Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newton to Melbourne?

roopy

Lucas said:
Newcastle is the pits, in every sense of the word.
Let me see - we have 30 miles of great surf beaches, great weather, the best wineries in the country, Lake Macquarie, Port Stephens, the Barrington tops - and Melbourne has 15 different types of rain.

roopy thinks to himself "hmmmm well i cant say anything back based off football because were useless at that, hmmmmmmmmm lets pitch the weather and location to all the league forumers"

roopy

1999 said:
roopy thinks to himself "hmmmm well i cant say anything back based off football because were useless at that, hmmmmmmmmm lets pitch the weather and location to all the league forumers"
roopy thinks to himself 'hmmmmm clint is moving from his fathers Lake side mansion where he has Tiger Woods around to stay to some dive in bleak city, hmmmmmm'.

The_Savage_1

roopy said:
Let me see - we have 30 miles of great surf beaches, great weather, the best wineries in the country, Lake Macquarie, Port Stephens, the Barrington tops - and Melbourne has 15 different types of rain.

:lol: *cough* barossa valley *cough*

sure they're nice, but even margaret river has a higher reputation

roopy

The_Savage_1 said:
:lol: *cough* barossa valley *cough*

sure they're nice, but even margaret river has a higher reputation
Have you been to Margaret River?
Half a dozen drought affected dustbowls pretending to be wineries.

Barossa used to be better than the Hunter, but Sydney tourist dollars have tripled the Hunter while the Barossa has stood still.

Cranky

roopy said:
Hey yeah!! You're right. So if folk are moving down here from Newie, and happier for the move, that must mean Novocastrians are a bunch of merkins!!

roopy

Cranky said:
Hey yeah!! You're right. So if folk are moving down here from Newie, and happier for the move, that must mean Novocastrians are a bunch of merkins!!
or the guy moving down there is a lieing prick who will tell you what you want to hear while looking to stab you in the back.

Ice777

roopy said:

15 diiferent types of rain? Best you get your facts straight on the rain thing before you speak to prevent yourself looking like a total knob as you have on this occasion knackers. Newcastle have had 1098.2mm of rain so far and it averages 1138.0mm annually.

That opposed to Melbourne's 235.6mm of rainfall so far this year and 653.3mm annually. As you can see by those facts Boganville gets an absolute sh*tload than we ever do here in Melbourne.

It's just as well you have all that beach because i've been to Newcastle and there's f**k all else to do there besides go to the beach. Of course there is the wineries that you mentioned. They're the perfect place to go for drowning your sorrows for living in such an utter sh*thole :lol:

roopy

Ice777 said:
15 diiferent types of rain? Best you get your facts straight on the rain thing before you speak to prevent yourself looking like a total knob as you have on this occasion knackers. Newcastle have had 1098.2mm of rain so far and it averages 1138.0mm annually.

That opposed to Melbourne's 235.6mm of rainfall so far this year and 653.3mm annually. As you can see by those facts Boganville gets an absolute sh*tload than we ever do here in Melbourne.

It's just as well you have all that beach because i've been to Newcastle and there's f**k all else to do there besides go to the beach. Of course there is the wineries that you mentioned. They're the perfect place to go for drowning your sorrows for living in such an utter sh*thole :lol:
Yes - I'll stop talking up Newcastle to Melbournians - we have enough people wearing socks with their thongs here already.

roopy said:
Yes - I'll stop talking up Newcastle to Melbournians - we have enough people wearing socks with their thongs here already.

Can you please stop your locals rubbing their necks...they are getting very red !!!.;-)

Get over it mate...Newton left to advance his career and is doing that in Melbourne in a supportive culture under a coach who sets high standards...shame that cannot be said of the Knights.

Ice777

roopy said:

Can't say i've ever seen anyone wearing socks with their thongs down here. As you said you have enough of them up there already so it must just be a Newcastle thing. Not surprising really since the attire of choice up at Bogan Central is flannelette shirts and moccasins which are considered to be high fashion by the locals........sorry i meant yokels :lol:

Captian_Klutz

Lucas said:
Not to mention Kirk Reynoldson. I remember when he was a good player. It was around the time that.... hmmm... he played for the Storm.

Newcastle is the pits, in every sense of the word.
Speaking of Kirk.... There's not a Storm fan (well not many anyways) that didn't wish him the best at his new club. Even though they found his departure strange, betraying the investment in him and money driven.

Knights fans should learn form that and let it go.

