Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

more good oil- T.Smith is being chased hard by the dogs and.

strider said:
Jake the snake said:
Vaeleki is overrated and is too slow for a 3/4. And has no idea in defence, the funny thing is i was saying this last year when we had Tonga but nobody caredless.

Lets not make the same mistake with TIM SMITH!!!!!!!!!

Vaealiki is a very good player - injurys and sh*t parra performances in recent times haven't given him the opportunity to shine....even everyone's lover-boy Jamie Lyon looked pretty crap last season the way we were playing.

Tonga might score more tries than Vaealiki, but Vaealiki will save plenty more than Tonga ever could.

Argue whatever you like Strides, but if you took a poll on this site on who we should have kept, I know who would win.

Y2Eel

brain is looking for a quick fix to rectify his coaching carrer but when the fans really want to see a youngster who came through the ranks to run out there as our half... its prob the best thing for smithy to do is sign tim smith...

Suitman said:
strider said:
Jake the snake said:
Vaeleki is overrated and is too slow for a 3/4. And has no idea in defence, the funny thing is i was saying this last year when we had Tonga but nobody caredless.

Vaealiki is a very good player - injurys and sh*t parra performances in recent times haven't given him the opportunity to shine....even everyone's lover-boy Jamie Lyon looked pretty crap last season the way we were playing.

Tonga might score more tries than Vaealiki, but Vaealiki will save plenty more than Tonga ever could.

Argue whatever you like Strides, but if you took a poll on this site on who we should have kept, I know who would win.

Oh yes......the hindsight GENIUSES strike again!!!

Take the poll last year when Tonga decided to leave, not long after his dismal performance against the Raiders where the raiders scored 20 odd points down his side of the field, and as Jake the Snake has already said "nobody cared less".

Tonga has done a great job this season - good luck to him - yeah its really shit that Jamie didn't have his brain explossion 8 months earlier cos we'd still have Tonga right now!

GAME FIRST

Strider , Lolesi played winger for most of his time at canberra- do you follow the game or what?

Anyway, i dont treat morons like you nice as your facts are wrong and you have no knowledge but i love your opinions keep them coming boy as that shows heart and guts!

Put Vaeliki on the market and we will see how many clubs chase him - thats the true test of who is the better player- Tonga wins hands down and he is young!!!

Also, if you think parras form stopped Vaeliki showing his true talent and form look at Hindi this year- he needs noone to play well and still stands out and chases the ball in attack and defence!!!

Y2Eel u have it the nail on its head there is nothing like youngsters coming through the ranks and taking u all the way. Just ask Newcastle Fans about Andrew Johns.

We have tried and failed to buy premierships before, but when a whole bunch of good players come through together just as we are seeing with the likes of:

Afamasaga
Mateo
T Smith
B Smith
Huaraki
Cordoba
Anderson
Hayne
Blake Green
Hinchcliff
Delaney

These are theguys that will strike combinations. And I can tell u now that Feleti and Tim Smith had a great understanding in the Jersey Flegg, U had to see it to believe it.

GAME FIRST

Well written Jakey- you are on fire son- everything you say i am agreeing with -are you sur you dont live in Chiswick?

Only joking! :clap: :D :D

GAME FIRST said:
Strider , Lolesi played winger for most of his time at canberra- do you follow the game or what?

Anyway, i dont treat morons like you nice as your facts are wrong and you have no knowledge but i love your opinions keep them coming boy as that shows heart and guts!

Put Vaeliki on the market and we will see how many clubs chase him - thats the true test of who is the better player- Tonga wins hands down and he is young!!!

Also, if you think parras form stopped Vaeliki showing his true talent and form look at Hindi this year- he needs noone to play well and still stands out and chases the ball in attack and defence!!!

Mate I don't plan on getting into a slanging match with you...all I'll say is you are so blinded by your own opinions that you can't even read....

I said:
he has played plenty of centre for the Raiders i nthe past

not:
GAME FIRST said:

Call me whatever names you want - I don't really give a shit - I have an opinion and I will say it.

GAME FIRST

Well said strider- but obviously you think Vaealiki is better than Tonga or was better --like Smithy- but i have said all along during last year that Tonga was special enough to keep without any doubt!!
My brother and i watched nearly all the premier league games and he killed all opponents.
He played on bad defensive game when Phil Graham ran around him on 3-4 occassions and he looked lost- dont know what happened but Smithys coaching structure i think might have not suited him as he is very structured for right centre defence- he basically gets the line straight and together without allowing flexibilty in going up faster and any angle- too technical for now- but trust me that all his centres play rigid set defence- not good for mine!

Jake the snake said:
Y2Eel u have it the nail on its head there is nothing like youngsters coming through the ranks and taking u all the way. Just ask Newcastle Fans about Andrew Johns.

