Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

News from the Parra Advertiser

some interisting news indeed take the information with an open mind.

* Smith has returned to work on Monday in preperation for the start of training on November 15.

* Witt wasn't asked to leave but was told in no uncertan terms his form wasn't up to scratch and was told what he needed to work on. He obviously took the easy way out. IMO

* He confirmed that Morris and Marsh are options for halfback with Green and Smith also in the picture.

* Marcus Peranara to play five-eight. Feleti was also mentioned.

* Smith didn't sound confident of signing Leuluai and just said that we've shown interest but it's up to him and the Warriors, [obviously playing it down, Smith style]

* He has also "killed off" speculation of Daniel Anderson being part of the coaching team next year. [big question is, does he have a choice???]

Like I said, read in it, how you will!

My opinion is we won't see the last of them in the paper this summer. Just my opinion.

I hope Leulaui does not come as I think we have the players to do a better job.

MArcus Perenera to play 5/8 is abit of a rash call for Smithy maybe he has seen him play.

In the end im happy that Green and T Smith are in the picture.

Eelavation in what way did he kill off the speculation is Anderson coming or not?

He didn't say Marcus was an automatic selection he said he was an option and that we need to asses him.

quoting from the article.

Smith also killed off speculation his former assistant, later Warriors coach and know Kiwi's national coach DA could be on his way back to Parra. Asked if Ando would be part of his coaching set up. Smith replied "No"

Sweet, Thanks mate.

In that case I don't think we will be getting Leulaui then. Just on Marcus you would think they would of assesed him before they gave him a 2 year deal.

I'd hazard a guess they have assessed him - as to whether he is an option this year or next would be the next step. Its apparent the kid has some talent - no top flight experience and he wqas picked in the train on squad - just whether they need to work with him before debuting him would be the only thing....

not sure what to make of this, we'll just have to wait and see.

Hurriflatch

Will be interesting to see what happens. still a lot of things could happen before the season starts.

True EEL

yeah well maybe Smithy would get a shock if he was ever told "No"....?????

maybe he will someday be told......."Brian....you are the weakest link!!!!" ;-) ;-)

True EEL

interesting to see that 4 players are in line to play one position - halfback - only the most important position in a Rugby League team????

and only really 2 players mentioned for 5/8 unless i'm reading the quoted parts wrongly??? and we all know that if BS is still coach at the start of next season Wagon will start the year at 5/8 in a vain attempt to "shelter" the other 5/8's who actually play the position........... :? :? :?

anyway - as i keep saying i really really really hope halfback (and to a lesser extent 5/8) is not just a lottery and a merry-go-round of players that BS prefers week to week, because if it is prepare for another Ground Hog Day season???

Utey

Geez this has got me all excited about next year. Bit suprised that Morris was not mentioned as our 5/8 but as our half. Colonel is spot on bout that as I could never picture him playing there. Pretty happy with what has been said though. Feleti playing 5/8 is probably his only chance of getting into the FG team with Wagon there. But it looks like Smith is learning and all seems well for the 05' campaign.

Utey

True EEL said:
interesting to see that 4 players are in line to play one position - halfback - only the most important position in a Rugby League team????

and only really 2 players mentioned for 5/8 unless i'm reading the quoted parts wrongly??? and we all know that if BS is still coach at the start of next season Wagon will start the year at 5/8 in a vain attempt to "shelter" the other 5/8's who actually play the position........... :? :? :?

anyway - as i keep saying i really really really hope halfback (and to a lesser extent 5/8) is not just a lottery and a merry-go-round of players that BS prefers week to week, because if it is prepare for another Ground Hog Day season???

Iam sure Smith has learnt that unless that players are played in position we are going nowhere. Look forward to 2005 IMO.

True EEL

yeah UTE, but just because Wags wasn't mentioned at 5/8 doesn't mean he won't be played there.....think about it from all the past couple of years - he wasn't really mentioned - yet almost every time he ends up there at least for a while???

look i am being positive - but old habits with some people die hard and i am just hoping Smithy has let some of his bad ones finally die???

and that he does play people in their correct positions - i mean he would nearly be linched if Wagon did end up in the 6 with all these halves and 5/8's running around the place - yet starnger things ahve happened?????

Utey

I admit I was watching 2001-2003 Season and Wags was in there for a proportion of the season. But it would have been wrong to blood Mateo for that position in a losing team. Protecting them as Smith called it was the most appropriate thing to do. In a way I like Wagon in the team but if he isnt resigned Iam not going to be bothered because we could finally get a stable halves combination going.

If there is an odd man out among those preparing for the Kiwis-Kangaroos game at North Harbour Stadium on Saturday it is New Zealand's halfback, Thomas Leuluai, the only member of either squad not coming out of a professional competition.

Leuluai was called up from the Bartercard Cup competition, as he was in April for the Anzac test and last year for the centenary test.

