Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

Iamback

120k at best is the average

Down from 180k when the game was doing better

And the deal has fallen from 42 million pa to 21 million.

It’s cheap content for Dazn.

except that 120k buying a DAZN sub. At the UK price of £16 comes in at just under £12m for the 6 months the season runs for.

You aren't going to make that difference up in Commercials.

Wb1234

Seeing dumb and dumber have k
except that 120k buying a DAZN sub. At the UK price of £16 comes in at just under £12m for the 6 months the season runs for.

You aren't going to make that difference up in Commercials.

What now you worked out it’s 120k and not 350k

Sky have previously paid 40 million for it

And again they now show all games on tv whilst previously it was around two games a week

You know more content = more value

It’s like you have no idea what you are talking about

Vlad59

Matt_CBY

What we have seen in the US with NBA and NFL is the future.

multiple providers
Ah finally, some sense. This could happen. Not in the exact same way we see it in the American market but perhaps a simpler version of this.

The situation as stated in today`s SMH:

"And while DAZN has a record of investing in domestic sports rights in major markets such as Japan, Germany and France, the likes of the NRL’s Peter V’Landys and the AFL’s Andrew Dillon may eventually appear too small fry for the streamer now cosying up with FIFA boss Gianni Infantino and oil-rich Saudis.

"Those behind the deal at DAZN say the company’s resolve for the NRL and its like, which is about to kick off broadcast negotiations for the 2027 season and beyond, has only strengthened, but V’Landys may have to adjust expectations for a bumper deal in the region the AFL managed to land in 2022."

So they are interested, just a question of how much they`ll pay and how desperate Nine/Stan and 10/ Paramount are.
We might be relying on the two FTA broadcasters to get a decent bid out of DAZN.
They’ll bid market value. They won’t want to bill their asset they just brought.

There is no quotes in the above post. DAZN owner quoted earlier about his intentions with Aussie local sports.

Move with the times Grandpa... That is how sport is watched now. No one has money for everything
I have money for everything. I choose not to buy Stan Sports or paramounts offerings.

Making up stuff doesnt seem to hurt your argument though

Forgetting that the AFL average is sustained over longer periods with more breaks - oddly enough about 30%-40% longer, making it more appealing to advertisers - which do matter apparently.
Okay Mr. Carlton fan.

“Which do matter apparently” haha

It is hard to maintain a lie to be a RL fan for so long.
Then why are you still doing it? You slipped up earlier with your “garbage” comment.

Maybe you should do a little more research before commenting in future.
Pot, kettle, black.

When the nrl gets a blockbuster deal you are going to look like an even bigger fool if that’s possible

I was posting on Twitter how there’s a few afl fans who think Dazn won’t be bidding for the nrl.

That got a lot of laughs

You and your mate are pretty much the only people I see who think the nrl will get a poor tv deal
Hey mate.

just remember you are engaging in an argument with someone so stupid, that they had to create a new account because they forgot their password.

Im followed by over 8,000 people on twitter. I cant be held responsible for what every single people see as biased. Pick any given day, and Im either anti football, anti league or anti afl depending on the poster.
Small fry. Yet you let it go to your head.

hence why the FTA games should be only on FTA. That makes them more valuable and hence NRL can get higher money
Guaranteed way of losing ratings for any match played under these circumstances.

I presume Kayo pays ESPN to show it's content. Though on that. NBA League pass also hits at traditional TV's ratings.
Oh my lord, you are dumb.

You do get counted in the consolidation.
Yes, your mate is an idiot. Thanks for pointing that out.

There was nothing to really argue in my post but ok.
Oh my lord, you’re not even self aware.

No one is paying $35 a month just for 1 sport.
I literally have Kayo for Rugby League.

I used to watch some international Rugby Union before it moved to Stan. I watch cricket on Kayo because I’ve already got Kayo. If NRL left Kayo, I would leave Kayo too. The other sports wouldn’t keep me subscribed.

Or any thing else he posts

Mean spirited little turd aren’t you?

Ffs this has all been explained to you so many times. You just write endless one eyed biased crap. You have absolutely no credibility here by the way. There are some good interesting posters on this thread. Then there is you.
Alright Boom twat turd from Hobart troll. Lmfao.

I attend games unlike you.

When you this you miss the game before.
you come home and watch the game before.

When the ratings come out the next day watching that doesn't count.
Your allay proved this wrong previously in this very thread.

In my entire existence of over 65 years on this planet I’ve never seen anybody write such self serving bull shit as WB. The posts above by him are utter garbage.

Mean spirited little turd aren’t you?

You are too dumb to understand anything intelligent
At least he remembers his password.

Iamback just makes shit up.

This could go on all night but you are another.

Last off season 220k people cancelled. Leaving 1.1m users.

