the year with Dykes at 5/8! This situation only improved when Morris was moved to 5/8 and Witt came into the team. I have no concerns with Witt's ball distribution, and believe with Witt/Morris/Webster or Dunley it became a lot better than it was with Green/Dykes/Morris.

Some people say that Witt only had a few good games against lowly teams, but when you look at Dykes, he only had two decent games all year - the last couple. The rest of the time you wouldn't have fed him! I'd be more confident of Witt firing next year (even though he's young) than Dykes (who has been getting by on reputation). Throw Thorman in the mix, and the playmakers look ok...