Burwood

Captian_Klutz said:
Speaking of Kirk.... There's not a Storm fan (well not many anyways) that didn't wish him the best at his new club. Even though they found his departure strange, betraying the investment in him and money driven.

And you won't find a Knight's supporter unwilling to wish the likes of Woolnough and Tighe all the best at their new club next year. We just don't have much time for players like Newton who call a press conference to announce that they are leaving their club mid-season and are open to offers from anyone interested.

How many players can you think of that have done the same as Newton? You'd struggle to name any.

I love seeing guys like Soward, Lewis, Williams etc who after making the mid-season switch have been able to perform so well for their new club. I also find it refreshing that they haven't found the need to continue to bag out their old club in the process. They just go about their business and let their footy do the talking.

If Newton loved the club half as much as he claimed he did he would have either stuck out the rest of the season with his team mates (many of whom were in the same situation), or worked out a deal with a new club behind closed doors like every other NRL player has managed to do so far. To turn the whole situation into a media circus just screams out poor taste from him and his father.

roopy

Captian_Klutz said:

please - Storm fans squeal like stuck pigs everytime a player leaves - you are all carrying on over King now.

We are used to it, because we breed far more players than we can use.

We have lost Ben Kennedy, Timana Tahu, Matt Gidley, Anthony Tupou, Greg Inglis, Greg Bird, Ben Farrer, Dane Tilse, Michael Ennis, John Morris, Matt Petersen, Anthony Quinn, - not to mention Woolnough, Perry, Tighe and possibly even our best junior for years, Snowden, (who you guys might sign).
Knights fans watch great players not fit under tha salary cap every year and we understand it is because we produce great players - but we don't see guys use the celebrity status of their father to blackmail the club into giving them an early release too often.
Good luck with Newton - the day being at the Storm isn't convenient for him he will shaft you royally.

The_Savage_1

roopy said:
Have you been to Margaret River?
Half a dozen drought affected dustbowls pretending to be wineries.

Barossa used to be better than the Hunter, but Sydney tourist dollars have tripled the Hunter while the Barossa has stood still.

i'm sure they get plenty of tourists, but the wine from the hunter valley is inferior, especially the reds. they do have some high quality whites though.

roopy

The_Savage_1 said:
i'm sure they get plenty of tourists, but the wine from the hunter valley is inferior, especially the reds. they do have some high quality whites though.
That was true 10 or 15 years ago.
Might even still be true if you want to be very kind to the Barossa.
Won't be true for very much longer however you do the math.
The Hunter has had hundreds of millions spent on the new Hunter Valley Gardens, three or four golf developments that are world class etc etc etc - and all that brings in extra tourists, and all that means dozens of new wineries planting the best grapes and using the best technologies to produce the best wine.
Barossa = standing still
Hunter = booming - probably doubled in the last 10 years and will double again in the next 10.

roopy said:
please - Storm fans squeal like stuck pigs everytime a player leaves - you are all carrying on over King now.

We are used to it, because we breed far more players than we can use.

We have lost Ben Kennedy, Timana Tahu, Matt Gidley, Anthony Tupou, Greg Inglis, Greg Bird, Ben Farrer, Dane Tilse, Michael Ennis, John Morris, Matt Petersen, Anthony Quinn, - not to mention Woolnough, Perry, Tighe and possibly even our best junior for years, Snowden, (who you guys might sign).
Knights fans watch great players not fit under tha salary cap every year and we understand it is because we produce great players - but we don't see guys use the celebrity status of their father to blackmail the club into giving them an early release too often.
Good luck with Newton - the day being at the Storm isn't convenient for him he will shaft you royally.

If you breed great players then what is stopping you from winning the comp everywhere...get over it and stop stalking Newton.:roll:

roopy

kia ora storm said:
If you breed great players then what is stopping you from winning the comp everywhere...get over it and stop stalking Newton.:roll:
it's called a salary cap.

Ice777

roopy said:

Can you give some examples please? From what i've seen the vast majority of Storm fans have wished Kingy well and don't blame him for a second taking that sort of money. Stop making up bullsh*t to try support your piss weak arguments, you've been getting your sorry arse owned everytime :lol:

roopy

Ice777 said:
Can you give some examples please? From what i've seen the vast majority of Storm fans have wished Kingy well and don't blame him for a second taking that sort of money. Stop making up bullsh*t to try support your piss weak arguments, you've been getting your sorry arse owned everytime :lol:
you guys haven't stopped whinging about Kimmorley and Orford yet - let alone King.