"It's not where you want to be playing your football," he said, though his form for Otahuhu-Ellerslie was good until they exited the competition one game short of the grand final.

He knows the big Australian forwards will run at him all night because they will perceive weakness - at 1.75m he is the smallest player on the field and at 84kg he is 5kg lighter than opposite Craig Gower.

He is also one of only two players not to have come fresh from the NRL. The other is Motu Tony, who was in Super League.

"That goes with the role of halfback," Leuluai said, showing little sign of the nerves that beset him before his test debut last October.

Then, as the second-youngest Kiwi ever, at 18 years and 118 days, he was shy, focused on his role and keen not to be seen as any sort of a target.

He played a blinder in that game, coming on at 20 minutes to immediately be flattened by opposite Brett Kimmorley in a high tackle.

He bounced up from that and had a hand in four of the Kiwis' six tries.

It is clear the confidence has stayed with him, despite his meagre 10 games in the NRL this season and a total of 22 since his debut last year.

"Everything changed for me after the test last year," he said. "I see this one as a chance to get back on track."

Leuluai is not bitter that others were preferred ahead of him at the Warriors.

"I had some chances and I didn't make the most of them."

But he does want regular game-time, and with the Warriors sticking with Stacey Jones at halfback, Lance Hohaia there and Nathan Fien coming in, he decided to ask for a release and is negotiating with Parramatta.
"I want to go to the Eels - there's a few things still to sort out and I'm leaving the details to my manager [Peter Brown]." The tough year at the Warriors had been character-building, he said.

"It hasn't been much fun reading the newspaper. It's been hard at times. Hopefully I won't have another season like this."

His famous father, James, who played 29 tests as a slinky centre and is in the Kiwis camp as a backline adviser, has had little to do with his play individually other than as his Otahuhu-Ellerslie coach.

"He gives me good advice, but he doesn't harp on, which is good. I listen."

The Tri-Nations offered a high to end the year on.

"I enjoy the tests. There's a real buzz in the dressing room beforehand."

Leuluai will have a big role in the field kicking game and it is his acceleration and incisiveness in gaps that the big Kiwi forwards will need to bust the Kangaroos' line.

Coach Daniel Anderson has no concerns about Leuluai's being up to it. Nor is he worrying about Matt Utai being a target for the Aussie kickers after Matt Sing scored three tries jumping against him in the Cowboys' win over the Bulldogs in the NRL playoffs.

To view the full article.......

http://www.nzherald.co.nz/sports/sp...ion=rugbyleague&thesecondsubsection=kiwis

True EEL said:

Its good to see a few options at halfback this early in the season who are halfbacks. This year we had two halfbacks playing 5/8 and a 5/8 playing half. One of those 4 options could well be in line for the 6 jersey as well.

Perenara is a likely 5/8 - as to when he gets his chance seems to be the biggest thing at the moment. Mateo, many on here have said, is more suited to lock and did well in that possie on debut. I'd like to see him in the 6 as well.

Wagon in 6, well we can only hope that was an anomaly that won't occur again although the idea of two locks IF AND ONLY IF Mateo is played in the six jersey could work well......

As I have said before IMO 6. Marsh and 7. Morris is the likely nround 1 combination...... though there is 150 odd days before that happens...

Utey

150 Days :cry: Its so long. December 1 is when the big League 2005 season book comes out. Its gonna have heaps on our squad so that will be a must to read.

True EEL

"I want to go to the Eels - there's a few things still to sort out and I'm leaving the details to my manager [Peter Brown]."

well that seems pretty cut and dried doesn't it????? he wants to come here and has apparently been given a release but there are things to be sorted out???

yet good old Smithy doesn't sound confident of signing Leuluai and is totally brushing any suggestion of DA coming over - very interesting stuff and hey - all of this coming from actual sources and not rumours or innuendo???

well done guys for digging both articles up and seems very interesting - one has to wonder whether the things that ned sorting out for Leulaui concern BS and whether BS is digging his heels in for one last stand and publicly trying to stave off a challenge from DA coming over???

and Colonel,

i know its good to have some options at halfback, but as long as two guys are picked in the halves and given a reasonable chance to form a combination and i'm still sticking with my pick and swapping your combo to 6. Morris and 7. Marsh ;-)

and i don't like the 2 locks strategy at all.....Wagon should rightfull be given first crack this year at #13 and not be let anywhere near #6 - but if his form is down, then look to move Morrison there and facilitate Cayless back into the second row if neccesary or look to bring in Mateo into lock

i want 2 "halves" in the halves.....smaller, talented, ball-players who are mean't to play in the halves....like any of these guys mentioned, possibly apart from Mateo as he is pretty immense and probably more suited to the backrow or ata stretch the centres???

Utey

Smith obviosuly isnt confident. But His not gonna make himself look like a dickhead by going we are close to signing him when they really arent. His a modest bloke.