That shows the vast majority of Kayo users do so for more than just either football code.
Or most people are too lazy to stop and restart their subscriptions. I go months without watching Netflix and Stan but still pay for it for the convenience of clicking and playing something at the time I do want to come back and watch something.

I got that feeling. So came back and atleast now can make him look like the dickhead he is
Siding with Vlad makes you look like the dickhead #FakeFan

There is a brick wall over there if you want to bash your head against it.
No there isn’t. This is a virtual space completely void of anything physical.

If they dropped NRL and AFL. You'd be paying $15 a month not $35 so that it is more appealing.
What’s this based on?

Kayo drops out all the time and it is at least 30 seconds behind. On the rare times I've had to use it or the Foxtel app I had to turn my phone off. Mates msgs pop up before the opposition scored everytime.
The technology simply isn't there
Who is watching full games of Rugby League on their phone? Only losers I would suggest. Haha.

We used to use Chromecast as well and had drop out issues all the time, it was unwatchable. Now use a combination of a Samsung tv and starlink and haven't had a single problem for two full seasons of footy.
Yep, chromecast was poor.

Apple TV is great.

I’ve heard good things from Hubbl as well.

Hot sure why I keep seeing league posters continue to push the myth that Fox overpaid for the AFL...based on nothing....
What do you mean “League posters”?

Are you not including yourself in that statement? What do you classify yourself as? person who constantly posts on a Rugby League forum

Yeah I don’t think it was bad. I just think we could have done a bit better. I’m really impressed with the way Vlandys is managing the finances, participation and sponsorship. We’ve got an embarrassment of expansion options and are staring down the opportunity of being the biggest game across the South Pacific. I still reckon expansion has been unnecessarily messy. The next broadcast deal needs to be the best it can for the game to reach its potential here. Then there is the Northern Hemisphere………….
Ah we can add backtracker to your list of names.

Yet no other App has issues for me or I'd bet others who commented
Maybe you’re just clueless.

Poorly informed. I post links and articles to my articles where as you none of that
lol what?

Matt_CBY

So for anyone who may have actually spent their Christmas period off a forum page and with family. The last 13 pages of this thread contain no news apart from the potential purchase by DAZN of Foxtel* and AFL aligned posters predicting boom and gloom for the NRL despite the obvious opportunity on the NRL’s doorstep.

*Subject to regulatory approvals.

Bulldog2020

Assuming the acquisition goes through.
It will be interesting what changes are made prior to the rights being renewed or lost.

- watch NRL (& AFL) you would think makes sense to have these offered on their main platform
- do they sell the legacy set top business off
- newscorp employees on fox. will they stay on through some resource sharing agreement or will they split

Wb1234

So the only ones who aren’t cancelling kayo or fox if they lose the nrl are the confirmed afl fans

Assuming the acquisition goes through.
It will be interesting what changes are made prior to the rights being renewed or lost.

- watch NRL (& AFL) you would think makes sense to have these offered on their main platform
- do they sell the legacy set top business off
- newscorp employees on fox. will they stay on through some resource sharing agreement or will they split
Didn’t think of that no more sloth bulldog etc on Foxsports

Think they will keep guys like Anasta etc

Just the “journos” will get punted

The_Wookie

article looks like its using limited FTA data. sigh

hmm ive seen this concern expressed before

NRL top honchos Andrew Abdo and Peter V’landys are desperately keen for a similar bidding war to erupt, but the picture has changed somewhat from when former AFL boss Gillon McLachlan brokered the record deal to where things stand now. For one, advertising revenue for the major media players has fallen off a cliff, and now Foxtel is close to having a new owner, one that could well have more pressing concerns than paying through the nose for rugby league.

Wb1234

“Foxtel broadcasts Australia’s two biggest codes, the NRL and the AFL.CREDIT: ARTWORK BY MARIJA ERCEGOVAC
Whichever way you shake it, the AFL is the larger sport in Australia. Its total average audience per game and viewership for the grand finals exceeds that of the NRL. The code also boasts a higher on ground attendance.”

Lol I bet the fumbler that wrote this article has been reading some of the pro afl accounts on this thread

AlwaysGreen

The trophy is yours bro, no need to keep competing.

The bestest rugby league fan eva! Trophy is yours. No one will ever mention that you're a swans fan again, we promise.

The_Wookie

I was wondering where you would point out he was wrong about afl having a higher average viewership per game on tv

Oh yeh silly me

I edited that in before you posted. lol

I suspect they are using the FTA data only and probably Sevens version of its ratings data that the AFR and other Nine media journos used earlier in the year

Wb1234

I edited that in before you posted. lol

I suspect they are using the FTA data only and probably Sevens version of its ratings data that the AFR and other Nine media journos used earlier in the year
Turns out he’s a miserable soccer fan and probably hates both afl and nrl lol