Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

More mud from Jacquelin Magnay and Jessica Halloran

Tokyo_Raider

Typical mysoginst crap from supporters. A woman was sexually assualted - there seems no doubt about that. How about some support for the victim?????

ibeme

Tokyo_Raider said:
Typical mysoginst crap from supporters. A woman was sexually assualted - there seems no doubt about that. How about some support for the victim?????

Unfortunately, we can't change what's happened. I don't know what I can do to support the alledged victim other than to hope she gets all of the support she needs. We can't change what's happened. I f we could, we would. We can only focus on the future.

Parraren

This whole piece of supposed 'journalism' is based purely on stereo-types and generalisations. What an absolute load of rubbish. Here's a perfect example of the majority being painted with the same brush becuase of the acts of a very small minority! But I guess that's what sells papers... :roll:

How can they speculate "Does the club culture in rugby league encourage such behaviour?" Ofcourse it doesn't! All of a sudden they're attempting to paint the whole NRL with the same dirty brush.

The arguments they make regarding the treatment of women in society could be applied to Male culture throughout the world in general for Gods sake. Thats because their arguments are just that, massive generalisations.

This is Year 9 high school level essay writing at best, and it would have red pen marks all over it - 4/10. :roll:

rossy

I think many of you are overlooking the fact that journalists often write about 10% of the information they have. They research these things and often know a great deal more than they are able to publish due to the fact that Australia has the toughest defamation laws in the western world.

Jacqueline Magnay has been a rugby league & general sports writer for a long time so you probably need to consider that her access to the clubs and their players for all journalists is far superior to the general public.

Of course many of you will know, because you do the research, that she was embroiled in controversy a few years back when the players would not allow her into the change rooms because she was a woman journalist, but had no problems with male journos.

My tip? Don't shoot the messenger or the victim. Sometimes where there is smoke there's fire, but as a rugby league fan I hope this is all a false alarm.

rossy

ibeme said:
Tokyo_Raider said:

Unfortunately, we can't change what's happened. I don't know what I can do to support the alledged victim other than to hope she gets all of the support she needs. We can't change what's happened. I f we could, we would. We can only focus on the future.

There is a victim but only an "alledged" group of rapists.

gaterooze

Parraren said:
This whole piece of supposed 'journalism' is based purely on stereo-types and generalisations. What an absolute load of rubbish. Here's a perfect example of the majority being painted with the same brush becuase of the acts of a very small minority! But I guess that's what sells papers... :roll:

That's what my wife keeps telling me (she won't even read the trash).

burley griffin

I totally agree with Magnay and Halloran 100%. I think there is a serious problem in every all-male team sport, and i think league should take the lead in countering this problem.

And the solution is not in more lectures - as if the players are going to listen (clearly they already don't). I remember shane warne at the height of the drug scandal relating how he never listened at those educational lectures.

I reckon the solution is 2 fold. I think the players need to spend more time around women, women that they will learn to respect. For example, female physios, doctors, trainers, front office staff. What's more, i think wives of players, coaches and trainers should be encouraged to travel with the players on training camps and long away trips.

The second part of the solution requires a huge culture shift across the whole game of rugby league. The fact is, league teaches boys and men to treat women as sex objects. Cheergirls, the footy show etc just perpetuate this culture, and it is a culture that ends in rape allegations against players.

If you were at the 7s, you would have seen it in action. In the inter-game entertainment, if you won the competition, you could get your photo taken with a cheergirl, the premiership trophy, or a player. Each time the winner chose a cheergirl, the crowd would cheer wildly. Then, when a kid of no more than 12 years old won, he chose to get a photo with a player. The announcer proceeded to spend the next thirty seconds attempting to convince him to change his mind and choose a cheergirl. It was quite disgusting.

Frankly, if i was the kid's mother, i would never take him to a rugby league game again.

You're also a tight-ass who quite clearly believes everything the media feeds him, Mr burley griffin.

I don't doubt that what allegedly happened in Coffs is disgusting and a blight on the sport, but we can't just go "oooh wow" and keep dissecting this issue and getting more and more aggrevated about it.

Secondly, why shouldn't we look at women like that sometimes? They portray us as boofheads and idiots, which if you ask me is just as cruel of a stereotype as the 'dumb blonde' jibe.

You get what you give in this world, and all these two bleeding media vultures are doing is giving it royally to Canterbury and the NRL because they've been scarred somehow. It's always the way.

Leave the NRL alone, leave the Dogs alone, let the police do their thing. Our opinions don't count in this alleged event.

burley griffin

Sorry dodge, but the way i percieve it is that there is a cultural problem in rugby league, that leads to incidents like this. This could potentially be far more destructive for the game than even the Super League war was.

Have a talk to the women that you know, especially the mothers, and see what they think. Would they go and watch a game where it is part of the culture that women are treated like sex-objects? Would they let their kids play in a game where that same culture leads to allegations of sexual assault?

