Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mortimer in no rush for Eels deal

I think all that they are saying in this article really is that they want to see how Daniel is being treated at Parra next year in regards to first grade.

Peter Mortimer is not stupid, he sees that Parra will have a potential embarrassment of riches fighting for a 1st grade jersey in the 6 & 7(kk, Humble, Robson & maybe T Smith) and if for what ever reason Daniel can't get a permanent gig in the top team, they will then maybe look at what is best for young Daniels long term career else where(Bulldogs).

Quite smart really, if I was his dad I would be advising him the same the way, especially since he is playing for the enemy so to speak. But I believe him also when he says that he will ultimately leave it up to Daniel to make the final decision himself where he feels that he will be most happy in the end.

Nah it's just about $$money$$. He has faith in Daniel and they will back his ability to force up the bidding next year.

Adrian Monk

Hope he stays with you guys. From what ive seen he looks a very handy player. The Tim Smith rumours are quite surprising for me. I know its northern England but Tim Smith was awfull for Wigan. His defence was non existant and his kicking game was poor. He was taken out the Wigan first grade squad and replaced with a youngster (Sam Tomkins).

Casper The Ghost

He may be loyal but his father and uncles are also loyal.

Look, Casper maybe right. Tim Smith might get a wenty contract next year as an insurance on Daniel.

By holding off and playing more games next year, his value will definitely go up and that's the real reason, not whether he is happy at Parra coz it seems he is.

How would he know he will be happy at the DOGS?

I think if it was left to Dan, he would stay an eel. But with Steve and Pete in his ear, well, things might change

Agreed, agreed, agreed, but there is also the 2nd year syndrome to consider,....... for Daniel his $$$$$$ go up and up and up if he does not give birth to a 2nd year syndrome.... hence June/July 2010 negotiations, then there is the family spirit at the Eels club,........ who stays?...... who leaves?.... etc etc.

I think the wheels will turn quickly once it's confirmed where Jarryd Hayne is staying/going for the next 3 to 4 years. Many believe that a great dynasty will unfold if Jarryd stays with he Eels = many premierships.

Not disregarding Daniel Anderson & Paul Osborne,...... and yes there are many other VIP Eels players in the club......... but at the moment........ the glue that sticks all current Eels players together is Jarryd.

As I mentioned in other posts months gone past..... lots of Eels players will slice a portion of $$$$$ off their contracts to keep together a family (a squad) of players/teammates who will co-create a golden age for the Eels over the next 10 years or so. For a successful team on the path of glory year-after-year commercial consideration (and long-term community benefits) come in many other forms/ways, not just through NRL contracts.

Boooooooooooooooooo Casper
icon7.gif

Fathead

Well he better not hold the club to ransom too long because Tom Humble IS the real deal, next year Morts might just find that Humble and KK are playing a bit too well.

He could hold off-Play terrible in the first 8 games and than value be peanuts -lol
He hasnt been around long enough to automaticaly pay him big dollars.
I like what ive seen from mortimer-But dont think he has been any more imppressive than KK was when fit and he was playing behind a crap team.Morts still hasnt got a money ball and thats one thing you need in the halves

yy_cheng

He could hold off-Play terrible in the first 8 games and than value be peanuts -lol
He hasnt been around long enough to automaticaly pay him big dollars.
I like what ive seen from mortimer-But dont think he has been any more imppressive than KK was when fit and he was playing behind a crap team.Morts still hasnt got a money ball and thats one thing you need in the halves

He does have the ability to dummy and go his own and score. His kicking game is getting better but he is not irreplaceable.

Freak2

No more talk of the future.

In 52 hours time we have a game that is going to go down in history.

Forget 2010 or player contracts for now. We have a game of footy to win.

IFR33K

I'm not too fussed on Mortz.

Good player but he is not that goood to fight over.

Come on down Humble and there is still a guy called kk and if robson hangs around

NFI???? You mean to tell me, that you wont give a hoot, if Mortimer signs somewhere else. FMD, the guy has exceeded all expectations, from everybody, including his coach, and you believe hes not worth fighting for.

Give yourself a triple.

IFR33K

I think all that they are saying in this article really is that they want to see how Daniel is being treated at Parra next year in regards to first grade.

Peter Mortimer is not stupid, he sees that Parra will have a potential embarrassment of riches fighting for a 1st grade jersey in the 6 & 7(kk, Humble, Robson & maybe T Smith) and if for what ever reason Daniel can't get a permanent gig in the top team, they will then maybe look at what is best for young Daniels long term career else where(Bulldogs).

Quite smart really, if I was his dad I would be advising him the same the way, especially since he is playing for the enemy so to speak. But I believe him also when he says that he will ultimately leave it up to Daniel to make the final decision himself where he feels that he will be most happy in the end.

Ram, you are jumping the gun a fair bit, arent you????

Tim Smith isn't signed (thank God), I don't think Robson has signed yet, and there is no way Humble will be getting a run before Morts next year, unless injury occurs.

If I were Peter, I'd be telling him to stay at the Eels, if they table a reasonable offer. The most scrutinized position on the paddock is half back or five eight, and there will be enormous pressure and expectations on the kid. At Parra, at least he'd be out of the limelight of playing at his fathers and uncles former club.

