Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Newtown Jets - Cronulla Sharks

imasharkie

Sharkies all the Way said:
Overall the PL merge seems to be the right thing, none the less it just wont feel right going to the game without PL playing first, especially if you rock up early to beat the crowds. What will the entertainment be now, just staring at the field :?

Thats what we usually get in Brissy, sometimes we get some obscure university game that noones interested in and when the sharks played up here they entertained us with a girls footy game :sleeper:
Guys you got it good.

Better news is that the Sharks have been given a licence by NRL until 2011 ( further five years) which does ease a few worries at woolooware, given the expansion debate.

Who gives a toss about Newtown / Sharks merger. This statement here by Grey Nurse is all that interests me in this thread... and yet we've still heard nothing more.

SirShire

Its only premier league anyway. Our team has a shitload of deadwood in it. Newtown have some quality backs and strong forwards in that team. Probably better forwards than we currently have in PL.

Grey Nurse

El Garbo

The extension of the licence was advised by a Board member to the Junior League on Monday night.

There is a meeting in the next two weeks between District Club, Junior league, and other interested parties (i.e Newtown), as to a wholesale restructure of how things are done at Cronulla, given the certainty of a further five years. Suggestions are welcome and can be passed on.

:shock: :shock:

This warrants a thread of its own

Bluebag

There is no merger, this is a business decision that saves the Sharks a lot of money and will only strengthen the club in the long run. Promising players can now go from Flegg to P/L still but many can stay with the club through Newtown Jim Beam Cup as well as promising Junior players.

This is a win/win situation for both clubs.

How many other clubs will no longer be fielding a side in PL?

Mr Angry I'm not certain but I think PL is getting the boot entirely from 2006..

Can't remeber where I heard it though.

fizman

Bluebag,
Does John Singleton still have any association with Newtown??
IF the Central Coast bid fails, is this a potential investment for the Singleton group?? I know its left field, but I am hoping that there is something to this deal that we are unaware of at this time.

Who will be paying these players wages?? I don't think Newtown is in a position to pay our reserve grade team??

Is the Newtown junior base any stonger than Cronulla??

As a Cronulla supporter I would much prefer to see our reserve grade side play at home before first grade.

Make no mistake, I am not is any way bagging Newtown, I think they are a fantastic Club and wish them all the best. In fact, from a Newtown point of veiw I don't see how this will benefit them either??

bubs

How will this save money??
We own our own ground, so no costs involved there.
We have our own jersey and merchandise, so no costs there.
The only costs I can see are insurance, bus hire to other grounds, and coaching staff.
We have our own training facilities, so no costs there.
If we are loaning our players to Newtown, playing in their strip, and playing at Henson, this sounds more like a takeover, so as someone else put it "Newtown survives in the Jim Beam Cup"
Does this mean that Sharks have no control over the team at all and they will be coached by the Newtown coach.?
Me no like.. AT ALL.. :evil: :evil: :evil:

sharknows

Does John Singleton still have any association with Newtown??

I certainly hope not - he was primarily responsible for the original demise of Newtown. It still amazes me how a team could go from grandfinalist 1981 to non existence in 1983. I wonder where all the money from the sale of Newtowns assets went???

Nuffs

i think many people are not reading this fact:

premier league will not run from 2005 or 2006. it will be replaced by the Jim Beam cup. so you wont be able to see PL in these years anyway

as far as i know, NRL teams CAN NOT field a jim beam cup team and therefore must have a "feeder" club. ours is newtown. st marys (or whoever) is penriths

somebody correct me if im wrong with any of this

Bluebag

The costs to an NRL club to run a Premier League side is estimated at between 500k- 750k per year. Cronulla will pay its contracted players and Newtown will pay theirs as per normal. Cronulla will not need to sign every player in the current roster only their top 25 we pay the rest. Bubs you don't really have much idea about the costs of running a club, you also forget superannuation, strapping (ask any club how much they spend on that) uniforms etc. This on top of all other little costs that arise during the year which can cost as much as the team itself.

Newtown will be coached by our current coach but along the guidelines as set down by Stuart Raper.

Newtown Junior strength is one club with around 20 teams in its second year while many others struggle. Many of of players in years gone by have come from within the Sharks area, now all talented players looking for a chance can start to play higher.

Sharknows, what a load of tripe, FYI Singo is our Patron and still a passionate Jets supporter, not many clubs can get a fan flying in on his helicopter for a game. The money from the sale of assets back in the 80's went to paying off all debts many incurred in moving out to Campbelltown prior to Arko and Quayle pullingthe pin on it. After all debts were repayed monies left over were and and still with the Newtown Football club and any insinuation about Singo is wrong.