Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Next TV deal discussion 2028 -

Cactus

BuffaloRules said:
Pacific cup is worth FA right now …and I’m saying again that Nine will offer one price for FTA including Origin and the NRL games and they will have to take it regardless what 7 offer for Origin …

If you are hoping that PVL/NRL is going to allow 9 to dictate the terms & conditions of the contract with a take it or leave it demand if NRL don't accept, then you're going to be sorely disappointed.

You didn't answer the second point I responded to but never mind.

BuffaloRules

BuffaloRules said:
Pacific cup is worth FA right now …and I’m saying again that Nine will offer one price for FTA including Origin and the NRL games and they will have to take it regardless what 7 offer for Origin …

If you are hoping that PVL/NRL is going to allow 9 to dictate the terms & conditions of the contract with a take it or leave it demand if NRL don't accept, then you're going to be sorely disappointed.

You didn't answer the second point I responded to but never mind.

Nine will be able to dictate the terms though because there doesn’t appear to be another market for the NRL FTA rights …this answers the second point because the Origin won’t be on 7 if that is the only part of the rights they are going to bid on which seems likely

Cactus

Nine will be able to dictate the terms though because there doesn’t appear to be another market for the NRL FTA rights
That just isn't going to happen.

If you were the negotiator for 9 & tried that & it failed then you would end up just like Hugh Marks previous (negotiator) from 9 that now works at the ABC.

BuffaloRules

That just isn't going to happen.

If you were the negotiator for 9 & tried that & it failed then you would end up just like Hugh Marks previous (negotiator) from 9 that now works at the ABC.

Well ..9 never seem to have too many issues previously when dealing with the NRL…. They always have paid big unders in the past ….

It’s not going to change this time without another credible bidder willing to take on the NRL FTA games …we both seem unable to find one so far

Chief_Chujo

To suggest that the Seven Network will buy State of Origin is also ridiculous, because there is no way Nine would want the NRL rights without its most significant add-ons: Origin and the finals series.
lol what are they going to show instead that will hit the same level of ratings? I don't think finals should be separated, but to suggest nine won't be interested if they don't get origin as well is hilarious.

Cactus

Well ..9 never seem to have too many issues previously when dealing with the NRL…. They always have paid big unders in the past ….
I dont disagree with that, but to employ that sort of negotiating tactic is suicidal with or without competitive tension.

It’s not going to change this time without another credible bidder willing to take on the NRL FTA games …we both seem unable to find one so far
PVL hasnt gotten this far down the road including all of the timing surrounding PNG & Perth and then bringing forward the negotiating rights to coincide, without knowing there will be another bidder/bidders.

He has said as much publicly & dont see any reason to doubt it.

BuffaloRules

I dont disagree with that, but to employ that sort of negotiating tactic is suicidal with or without competitive tension.

PVL hasnt gotten this far down the road including all of the timing surrounding PNG & Perth and then bringing forward the negotiating rights to coincide, without knowing there will be another bidder/bidders.

He has said as much publicly & dont see any reason to doubt it.

Well… we are just gunna have to see aren’t we ? There are only three potential bidders for the NRL FTA games and I think we have accounted for them though…

BuffaloRules

Yes indeed.

If PVL has misled us about there being competitive tension then that is one monumental blunder by him which would see his sainthood fairly well tarnished.

I don’t think he has commented specifically on thr FTA situation though ,…so it would be a stretch to say he misled anyone…

Trifili13

PVL is hardly going to say there is only 1 FTA channel that is going to bid. Much like a real estate agent saying we have multiple interested buyers. And while the NRL have strong and growing viewing numbers, it will come down to how many bidders there are and what they are willing or can afford to pay.

Like Nine does not want to lose the rights as it's a ratings winner, the NRL also needs to be on FTA and will have to accept what the market is willing to pay. If there is only 1 viable FTA bidder and the NRL is not happy with the offer, what does PVL/NRL do? They can't just produce another bidder to give them the figure they want.

And PVL spruiking it will be a record deal is really a no brainer given the extra content and strong ratings offered by the game. If it's not it would be a real fail for the game.

ch9 is paying $115mill cash for 3 games plus origin plus exclusive GF.
If Ch7 really are paying $170mill cash for just 3.5 games a week plus exclusive GF then our FTA does appear to be well unders.

The_Wookie

If Ch7 really are paying $170mill cash for just 3.5 games a week plus exclusive GF then our FTA does appear to be well unders.

Part of the problem is that Nine already have everything they want from the NRL and unless theres competitive tension, theres no one to raise the rate.

Seven got some weird rights for streaming in the new AFL deal, which includes mini games of matches shown and produced by Fox, as well as their own streaming rights for the first time. Better rating Thursday nights, over split Saturdays on FTA too.

Steel Saints

The $64 million question is does Nine want the lot and use Stan Sport as a subscription?

These days there are so many subscription platforms like Netflix, Disney and of course DAZN. Nine obviously still wants FTA to still be relevant in the face of so much competition. Get all of the rights to the NRL and rep footy and it would give them an opportunity to promote all of their platforms.

In recent reports, Nine/Stan is after the EPL. The EPL would provide top tier content for nine months of the year and prevent many people switching off after the footy season is over. Fox lost the EPL rights in 2016. A couple of years later they, along with Seven acquired the cricket rights from Nine. Again, to try and prevent people from switching off subscriptions in the summer.

Nine/Stan are also after the Formula One. Once more the duration goes for nine months of the year. I guess the difference with Nine/Stan with old Fox is Nine/Stan will cherry pick which sports they want to obtain, rather than get everything under the sun like Fox used to do. The old Fox monopoly is not sustainable.

So does Nine/Stan want all of the rights to the NRL. They may not spend $3 billion over five years, but may spend the right amount for it to be viable and more importantly hoping for the NRL to be content with the figure.

insert.pause

If it’s a steal the demand will be there, if the demand is there it won’t be a steal. Nine won’t just dictate how much they want to pay & they will be forced to bid against streamers for digital rights not protected by anti-siphoning legislation.

BuffaloRules

Part of the problem is that Nine already have everything they want from the NRL

How do you know that ?

and unless theres competitive tension, theres no one to raise the rate.

Yes ..that appears to be the case .. maybe seven can do them a solid and pretend to go after it and lift the price to make their competitor pay more like nine seems to do with the AFL every time ,,,

BuffaloRules

Like Nine does not want to lose the rights as it's a ratings winner, the NRL also needs to be on FTA and will have to accept what the market is willing to pay. If there is only 1 viable FTA bidder and the NRL is not happy with the offer, what does PVL/NRL do? They can't just produce another bidder to give them the figure they want.

This seems obvious to me , but people want to argue differently ..

Trifili13

This seems obvious to me , but people want to argue differently ..
Yes. It just seems some are blinded by their dislike of AFL and that just because the NRL rates higher it should get more money. Some are happy for Foxtel to fold if Stan gets it now, but that eliminates a potential bidder next time around. If say Stan is the only paytv bidder next time because Foxtel/Dazn have gone broke, why would Stan bid against itself next time to raise the price. You need healthy competition for the rights to get a better price. Same if 7 goes broke because of the AFL rights. Nine won't have competition.

Our NZ friends can confirm, but is their only 1 paytv company in that country? Doesn't matter how popular league is getting there, the paytv company will not empty its wallet to the NRL if it does not have competition for the rights.

Same as people wanting union to die off or become park level and irrelevant but then wanting the NRL and union to team up to lobby government to get stadiums built. Can't have it both ways.