Casper The Ghost

Originally Posted by yy_cheng
I'm not too fussed on Mortz.

Good player but he is not that goood to fight over.

Come on down Humble and there is still a guy called kk and if robson hangs around

NFI???? You mean to tell me, that you wont give a hoot, if Mortimer signs somewhere else. FMD, the guy has exceeded all expectations, from everybody, including his coach, and you believe hes not worth fighting for.

Give yourself a triple.

Its ALL about ATTITUDE and Daniel Mortimer has bucket loads of it. Its not ALL about $$$$$$ - He just needs time to contemplate, to step back and gather ALL his feelings and thoughts (and rightly so), after such a quick, unexpected, tumultuous, successful rocket launch through the NRL atmosphere.

Good on you Daniel...... You are showing MATURITY well beyond your years and good on you Daniels parents for being part of co-creating this wonderful MAN. What a benefit to the wider community Daniel is, being so mature and wise well beyond his years.

I wish you ONLY the best in whatever you chose to do with your life Daniel and I know that everyone is going to be very fortunate to be touched by you as you continue creating the beautiful MAN that you really are, that you continue growing into.

It's not all about footy....... that's life I am talking about.

Boooooooooooooooo Casper
icon7.gif

IFR33K

Its ALL about ATTITUDE and Daniel Mortimer has bucket loads of it. Its not ALL about $$$$$$ - He just needs time to contemplate, to step back and gather ALL his feelings and thoughts (and rightly so), after such a quick, unexpected, tumultuous, successful rocket launch through the NRL atmosphere.

Good on you Daniel...... You are showing MATURITY well beyond your years and good on you Daniels parents for being part of co-creating this wonderful MAN. What a benefit to the wider community Daniel is, being so mature and wise well beyond his years.

I wish you ONLY the best in whatever you chose to do with your life Daniel and I know that everyone is going to be very fortunate to be touched by you as you continue creating the beautiful MAN that you really are, that you continue growing into.

Boooooooooooooooo Casper
icon7.gif
[/QUOTE]

Who the f**k mentioned $$$$$$

I only said that Morts is worth fighting for, in relation to YY's comment, that hes not worth fighting for.

Casper The Ghost

Boooooooooooooooo Casper
icon7.gif

Who the f**k mentioned $$$$$$

I only said that Morts is worth fighting for, in relation to YY's comment, that hes not worth fighting for.[/QUOTE]

The comment about $$$$$$$ was not addressing something wrong or negative about you or what you said IFR33K!!!!! If I didn't agree specifically about something you stated I would have addressed it accordingly. If we are going to fight for Daniel Mortimer, then lets do it with respect and a loving attitude enriched with a history of recent success/evidence. Lets create a garden full of abundant fruits, blossoms and wonder so Morts has lots to enjoy and appreciate being amongst it. Lets create an example that inspires Morts to greater heights by being part of it. Its ALL in the ATTITUDE!!!!!!

icon7.gif

eels_fan

dude, sometimes you make heaps of sense and you're really insightful

Then you go and get all gay on us with garden beds, love and roses

Booooooo

Casper The Ghost

dude, sometimes you make heaps of sense and you're really insightful

Then you go and get all gay on us with garden beds, love and roses

Booooooo

Depends which gay-----dom you are referencing? I prefer the real world full of life. There is a massive difference between eating freshly picked organic raw-living food and dead, lifeless processed food or between living amongst a garden full of living life-force abundance and a dead soulless city full of skyscrapers and apartment blocks.

The more we disconnect from reality the more we drift away from it and as strangers to reality, we create plays on words like "Gay", suggesting its not cool to be part of reality, to be part of nature anymore.

Peer pressure anyone?

The sheeple do not want us to drift too far away from the herd otherwise those that drift are not cool anymore, are lepers to be avoided, often AT ALL COST. Its sad to think that being part of nature is seen as being a drop out or a space cadet, someone who is irresponsible but if you eat Maccas, drink Coke and watch Neighbours well heyyyy that's cool.....

tv-sunset.jpg

‘The individual is overwhelmed by the magnitude. We have embraced technology and economic systems that are just unfathomable
and massive and all-powerful. I think television is a totally destructive and corrosive medium. People are living lives though television
and films and the media rather than through their own lives. They are not living creatively. They are living reactively and passively
all the time. We feel we need all this stimulation, but in fact we need very little’. – Michael Leunig

Only when the last tree has died and the last river been poisoned
and the last fish been caught will we realise we cannot eat money."

Lima_peak_hours.jpg

http://nospam06.com.au/files/Peak%20Hour%20Traffic%202.jpg

icon7.gif

yy_cheng

Give yourself a triple.

TO be honest. NO, I don't give two hoots.

If he leaves he leaves. FMD.

Are you going to commit suicide if he leaves?

FFS, the list of my recent favourite players are

Judas, Widders, Tim Smith, Tahu

Now, Hayne, FFMM, Mateo.

They leave, life goes on man.

If he stays, I will be delighted but he is a 1st year rookie.

Tim Smith in his first year was more outstanding then Daniel Mortimer.

Go back and watch all the 2005 tapes.

We know what happened afterwards.

You have no idea what will happen to Mortz. He make play this week and get hit again in the same position.

Que Sera Sera.

I think KK would cover what Mortz has done this year.