Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Moth

simon says

I ask again.....in a new thread.

Will you stop the insults.......and become the voice of the people????

simon says

On the radio with Hughes you sounded like a human being.

On the net you come across as a complete loon.

You have to realise that if want to make waves in a public arena that you have to be squeaky clean......you left yerself open and they got you.

Again I ask.....for the good of the Tigers,will you cease the insults,talk footy,gain the respect of ur peers and become the voice of the people.....the mouth of the south???

They don't want to talk in facts and talk footy simon. Gus Gould did at Monday night and though he cops a lot of flak from everyone I rate him and wok the best commentators in and on the game, with the best knowledge - by a mile. As for being the voice of the fans, my voice isn't lone. There are many many others who feel just as strongly as I do. None of us are rabbiting about anything that is non factual. Each of our criticisms are valid and based on fact only. If enough of us ring up, make the same point, well eventually people will listen. You never know, someone might even grow some balls in the media and get supercoach on to answer some questions.

My ultimate goal is a Q&A with Noyce, Sheens, Simmons, McDonnell where we present facts and facts only and have the issues addressed. We have gone signiifcantly backwards since 05 yet there has been no change in administration, coaching etc. How long does 2005 buy people. Easts punted Stuart and look at them now

simon says

They don't want to talk in facts and talk footy simon. Gus Gould did at Monday night and though he cops a lot of flak from everyone I rate him and wok the best commentators in and on the game, with the best knowledge - by a mile. As for being the voice of the fans, my voice isn't lone. There are many many others who feel just as strongly as I do. None of us are rabbiting about anything that is non factual. Each of our criticisms are valid and based on fact only. If enough of us ring up, make the same point, well eventually people will listen. You never know, someone might even grow some balls in the media and get supercoach on to answer some questions.

My ultimate goal is a Q&A with Noyce, Sheens, Simmons, McDonnell where we present facts and facts only and have the issues addressed. We have gone signiifcantly backwards since 05 yet there has been no change in administration, coaching etc. How long does 2005 buy people. Easts punted Stuart and look at them now

See Moth......you can do it.:crazy:

Agree with you 100% about Wok and Gouldie.

Let this be the dawn of the new MOTH......:clap:

Mish

Would this forum ever be the same if he changed? No way.

A bit of spice and debate heat up this place with his words here, it gets attention. I think I mentioned once before that I was even at work once and overheard people talking about this guy on LU called Moth, I was suprised and had a laugh but he is getting attention, people are talking. He has definately gone too far on many occasions but its getting his point accross.

I have had the first hit up in the set. But others now have to have a run and continue on so it turns into a good set of 6. I can't be expected to be like Steve Price and make 3 hit ups a set. We need good solid meat and potatoes hit up merchants to run hard and have a run. No half arsed Keith Galloway ambles into a set defence. We need bodies in motion and we need at least 1 person a day to get on a radio show and keep the issue there.

The issues go deeper than winning this week or next. It is about the overall progress (or regress) we have made since 2005. I remember a big demo was planned at Tottenham in about 99 against Sugar. The team had been playing like morons and the demo was for the main gates at full time. The team won 7-1 and all was forgotten but the team continued in the same underachieving vain. This is the big danger. It's not about a good win here or there it's about setting and maintaining consistency so that in 5 yrs or 10 yrs we are one of the clubs that everybody says at the start of the year will be a threat

Eddie.

I agree with Simon.

In order to gain any sort of credibility people need to refrain from personally attacking players or making cheap insults. All they do is take away focus and credibility from the facts and issues being presented. Which in this case are very valid facts and issues regarding the state of the club and the slippery slide we seem to be on.

The Nicknames (ie Sizzler) are fine and in my opinion harmless banter, however ranting about Morris's dad as an example is definitely not the right way to go about things, not only does it give people reason to divert from the actual issue, but you lose cred instantly. SOme insults can be funny and without wanting to preach some can probably go a little over board. I think I might of been booted from the Tigers forum a couple of years ago for wishing an injury against Fitzhnery after his stinker against Saints at Telstra. As angry as i was when you think about it, its cringe worthy and in poor taste.

I know the frustration and the emotion of supporting this team and seeing the same mistakes on and off the field over and over again. I’m sure I have said 100 horrible things under my breath berating players during games and people could probably find example where I have been quite heated and borderline insulting after games. However the best way to get your point across and gain support for your opinion is to put them down in a constructive manner. Thus their fiery and heated nature makes you look like a passionate and caring fan rather then a raving lunatic.

I will agree that There is nothing worse then some supporters which live in Pixie land where everything is rosy and at least we are more competitive then Balmain and Wests jibber jabber. The supporters have a right to expect this team, under the same coach for 6 years to have developed into a consistent semi final outfit like most clubs in Sydney.

I 100% agree with some of the facts MOTH has presented regarding coaching, recruitment, selection, retention, media, ego and a lack of answers from out Concord way, and I have aired similar views within the forum in probably the past 12 months. Like I said at the end of last season I think this should of been Sheens last season, a season where he was well and truly on trial. IM still prepared to see how the season pans out although I am far from confident as the same mistakes are being made.

I’m not sure full-scale demonstrations are the way to go at Round 5 of the competition. At this stage I think E mailing Steve Noyce or people at the club or meeting with the club in a sensible manner is the best way to try and get some answers and perhaps put forward some concerns.

Eddie the issue now is that it is simply impossible for Sheens and Simmons to be sacked, no matter how bad we go. By my maths (and I don't think i'm far off):
Sheens - 450k a yr
Simmons - 200k a yr
They each now have 3 yrs left (including this season). To have them sacked tomorrow would cost $2m (give or take). We'd then have to offer a sign on to a new coach then pay him for this yr (say 500-700k). It is now a $3m exercise to replace to employees whose performance is beyond questionable and whom should have been placed on notice after last season's feeble finish.

