Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Moylan, Maloney or Cronk?

cb4

Holmes kicks goals alright.

I think Moylan for Maloney would be a downgrade though.

Yeh I am with you on your thinking, but, Moylan is a good footballer. Heading to his peak years as well.
Put him in an environment where would have less responsibility and could focus on nothing but footy he might thrive.

He excites me at the prospect of having him here. Im still on the fence.

Luke Bowden

88712cfec4fc031df0aee5628efcf84b154a78830b2882461b62765bc77571bd.jpg
I like that you took the time to Google a meme, rather than write an intelligent response.

Speaks volumes.

shaggs

Is anyone here surprised that Luke is defending his team.
It's like carch defending the sharks in the crowds forum.

Luke is allowed to put his views forward in a Moylan thread. He doesn't appear to be a troll like all of guigs dragon mates and that douchebag rhyno.

My opinion is that Moylan was put under a pressure he wasn't able to handle. Captaincy and responsibilities that go with it might not be his go.
Football and playing the game are.

The outside pressures put a toll on him where he wasn't doing his rehab and likely didn't want anything to do with the game. Frustrated and isolated more pressure until he is where he is now.

Give him the time off and see what happens.
I think he can play, but I'm unsure I've ever seen him put his body on the line. Is he physically tough enough for 6??

Eion

The club hired no one, stop making shit up.

Bryce took matters into his own hands and asked a very old family friend to help out. He hasn't had anything to do with Panthers since the mid nineties.
I was talking about him being the worst defender in the nrl, what are u on about?

M2D2

What's your problem? Can you not tolerate a sensible discussion from a fan from another club?
Sensible? hes just repeating the panthers press like its fact and saying Everything the media reports about the panthers being a rabble is fake news.
Moylan is shit anyways. They are better off with May/Cleary as their halves.

Luke Bowden

Sensible? hes just repeating the panthers press like its fact and saying Everything the media reports about the panthers being a rabble is fake news.
Moylan is shit anyways. They are better off with May/Cleary as their halves.

You're repeating Rothfield, Kent and Hooper as though it's fact.

They started all of this nonsense, the Club and Moylan have responded to it.

You are suggesting that everyone at Penrith are lying, including Matt Moylan and that the reporters are correct.

Moylan has some behavioural issues, no doubt, bad enough for the club to stand him down. He has admitted that he needs to change and has finally agreed to get help, probably before he was sacked.

He wants to stay at the Panthers and will do what ever it takes to get back on field.

What is so hard to believe about that?

Plastered

I'm in the Moylan over Jimmy camp. No doubt Jimmy was a big part of last years premiership, and hopefully he does it again, but all the missed tackles and penalties this year have been bordering on ridiculous. Add in the age factor, not just Jimmy but overall, and I reckon Moylan could be a good move. Jury is out on whether he can get to the elite level, and if he's a basket case or not, but I reckon it's a gamble worth taking.

You're repeating Rothfield, Kent and Hooper as though it's fact.

They started all of this nonsense, the Club and Moylan have responded to it.

You are suggesting that everyone at Penrith are lying, including Matt Moylan and that the reporters are correct.

Moylan has some behavioural issues, no doubt, bad enough for the club to stand him down. He has admitted that he needs to change and has finally agreed to get help, probably before he was sacked.

He wants to stay at the Panthers and will do what ever it takes to get back on field.

What is so hard to believe about that?
its just that that is your version of history as told by Penrith Centric.
What you arent listening to is that Moylan has been sounding out gettign out of Penrith all year & Sharks have kept contact. Take it with a grain of salt(because I would) becaue I heard through a manager type 2 weeks ago that Moylan to the Sharks was a done deal. Same manager has been right twice earlier this year on Dugan leaving Dragons to the Sharks & the amount & also Aaron Gray. he did get it wrong on Nathan Brown to Sharks last year though.

Luke Bowden

its just that that is your version of history as told by Penrith Centric.
What you arent listening to is that Moylan has been sounding out gettign out of Penrith all year & Sharks have kept contact. Take it with a grain of salt(because I would) becaue I heard through a manager type 2 weeks ago that Moylan to the Sharks was a done deal. Same manager has been right twice earlier this year on Dugan leaving Dragons to the Sharks & the amount & also Aaron Gray. he did get it wrong on Nathan Brown to Sharks last year though.

Rothfield also gets his information from "Manager types", how could the Sharks even afford Moylan? Look at your roster.

If Moylan leaves, it won't be a swap, Penrith have more than enough talent to cover him. They will spend the freed up cash elsewhere.

Moylan has also told all of his mates that he's staying and has never been interested in leaving. He is just stressed out that he's under performing and is going to get sacked.

He wouldn't lie to his mates.

I don't blame you guys for living in hope, but this is a nonsense story made up by your old mate Rothfield.

I reckon he isn't that good, honestly never seen anything that suggests he can be a classy player and play tough enough for FG. I see that he can read the play quite well and has good timing when teams are tired. Perhaps you all see some kind of potential in him, I don't.

I could be on my own here but I don't rate him that much, too much discussion for an average play imho.

cb4

IF Moylan leaves, it won't be a swap. Maloney will be in Newcastle.
He has a "verbal agreement" that if he leaves, it's for them.

Maccas4177

Maloney debuted later than most, I reckon he still has another 2-3 quality years left in him.

Assume 650K is what Maloney is on.

If they each came to us for that same figure my preference would be to keep Maloney. Cronk is unquestionably a better player, but he's a halfback and we already have one. If we lost Maloney, Cronk would be the best half on the market though and we should target him.

It only gets interesting (to me) if the Pennies would be willing to subsidise Moylan's contract. Suppose he's on 800K (which is possible he only re-sighed last year) and the Pennies subsidised half of it then Moylan becomes an interesting prospect worth considering.

At 400K I think he would offer better value than Maloney.

Comes down to the money for me.

I don't agree that Cronk is unquestionably a better player than Maloney.
Considering who Cronk has had around him / played with his whole career, I'd go as far to say its the other way around.

2012....Sharks Year

Cronk.....retires
Moylan stays a Penny........
Jimmy stays a Shark till he faarrkks off to Newie in 2019.
Flanno takes over in 2019.
Everything else is a media/reefy circle jerk imo.

sharkman73

IF Moylan leaves, it won't be a swap. Maloney will be in Newcastle.
He has a "verbal agreement" that if he leaves, it's for them.

Given he's not keen to stick to a signed contract I wouldn't get too excited with a verbal agreement if I were Newcastle.

Moylan is class on the pitch, he just oozes it. He would excel in our structures imo. It's apples and oranges though comparing him to Jimmy.

Luke Bowden

I reckon he isn't that good, honestly never seen anything that suggests he can be a classy player and play tough enough for FG. I see that he can read the play quite well and has good timing when teams are tired. Perhaps you all see some kind of potential in him, I don't.

I could be on my own here but I don't rate him that much, too much discussion for an average play imho.
How much do you think Moylan is worth?

I think Penrith are paying him what he's worth. The Sharks would need to pay more.