Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Most important thread ever!

Anything that needs a slice of citrus fruit in it to give it its flavour is not beer.

Well that's the thing

That's just a pretentious thing over here...they do it in Mexico to keep the flies off the top of the beer because they wont land on the citrus

Meanwhile posers all around Sydney debate whether or not they need lime in their Corona or if they can settle for lemon. It's a sad, sad state of affairs.
:roll:

Foz

Tooheys New is Value for money. You can have those imported beers as I find most of them cost more and arent worth the change.
Must say I use to like a cold Fosters(in the blue can) but I use to suffer badly from hangovers so I keep coming back to Tooheys New.
As a side note I remember changing to Powers when they sponsored the Sharks. John Lennon had his lost weekend but I can guarantee you I had a lost season when I was on that stuff. It was absolutely disgusting but I drank it because I thought I was supporting the club. I am still contemplating legal action.

imasharkie

PJ said:
Fair enough, I just thouhgt we were talking about beer :)
Just fixed up 3 of those coloured waters, hate to say it mate, but crikey they taste like pretty good beer to me!!

Sharkie73

Like Melstar I like Coopers and Stella. I aquired a tast for stella in Scotland last year :lol: Pints and Pints of it.

Sharkie73

The Beer Prayer

Our lager,

Which art in barrels,

Hallowed be thy drink.

I will be drunk,

At home as in the tavern.

Give us this day our foamy head,

And forgive us our spillages,

As we forgive those who spill against us.

And lead us not to incarceration,

But deliver us from hangovers.

For thine is the beer, The bitter and The lager.

Forever and ever,

Barmen

A couple of things.
Corona is a good beer. For that style. Mexican beers are typically light in body. Tecate, pacifico & dos equis(dos eckys) are very good beers as well. & light.
The lime is to kill the bacteria from contaminated ice & water from the coolers. They will also wipe your bottles on service.

Why is Stella so popular? It's good bet geez it's got liek 10 votes. It's not that good.

& nobody has given their appraisal of the beers & why it's good.

PJ

I've drunk quite a few Mexican beers and don't mind the lighter style at all, particularly in summer. I just find Corona overated, in Australia overpriced and the blandest of those in the style.

Sol is another mexican isn't it?

Stella for mine is a slightly more bitter style of lager, which is what I like and why I drink a Pilsener style whenever I can. It has a good body, great flavour and holds the head well.

I've really gone off the Draught style that is so strong in Australia and have never had the taste for Stouts and the like, with the only exception Guiness in Ireland, and that is superb.

Sol is, & it is muy bueno. But pacifico is my fave mex drop.

Can't handle the thick beers. maybe for a taste, but not for a "drink"

Sharkie73

I don't mind the occasional Guiness night. Oh what the hell I'll drink any beer you put in front of me :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

fos10

Being a Victorian I have a biased opinion towards the almighty CARLTON DRAUGHT, but if you can gets your hands on any try the BOAGS DRAUGHT, slightly better than the Carlton but difficult to buy on the mainland. Oh how I love the rellies everytime a holiday in Tassie is mentioned :alcho:

PJ

I quite like the Sol but will keep an eye out for Pacifico.

If you haven't tried Guiness in Ireland, and you get the chance, do it. It really is different.

Me and 2 mates went for a week and had the obligatory Guiness so we could say we'd done it and then get bakc on the lagers. We were hooked and had our first for the next week by 11am and drank all day. I reckon I put on a stone in a week.
Then when we went back to the UK we had another Guiness and it was back to sh!t.

New is the beer I drink out of the tap but if I had to pick a favourite it would be Hahn Premium. I just love the way it finishes. So crisp. I'll drink just about any beer in the world though. Crownies are the worst for mine, such a crap after taste. Worst for a hangover is a tie between Fosters special and San Miguel pilsener.

Crownies are f**ken shit
I dont know why anyone would pay top dollar for such a shitty beer

If they didnt come in a stupid shaped bottle with a pretty gold label, no one would drink them
f**k they're weak

Quint

ShireShark said:
Crownies are f***en sh*t
I dont know why anyone would pay top dollar for such a shitty beer

If they didnt come in a stupid shaped bottle with a pretty gold label, no one would drink them
f**k they're weak
Damn Right!!!
I like NEW out of the tap and the stubbie,but if i want to treat myself I go THe James Squires amber ale(Mothers Milk),I have also heard good things of a beer called small creatures,brewed in Tassie I think,yet to try it though..

Quint

And another thing that has made me wonder.
Heres my story ,this has happened quite a few times might I add.
I have been on afternoon shift at work(2pm-10Pm),I arrive home at about 10:30 and only have 3 stubbies,the next morning I awake with the filthiest headache as though I have had 16 stubbies,anyway,last night i get home(same time) and have a quiet 9 while watching the (cough) Union,I wakes up this morning right as rain,
It just ain't fare,A bloke tries to do the right thing for his body and gets punished.
He then goes and throws down 9 quick ones and feels on top of the world the next day.
Am I alone here????..please explain....?????

ali

Can't help you there mate. You should be punished for watching that shit though. I went out tonight to a BBQ then lovely Carmens. Had about 8 Bavarias then 3 shouts between 4 blokes as we switched to guns.

Feeling fairly pissed but hopefully will wake up ok tomorrow. At least I was too late for Elevate, otherwise Sunday would have been written off.

Nulla, SS, hopefully all go for next Saturday, as I should have a few guys. (I hope)