Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

National anthem

snout

So politics and sport do mix.

Vlandys first challenge and hes listened to the minority and sparked controversy.
Antnem wont be played at the Allstars game.

I get the lyrics dont represent the indigenous nation. Not sure they represent me either.
But the fact is - whether the song is love by all or none - at the moment it is our official national anthem.
And it is played at all major sporting events.

There may be further debate in the future on a better song but that time is yet to arrive.
Joel thompson tells us he has done some research and the lyrics dont represent his original heritage.
Well neither does wearing football boots mate or playing playing sport in front of the paying masses on national tv and driving sponsors new cars.
This is progessional sport.
It isnt compulsory.
Its a choice.
And Professional sport comes with a lot of perks and a few duties. And having your nations anthem played might be one of the one of the duties you debate your point on but get on with.

There will be many in the paying audience who expect it be played as part their nationalistic pride.

Vlandys had this grenade thrown his way and he needed to toss it back.
The official stance shouldve been we genuinely understand the concerns. Many dont approve of the lyrics but at this time it is our countries anthem and it will be played. However if any individual feels strongly enough to not take part in the game we totally understand your stance with no recriminations.
Pretty sure the silence wouldve be deafening.

What happens now at SOO?
The same players. With the same concerns.
Does he choose to play the anthem for that game because theres white players who dont share similar concerns?
Isnt that worse?...to make a decision for the 'other side' for that game?

shadowboxer

Big decision for a game that amounts to nothing. Move on - more concerned with the changes made to the west coast eagles song - birds of Tokyo remix - for the kids I guess

CFZero

Its a footy game. I like it. I'll watch it. I don't care what colour the selected snorkels are. Its a footy game

I'm also black

Oppress me ya phuquers!

I suggest you take a look at the format mate.

Oh please what’s the difference???

Putting a Aboriginal team against a non Aboriginal team is the same as in South Africa putting black team against a non black team.

They wouldn’t do it in South Africa because it only leads to division.

The game has only become a political platform for Aborigines.

When you see sport being used as a political platform you will see people upset over the sport they love being polluted by political agendas.

The concept should never have been accepted.

Segregation in any form or format has never brought positive outcomes.

wibble

There's no reason to play the National Anthem at any sporting event - except when we win gold at the Olympics

I'd even cop it at events where there is an Australian team, but to say I expect it when I pay to see an event is a bit of a stretch. It is embarrassing when played at a regular NRL game and there are Kiwi, PNG, Tongan and British players all lined up beside their team mates who are awkwardly trying not sing it too loud to their non Aussie peers, whilst still mumbling enough that the cameras don't show them up for being unpatriotic. It's not like they don't have other things to worry about before a game.

My main issue with the anthem is it’s a rubbish tune. Start from scratch and try harder.

They're all rubbish, it's a rule about anthems (actually, I don't mind the tune of the Kiwi one, just the lyrics suck. If I listen to it in Maori I don't even notice that). Ours is worse now they insist on adding a dozen flourishes before the bloody thing even starts.

To moi, it is a bit like the NRL now has ANZAC Day running for a week.

I'm in the only for Australia -v- ???? anthem plays group.

And on another point I am also over this club -v- club playing for the (former players) cup. I know a lot of us here know enough about the game to realise what the clubs are meant to be playing for but I reckon most of the 'todays' supporters wouldn't or couldn't be bothered about it or what it stands for.

sharkman73

Oh please what’s the difference???

Putting a Aboriginal team against a non Aboriginal team is the same as in South Africa putting black team against a non black team.

They wouldn’t do it in South Africa because it only leads to division.

The game has only become a political platform for Aborigines.

When you see sport being used as a political platform you will see people upset over the sport they love being polluted by political agendas.

The concept should never have been accepted.

Segregation in any form or format has never brought positive outcomes.

What's the difference? The difference is your rant was it's them against us. It's not.

I didn't like the original concept but there's nothing wrong with this one. Good luck to them.