Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Mortimer is all class

Raudonikis

I think its funny when a thread like this comes up,cos it makes me remember after round 3 i said in here that we have a great future half in waiting and he needs to bought up right away.But so many people here that think they know everything said,nah hes not ready,then when he proved that wrong some said,oh but he wont be up to the weekly grind of NRL.Ahh the clique.so full of knowledge or so full of nothing..Now they all jump on the mortimer is great band waggon..Good for a laugh.

Yes I do, Fee. I think he WILL be something very good for us. But right now he has some flaws in his game. I wouldn't ordinarily point them out but, as usual the media and some of the fans are building this young fellow up. If his name wasn't Mortimer - if it was Smith or Jones or McGooley, he wouldn't be talked up so much. But yes, he is good, and he will get better.

Every halfback in the game has flaws..... there is not one perfect halfback in the NRL and there has never been one perfect halfback in the ARL or NSWRL. There were a number who came close... Sterling, Johns, Billy Smith, Langer.

I don't give two sh*ts what the kids name is.... he has shown a willingness to work hard from the first moment I saw him and that in itself is more than enough for me.

I think its funny when a thread like this comes up,cos it makes me remember after round 3 i said in here that we have a great future half in waiting and he needs to bought up right away.But so many people here that think they know everything said,nah hes not ready,then when he proved that wrong some said,oh but he wont be up to the weekly grind of NRL.Ahh the clique.so full of knowledge or so full of nothing..Now they all jump on the mortimer is great band waggon..Good for a laugh.

Along with a number of people I was one who thought we had someone who was capable of playing well in the NRL however given the form of the top grade side at that point in time was more than happy to play out the season in the NYC before he was put under pressure to perform at the top level. There were a few things that happened to change that - Finch leaving and Keating having his jaw broken namely.

Did he need to be brought up straight away - round 3 or earlier? You could argue quite successfully he may not have performed as well had he been placed amongst the likes of Mateo and Keating - the fact he has come into the team without them around has alowed him to play a more natural role as opposed to third string behind the previous mentioned pair.

The nice thing about Mortimer from what Ive seen, is when we have been dominant he has stepped back, just tackled, passed and made sure things just kept going

When we have been in tight tussles vs Broncos (h), vs Knights (a), he has taken the game by the throat and been involved more and contributed to the wins

Keep in mind he came into the side when we have been playing like busted socks, even then he more than held his own

From last year when we really only had Mateo and Hindy playing consistantly well, its refreshing to see most of the side now play to that level. Makes everyones job easier, especially the halves and us fans :D

Casper The Ghost

Along with a number of people I was one who thought we had someone who was capable of playing well in the NRL however given the form of the top grade side at that point in time was more than happy to play out the season in the NYC before he was put under pressure to perform at the top level.There were a few things that happened to change that - Finch leaving and Keating having his jaw broken namely.

Did he need to be brought up straight away - round 3 or earlier? You could argue quite successfully he may not have performed as well had he been placed amongst the likes of Mateo and Keating - the fact he has come into the team without them around has alowed him to play a more natural role as opposed to third string behind the previous mentioned pair.

Good Post Colonel

Booooooooo Casper
icon7.gif

lingard

Every halfback in the game has flaws..... there is not one perfect halfback in the NRL and there has never been one perfect halfback in the ARL or NSWRL. There were a number who came close... Sterling, Johns, Billy Smith, Langer.

I don't give two sh*ts what the kids name is.... he has shown a willingness to work hard from the first moment I saw him and that in itself is more than enough for me.

If you think I'm knocking the kid, Colonel, then I suggest you read my posts more carefully.

lingard

Yep, you picked it Raudonikis. You were right about him. He hasn't played half-back yet, but it sure looks like like he'll do okay there. I must admit I thought he was more of a six, but I've totally changed my mind. I've seen the light!

If you think I'm knocking the kid, Colonel, then I suggest you read my posts more carefully.

Maybe you should try the same..... you were talking about the main reason he was talked up was only because of his name. I disagree. I'd happily talk him up if his name was McGooley.....

Raudonikis

Along with a number of people I was one who thought we had someone who was capable of playing well in the NRL however given the form of the top grade side at that point in time was more than happy to play out the season in the NYC before he was put under pressure to perform at the top level. There were a few things that happened to change that - Finch leaving and Keating having his jaw broken namely.

I understand what you are saying but that wasnt my point.The point i was making was that its funny how heaps of people bagged me out back then when i knew (and do know) what im talking about.Yet now they are all in love with the kid.I guess this is just the way parra supporters are in here.
Its quite amusing,even if eels dude doesnt have the intelligence to understand what i say.

Fee

He speaks well for a young bloke and did not seem to be worried of over awed about being on tele. I like this kid better every week.:D

caylo

I understand what you are saying but that wasnt my point.The point i was making was that its funny how heaps of people bagged me out back then when i knew (and do know) what im talking about.Yet now they are all in love with the kid.I guess this is just the way parra supporters are in here.
Its quite amusing,even if eels dude doesnt have the intelligence to understand what i say.

Mate you clamied this kid was a super star and should be brought up to origin next year etc etc etc... He looks like a good prospect, just like Lewis, Firman, Head did. There is a long way between being a world beater for 6 weeks and being a world beater for 6 years. Tim Smith looked twice the player Mortz does now when he made his debu and we saw how quick that fell apart.

We have KK and Mortz with the support or Mateo and Hayne, lets just hope that they can work well as a unit and get over this Mortz is the next Sterlo idea. Even if you are right and he becomes one of the best halves to put on an Eels jersey your a nob if you think throwing him into a struggling team 3 weeks into a premiership is the right thing to do.

forward pass

I can't think of a player in our side who speaks better than Morts in interviews. So mature. Certainly speaks better than Caylo, Hindy, Inu and Hayne.

jono

Very impressive TV appearance belying his youth . Did he not say we was also on the Sunday Footy Show?

Yep and yep.

I saw this kid do nothing in the last 10 of the NYC against the Broncs up here to take the game by the scruff of the neck and thought he was miles away from featuring in the NRL. Good to be proved wrong.

A ton of improvement still but signs are promising.