While quite clearly a large minority (probably around 40%) of people in the rugby league community are women, men still dominate, and this is holding the game back. Things have changed over the last generation, it is no longer the father who rules the family and will decide to take his son to the football or enrol him in the local team - more often than not it is the mother nowadays. And a lot of mums will be turned off by the behaviour of the dogs (regardless of what actually happened - it is all being reported).

And before i comment on your "boofheads and idiots" point, i have to say that you are going to have to clarify that one - maybe make it slightly more specific - so i can actually have some sort of an idea about what you are talking about.

PB

You all speak like these two journalists owe rugby league something. They arent the ones committing the crime or indecent acts. The NRL does not pay their wage.

If anything they are trying to do the game a favour. They wrote about it 12 months ago and nothing was done. Perhaps if the NRL and clubs came down tougher, then we wouldnt be here talking about this today. We would be talking about all the new junior players, the wonderful sponsors, and the successful country marketing campaigns. But we're not.

Professionalism is a word that many clubs underestimate, and until they address it, they will end up signing players with no sense of comon decency and an understanding of what is morally acceptable.

ibeme

PB said:
If anything they are trying to do the game a favour. They wrote about it 12 months ago and nothing was done. Perhaps if the NRL and clubs came down tougher, then we wouldnt be here talking about this today. We would be talking about all the new junior players, the wonderful sponsors, and the successful country marketing campaigns. But we're not.

This is a good point. Hopefully it's not too late to learn that lesson now.

iggy plop

I've noticed a trend in Halloran and Magney's work for a while and their blatant contempt for rugby league is obvious. They masquerade as general sports writers, but their agenda is obvious. They push the barrow of AFL at every opportunity whilst denigrating league.

They would be just lapping all this bad publicity for league up. They've teamed up like some sort of twisted sisters to really put the boot in this time.

It's typical of the floating journo at the SMH. Richard Hinds and Fitzsimmons are shockers too.

While the Bulldogs situation is pathetic, I've been wary of Magney and Halloran's anti-league vides for a while now.

Well-known league-haters.

rossy

I'm not to sure about the AFL thing. Jacquelin Magnay is a Sydney girl who went to primary school right on the border of the St George & Canterbury districts, which in the 1970s when she was there was absolute rugby league heartland.

Maybe as a former local she's pretty much disgusted by what went on... And again, there is a pretty good chance that a professional sports writer might have access to more knowledge than a lot of anonymous blokes on web forums, don't you think?

Chook

Ignore these skanks. They have demonstrated nothing but gutter journalism with their pretence of anything bad said about Rugby League must be true and should be reported.

Would these two carrion crawlers be in such a feeder frenzy if this was an afl story? Not likely. They would leaping to that codes defence and watering down any and all accusations.

Don't buy the Sydney Boring Herald or log onto their web site.

Ignoring a journo is the greatest insult you can give them. Ignoring these two faceless shit dribblers should be every league fans' motto.

Chook.

gaterooze

Wasn't Magnay the journo who was barred access to a League club's dressing sheds after the game a few years ago? Maybe this bias stems from there?

btw, despite previous claims from the SMH that eyewitness accounts supported the victim's story, now they admit this:

"There are no eyewitness accounts, which is making it more difficult for the police to corroborate evidence."

Why bother listening to anything they've written? :?

JJ

You guys seem to be getting awfully defensive.

The allegations agains the Bulldog players are very serious - end of story. And quite frankly, the culture in high level male team sports in AUst and NZ is to my way of thinking a big problem.

My acceptance or belief that this is the case, doesn't mean I am anti-league. But, let's be honest, these guys (by and large) are not role models of any sort - they are stupid, egotistical pricks for the most part (that applies to other sports as well).

The Bulldogs have a huge problem on their hands. Obviously if the allegations are true. But beyond that, the idiot that made the comments to the papers... I have no problem with group sex, provided it's consensual. But, to most people this is abnormal behaviour, and to make arrogant stupid comments like that is beyond belief really.

ibeme

iggy plop said:
It's typical of the floating journo at the SMH. Richard Hinds and Fitzsimmons are shockers too.

FitzSimons was on the Backpage last night. I thought he was going to explode with excitement over this mess. Carolyn Seisei (sp?) made a bit of an effort to put him back in her place by stating that it was prevalent in all sports, and when excitedly prompted by FitzSimons to name one, she came up with a few examples from other codes.

What annoyed me most though was that he thought it was his duty to remark on how nobody had come out and offered any sympathy towards the girl. In his pathetic points scoring attempt he failed to do the same thing. He simply used her to score points but didn't offer any condolences of any description. She was more of a trophy to give him gloating rights.

The bloke from the AFL was just as bad. He was confident that nothing of that nature would ever happen in AFL but he wasn't confident enough to say that it had never happened. Caroline Searsey really stuck it to them both......