Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Morris or Sutton?

1eyedeel

I actually said after the Souths vs Parra debacle that I believed the future Australian halves combo would be Smith/Sutton. Nothing that has happened since has made me change my mind and I believe they would be ideally suited to playing next to each other the same way as Joey/Anasta works well.

But I agree with the people who are of the opinion that Smith has done so well because he's had an experienced player next to him. He'll probably benefit from that for another couple of years.

I guess where I've changed my mind over the course of the year, is that while I think Morris is a very good player, I didn't think we could win a premiership with him. I do now, and while I would salivate over the prospect of Sutton/Smith and as I've said I do think it will happen in rep footy in the fure, Morris is probably the better option for the Parramatta club...

Everyone seems to be assuming that Morris is done and dusted. The fact that he has yet to agree to terms and that we were mentioned as being interested in Firman to me, suggests some games are being played... Of all the current squad, he's the one I feel least confident of retaining...

varion

strider said:
All these If this, if that statements???....Sutton aint proved sh*t yet either.

Why do people feel Morris doesn't have "vision"?....The kick he put in for Ben Smith last night was pin point accurate - if Tim Smith or Andrew Johns or Darren Lockyer had done it people would call them gods. ... and Morris has set up HEAPS of trys for us this season - cut out balls, kicks, short balls - he's showing the full repetoire .... who's to say he won't keep improving?

Sutton has proved absolutely nothing. I was using him as comparison of a young player with an abundance of sublime natural talent vs a true tenacious competitor who is playing at a career best level to date.

Didnt want the thread to turn negative - but i guess we can agree to disagree.

I think Morris is great foil for T Smith, but it would be negligent not to question or think about all the options available to us both short term and long term.

I think so far the consensus is Morris MUST be resigned and given Parra have won 6 on the trot i truly cannot complain if Morris signed on the dotted line.

Sterling

Morris any day of the week ..... he and the rest of the eels are only going to get better as the season progresses.

Ron Jeremy

I'm happy with Morris, however Sutton will achieve more in the game, he's a deadset machine, his offloading ability is fantastic, his strength is an asset, he's a class act!

But i'm happy with Morris in saying that.

I reckon Craig Kimmorley sh*ts on both of em though lol

mickdo

strider said:
Why do people feel Morris doesn't have "vision"?....The kick he put in for Ben Smith last night was pin point accurate - if Tim Smith or Andrew Johns or Darren Lockyer had done it people would call them gods. ... and Morris has set up HEAPS of trys for us this season - cut out balls, kicks, short balls - he's showing the full repetoire .... who's to say he won't keep improving?
He's been getting plenty of praise from the media lately, but not from the Sutton lovers in here it would seem :)

Utey

Sutton hasnt done sh*t so far. Pleaseeeeeee! Morris is going great for us and has impressed me muhc more than I thought he would. Johhny aint going nowhere.

Morris for me, he has been a very importatn part of our improvement this year and he is a team player.

For a small bloke I like his defensive technique, which is important in the modern game.

I haven't seen alot of Sutton, but Morris is one of the form 5/8s in the NRL atm.

<UPtheEELS> said:
Sutton reminds me of Mateo, a solid ball runner playing in the halves.

Mateo has nothing onm Sutton at the moment, Sutton is a gun and I'd have him in a wink, the bloke can play in about half a dozen positions in a shot.

Utey

Not saying they are of the same playing calibre but both can play backrow, centre, 5/8. Sutton was excellent against us when we played Souths and one of the reasons we lost that game was because we didnt shut him down. He played a huge game.

number8

Morris has 9 try assists outside a 1/2 with 22+. I think he is going alright & better than a lot of others in the same possy.

I like Sutton & he has a huge future but some players are taylor made to certain roles & styles & Johnny Rotton suits ours. Dykes was 5/8th of the year before comming to us & theoreticaly should have made us a better side.........FLOP.

As good as he is Sutton could not match the service Morris provides us & as someone, no many others have said he is the perfect foil for Smith.

If it ain't broke, leave the fu**ing thing alone!

half

if you were buying a car, what qualities would you look for? i would want a car that's going to last a few years, reasonably priced, reliable with a stylish exterior, cool haircut and phat subwoofer. the car is john morris. think about it

sportive cupid

Sometimes it's the extras that can make a car reallly cool- like paintings on the side ,mettallic paint work and a shiny badge....

number8

What sort of car is Sutton?

Does he have any shiny bits?

I think Morris is a Beamer amoung Beamers & Sutton strikes me as a HQ one toner with a worked V8 & all the extras. He wouldn't fit into our team like morris. He would stand out like dogs nuts in fact & be detrimental to our cohesion.