Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New era dawns for Auckland College RL

ozenzud

Thats interesting that the Auckland RL and Warriors are prepared to take on union during their season. Shows a growing confidence.

Other parts of the country we have to play outside of the union season.

LordLeague

Gotta laugh. we all rejoice in these small wins for NZ RL when we continue to remain silent on the unofficial banning of RL in the GPS schooling system in Sydney. I once asked the Riverview College groundskeeper if they had a RL team. He politely informed me " we don't play that game here". Seemed they played soccer, basketball, hockey, tennis etc, but no RL. Ironically half the kids at the school support the West Tigers and would love to play RL for the schoold (if offered) as opposed to the RU tripe they are indoctrinated in to on the first day at College. f**king Union C**nts. The English class system has a lot to answer for.

Lord League

taipan

Gotta laugh. we all rejoice in these small wins for NZ RL when we continue to remain silent on the unofficial banning of RL in the GPS schooling system in Sydney. I once asked the Riverview College groundskeeper if they had a RL team. He politely informed me " we don't play that game here". Seemed they played soccer, basketball, hockey, tennis etc, but no RL. Ironically half the kids at the school support the West Tigers and would love to play RL for the schoold (if offered) as opposed to the RU tripe they are indoctrinated in to on the first day at College. f**king Union C**nts. The English class system has a lot to answer for.

Lord League

As a former student of Trinity Grammar Sydney,I heartly concur with your comments.The discrimination that continues against rugby league in these establishments in the 21st Century,is dark ages stuff.I smell the fear.

Bronco Rob

Lord League

That's because it's their last bastion, if RL was to infiltrate GPS schools, this would start to erode RU from the sporting map and they know it. The hypocritical line of there's no interest in that sport even though half of the 1st XV sides are contracted to NRL clubs or play in club competitions and RL especially here in QLD is the most popular code of footy by a mile.

It's similar to the Defence Forces in the UK pre-95 where the officialdom would argue black and blue that there was no interest in League even though most of the personnel came from the north and hence why the game was never offered or allowed to be participated in by the defence force.

Knownothing

That's because it's their last bastion, if RL was to infiltrate GPS schools, this would start to erode RU from the sporting map and they know it.
Who are the "they" that have all the power over sport in GPS schools?

The hypocritical line of there's no interest in that sport even though half of the 1st XV sides are contracted to NRL clubs or play in club competitions and RL especially here in QLD is the most popular code of footy by a mile.

So who makes the decisions? The individual schools? Surely they would be heavily influenced by what their customers want, i.e. the parents. After all, private schooling is very expensive, and operates in a very competitive marketplace. Surely the consumers of private schooling have all the power to decide which sports their little darlings will play?

Money talks. If parents are not getting what they want, they should either agitate to get it, or go elsewhere.

hutch

Riverview started playing rugby league on weekends a few years back, I remember them being the first GPS school to do so. Funny thing is, they ban rugby league and allow afl which is just as big a threat.

Craigo

Riverview started playing rugby league on weekends a few years back, I remember them being the first GPS school to do so. Funny thing is, they ban rugby league and allow afl which is just as big a threat.
With the media and (current) federal government bias, I would say afl is a bigger threat than league....

Craigo

I went to school in the blue mountains, they made us play union when we all wanted to play league
Wasn't Blue Mountains Grammar by any chance??
Mate I went to Liverpool Boys High, a state school, and they made us play Union when all we knew how to play WAS League...:crazy::crazy:

Springbokfly

With Penrith having a home game yesterday, surely you went down for a look, especially as you "like" Rugby League...

I attended the panthers vs eels mungo game a couple weeks ago..twas a good night :cool:
Wasn't too many bogan eels fans left at full time :lol: