Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

New recruits for 2023

Phantom V

Just read a story where Bulldogs are chasing Tino from on Titans but as part of his package they are offering him shares in a Laundy owned pub..apparently approved by Abdo. Story then stated Storm have been doing this for some time offering players shares in chairman Matt Tripp’s betting agency…. Just goes to show the whole game is corrupt and run by dishonest people.
So salaries really don’t mean too much in terms of attracting players under a salary cap when all these shady deals are in play… what chance to we have!!!
The NRL needs to introduce a points system where each player is graded according to his estimated worth and capped at a level which is the same for every club. This would ensure an even distribution of talent across the competition. Example;

International and SOO player = 3 points
Standard 1st grader = 2 points
Development players = 1 point

Dragon David

Just read a story where Bulldogs are chasing Tino from on Titans but as part of his package they are offering him shares in a Laundy owned pub..apparently approved by Abdo. Story then stated Storm have been doing this for some time offering players shares in chairman Matt Tripp’s betting agency…. Just goes to show the whole game is corrupt and run by dishonest people.
So salaries really don’t mean too much in terms of attracting players under a salary cap when all these shady deals are in play… what chance to we have!!!

It is a joke isn't it? Surely this cannot happen? Pub owners offering incentives, Car owners doing the same, Gambling company also. What next? Is there a salary cap or is it a salary crap.

The sooner they bring in the same sort of arrangements as in the AFL like the draft or a points system the better. The other thing is that seems to not being done is the Audit of all clubs of their salary caps.

It shows that crime does pay.

OneEyedDragon

The NRL needs to introduce a points system where each player is graded according to his estimated worth and capped at a level which is the same for every club. This would ensure an even distribution of talent across the competition. Example;

International and SOO player = 3 points
Standard 1st grader = 2 points
Development players = 1 point
I think some system like this needs to be developed as the current salary cap plus 3rd party plus brown paper bags system is not working properly. The system would necessarily be a little more complex than your suggestion (maybe allowances for home grown players, or players under long contracts that develop and increase their points value) but the idea is a good one. I'm sure smarter people than me could develop a workable system that greatly reduces the rorts that currently appear to corrupt the NRL.

OneEyedDragon

It is a joke isn't it? Surely this cannot happen? Pub owners offering incentives, Car owners doing the same, Gambling company also. What next? Is there a salary cap or is it a salary crap.

The sooner they bring in the same sort of arrangements as in the AFL like the draft or a points system the better. The other thing is that seems to not being done is the Audit of all clubs of their salary caps.

It shows that crime does pay.
Surely the "NRL will be looking into it" is just an underhand way for the NRL to really say "yes, we know this corruption is occurring. We aren't going to do anything about, but the headline suggests we MIGHT do something, so we have covered our arses".

Phantom V

I think some system like this needs to be developed as the current salary cap plus 3rd party plus brown paper bags system is not working properly. The system would necessarily be a little more complex than your suggestion (maybe allowances for home grown players, or players under long contracts that develop and increase their points value) but the idea is a good one. I'm sure smarter people than me could develop a workable system that greatly reduces the rorts that currently appear to corrupt the NRL.
Yes mate, it would obviously need to be tweaked to allow for home grown players etc. Just putting it out there as a guideline. Not that it makes any difference as they seem to think the current system is ok. Which brings me to my next point, if other clubs clubs are doing it, why aren’t we?

For season 2024 and beyond we should discard the following players:
Hunt 1m
Mbye 800k
Bird 550k

We should buy

Holmes 800k
Tino 800k
Fifita 900k

Dragon David

Yes mate, it would obviously need to be tweaked to allow for home grown players etc. Just putting it out there as a guideline. Not that it makes any difference as they seem to think the current system is ok. Which brings me to my next point, if other clubs clubs are doing it, why aren’t we?
We either want to "play" by the rules or we just don't have any beneficiary or zillion dollar Dragons fanatic to "add to the funding" to enable us getting the best of the best. You can forget about Uncle Bruce and his merry kids who like to play Alice in Wonderland and think they are the ants pants helping to make this run down club a source of joy. Everybody clap your hands for the Gordons and three cheers for nothing.

Dragon David

Hunt 1m
Mbye 800k
Bird 550k

We should buy

Holmes 800k
Tino 800k
Fifita 900k

Can we offer those bottom 3 players a mansion along the south coast shores, an interest in WIN Corp on top of the coin that you suggest possm? We will need to have a miracle of the greatest magnitude to be able to land those three guys. Maybe one of them but not all three.

Trifili13

Not in the interest of the top clubs to have a draft or points system as it would interfere in their ability to attract the top talent for "unders" and bottom teams paying "overs" for plodders and hasbeens.

Can we offer those bottom 3 players a mansion along the south coast shores, an interest in WIN Corp on top of the coin that you suggest possm? We will need to have a miracle of the greatest magnitude to be able to land those three guys. Maybe one of them but not all three.
Hunt is under contract but wants out. In this case the ball is squarely in the Dragons court so, as long as we hold our nurve we can demand the players we want/need or, 'no deal and no release.

Bird is a disappointment so, it is time for him to move on.

I hear that Mbye is off to ESL.

So off-loading is not the problem. The problem will be our weak-kneed BOD have the nerve to follow through.

Give a part share in a pub to Titans player Tino , Storm players shares in betting agency ? Am I reading correctly , surely this must be pure fiction - certainly not in the realms of a straight forward contract between player and club .

If the NRL approves this sham of a deal ( and apparently by approving the Storm deal involving a betting agency then there is a damn good chance it will ) then they may as well give up the salary cap auditor position , as it means absolutely nothing anymore . 😡

qld redvee

Give a part share in a pub to Titans player Tino , Storm players shares in betting agency ? Am I reading correctly , surely this must be pure fiction - certainly not in the realms of a straight forward contract between player and club .

If the NRL approves this sham of a deal ( and apparently by approving the Storm deal involving a betting agency then there is a damn good chance it will ) then they may as well give up the salary cap auditor position , as it means absolutely nothing anymore . 😡
Need Bruce to give our players " extra billing" in tv shows and they can grab royalties or big payments to be on set...
We could get st George to offer them shares in a branch or 2

OneEyedDragon

Need Bruce to give our players " extra billing" in tv shows and they can grab royalties or big payments to be on set...
Yes, it would be great if Billionaire Bahama Bruce offered more to the club than the bare minimum that he can get away with. It seems obvious these days that the salary cap amount is just the starting point in player negotiations.

Excellent idea qld redvee ! Perhaps the big wigs at WIN can come up with a footy show similar to the others ?

We could have Tino and - don’t laugh - our captain Benny Hunt as comperes . Hell throw in the astute criticism of Reg Regan and it would be a massive hit !

Good lawd why is it that we the supporters have to do the thinking of the powers to be ? 😳

twinkletoes

How is it that the chairman of Storm, Matt Tripp, can be the owner of a betting agency and also that Storm players as part of their incentive salary package can be given shares in a betting company....that has to be a massive conflict of interest on all levels, and yet apparently the NRL has signed off on the deal...no wonder they're all looking at going to Vegas...the whole league adminstration stinks!!

Phantom V

Hunt 1m
Mbye 800k
Bird 550k

We should buy

Holmes 800k
Tino 800k
Fifita 900k

Possm I agree with the first part bit as much as I want to land those 3 players, we’ve got more chance of resigning Hunt as a good will ambassador