We have tried and failed to buy premierships before it happens when a whole bunch of good players come through together just as we are seeing with the likes of:

Afamasaga
Mateo
T Smith
B Smith
Huaraki
Cordoba
Anderson
Hayne
Blake Green
Hinchcliff
Delaney

These are theguys that will strike combinations. And I can tell u now that Feleti and Tim Smith had a great understanding in the Jersey Flegg, U had to see it to believe it.

I'd love to see Parramatta have some great success with a bunch of juniors coming through the ranks.....it'd be 2001 all over again....but unfortunately the NRL is changing and its damn hard to keep all your juniors.....ALSO, I believe it takes a period of poor results to get to a point of hte juniors clicking and going all the way.

Penrith are a great example of keeping the juniors together for a long period - they had a very rough trot, but the young guys got experience and put together with a few old heads from other clubs (Sattler, Priddis, Lang) they won the ultimate prize....its a bit of a fairy tale tho....I'm sure Parra fans would like nothing better - me included.

Newcastle on the other had are an example of a team falling apart because they went no where but with their juniors....they have not bought anything substantial from outside the club for years - they have been hit by injuries and are falling apart at the seams.

I want Parra to retain Tim Smith and all the other guys, but we have to get a few quality outsiders in also.

Seriously guys no need for the names as we are on the same side so relax.

Game First I live In Merrylands (Gods Country ;-) )

I can tell that you know our Juniors pretty well and u know who the bludgers are. I could make a list of who Parra need to cut because of the nature of some of the groupies on this page I wont.

Anyway Lets hope that BRIAN SMITH resigns TIM SMITH whatever it takes.

GAME FIRST

I think everyone has good juniors but they seem to identify and keep the right ones!
If Merrylands is gods country then Chiswick is Aussies version of MONACO! :D :clap: :D

Jake as we have read previously, Brian Smith returns emails. Surely someone in this forum has his email and can email and ask him about Tim Smith et al. And I need a certain answer re: Grothe. (Otion or no option for next year)

Avenger,

Nobody knows the bloody email.

Can someone email the damn coach and ask them about these Issues please.

Wasn't there supposed to be a fans forum were they could ask the coach questions just like last year.

eels_fan

he's in the phone book...last name Smith...at 25c a pop it wont cost you more than say .. hmm.. $100 to call every Smith looking for the right one...even if he's not listed .. one of em gota know him!

Misty Bee

I'm more concerned by the fact that Smith has not had a first grade taste, because others sniffing around can offer that as part of the deal. Tim Smith would certainly not be the only young superstar to play grade as a nipper. Freddy Fittler springs to mind.

Parra will only keep him if Parra can offer him a decent future. Signing 2 5/8's to clog the path in front of him was not a good pointer, but a taste of first grade would be a great start.

RE Tonga, no one would have preferred him over Vaealiki when he left. It was never Tonga v Vaealiki. It was Tonga v Paterson/Graham/Prince/Burt for the centre spot IF Lyon and Vaealiki got injured. Tonga was not automatically the third option. At Canterbury he woulod definitely be in the centre trio with only Lolesi and Harris. Big difference.

The other way of looking at it is that Tonga, as well as Langi, O'Dwyer, Burt, Anderson and Graham have all been given a decent go in firsts because opportunities have presented themselves. One has been a massive success and hjagged an Origin gig. The others have been average. Guess which one was not in Eels colours this year!

Tonga got better certainty of future at Canterbury - at worst he was centre no. 3 guaranteed - only needing to wait for the inevitable injury to open the door for him. We need to give Timmy Smith this same type of assurance.

I'm an advocate of 'if the kid's good enough, he's old enough'. With Dykes and Wagon beside him, he'd learn heaps and get a decent transgression without having the playmaker pressure thrust upon him that Witty had.

I'd hate to see him leading the Dogs or Manly to a GF in 2006 because Brian Smith dithered in 2004.

strider said:
Suitman said:
strider said:
Jake the snake said:

Oh yes......the hindsight GENIUSES strike again!!!

Take the poll last year when Tonga decided to leave, not long after his dismal performance against the Raiders where the raiders scored 20 odd points down his side of the field, and as Jake the Snake has already said "nobody cared less".

Tonga has done a great job this season - good luck to him - yeah its really sh*t that Jamie didn't have his brain explossion 8 months earlier cos we'd still have Tonga right now!

Your'e right about the sook Lyon. No one could have predicted that.
Hindsight is an amazing thing, and there are plenty of things I have got wrong in the past, but Veaeliki over Tonga wasn't one of them.
I haven't liked what Veaeliki has done since 2001, as I haven't Vella.
Trust me, they will do bugger all with the rest of their Parramatta careers.