The most glaring cause for alarm is Sheens and simmons appear to have learned nothing of last season's errors. The defence is as porous as ever. Morris is as out of his depth as ever (even the players know this from something I have been told today). We are again moving our best (and key) players to compensate for this despite sheens saying that wouldn't happen.

Then we have the shannon mcdonnell situation. He has been ordinary in first grade for a 3 from 22 win ratio. Beau Ryan has been excellent for us this season and the reaction to an abject display by the forwards and halves is to drop a winger and replace him with the recruitment manager's son. Now whilst I realise we can't all be coaches and all have opinions on who should be in the side, in the mcdonnell case I am yet to hear of anyone to present a compelling case as to what shannon mcdonnell did to be promoted to first grade. He has been a miserable failure in first grade and let's not pull any punches here, if he was not the recruitment manager's son, he'd be turning out for the Airds Antelopes in the B Grade comp on sunday morning.

Eddie this season was an opportunity to start from scratch with a clean slate, or at least have everyone on notice. A 3 yr contract for sheens and simmons now makes it impossible (or fiscally irresponsible) to have them sacked when their underperformance since 05 should have them on notice at best and at centrelink already at worst

We fans are owed an explanation where we can present facts and have our questions answered in a rational manner. I have been to twonsville, melbourne, brisbane, canberra, newcastle etc as have many many others. Seriously eddie there are 2 decent teams in this comp (melb and easts - bris are potentially nothing with heather's knee flaring). We should be murdering dross like the dogs, penriff, soufs, canberra etc etc given the quality in the squads. Why aren't we getting results out of this squad when there is plenty of quality and a roster most other teams would kill for ?

Eddie.

Mate I 100% with the things you are saying.

Sheens had no right to be given a new contract. He failed miserably in 2006 and 2007. As far as im aware 2008 was the last year of his deal and thus he SHOULD of been given this season alone to prove he can win more then he loses. SImmons shoulf of been punted last season but I suppose you have to let the head coach have his group, no matter how utterly useless are. You said it, everyone should of been "on notice" for 2008. Make the Top 6 and win 14-18 games and you can keep your jobs, otherwsie pack your bags. Thereabouts anyway. As it stands we are 2 and 2 so its not done and dusted no matter how glommy things look right now. The worrying thing is as you pointed out the same mistakes are being made.

* Players moved out of position.
* Signing borderline reserve graders in non key postions
* Scape Goats being made for poor efforts
* Sheens ego or stubborness getting in the way of selections
* Defensive coach not doing his job
* Hard to get any serious information from Camp Concord.

etc etc.

I am more then happy as a fairly ardent fan to put these thoughts across in a constructive manner. By protesting at games or insulting players we would only look like lunatics who would not be taken seriously. However the more fans that want to e mail or speak to the club regarding our similar issues and concerns over the facts you have put forward, the greater chance for credibility, hence the greater chance of answers, hence the greater chance of change.

super_coach

Probably your best post to date MOTH, no cheap shots just focused on the facts. Sheens we resigned as a lever to sure up the likes of Benji and the kids comming up.

I will even say Sheens can coach, but can he put a roster together that can do the job, I have my doubts. We have had post after post over the past few years telling the club how it is--no no7 no front row junior burger cant cut the mustard, Farah isnt a no7--but nothing changes.

We were blessed with the best lead in draw in the history of the NRL and we will be lucky to be shooting 50% after the Souths game. We should have been 6 from 6 and near impossible to miss the final series. Unlike last year when we rolled over and died at the back end of the season this year we have decided to do it early.

Iam not using injuries,bad calls and bad luck as an excuse--I think everyone has to look at those running the joint and ask some questions

hybrid_tiger

This thread is excellent and I agree with both of you.

The MOTH has initiated contact with Noyce and has done enough to get him to organise a meeting, where we can bring up all these points. I think that would be an ideal result at this stage.

bjm8

Agree with the points in this thread. Not only are they valid, but you all show that you can be civilised adults and that you do show a true concern for this club and the direction that its heading.

Despite my pro-sheens post the other day, i too agree that questions need to be answered. (The post was an obvious fishing exercise). Last Monday i tipped the Panthers 13+ and was disinterested in watching the game, the only time ive done that with a Tigers game in the last 5 years or so was last year versus Newcastle in Rd 25. Its sometimes hard to know when the side will play good or bad, but when they play f**king awful you can see it coming a mile away.

westie

I have had the first hit up in the set. But others now have to have a run and continue on so it turns into a good set of 6. I can't be expected to be like Steve Price and make 3 hit ups a set. We need good solid meat and potatoes hit up merchants to run hard and have a run. No half arsed Keith Galloway ambles into a set defence. We need bodies in motion and we need at least 1 person a day to get on a radio show and keep the issue there.

The issues go deeper than winning this week or next. It is about the overall progress (or regress) we have made since 2005. I remember a big demo was planned at Tottenham in about 99 against Sugar. The team had been playing like morons and the demo was for the main gates at full time. The team won 7-1 and all was forgotten but the team continued in the same underachieving vain. This is the big danger. It's not about a good win here or there it's about setting and maintaining consistency so that in 5 yrs or 10 yrs we are one of the clubs that everybody says at the start of the year will be a threat

If you wanted to be Price, you'd have to run at wingers.

bullsh*t. Say what you what bout his grubby tactic of diving at the legs (he f**ked himself up royally doing it in 05 over there to prince but it could have been the other way round) but he does it up the guts. For forwards who run at wingers look at kennedy, menzies hindmarsh