Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

NFT - I Love You Guys!

I may have posted this before, but can we all stop saying that the 'other' forum is full of special ed kids? It's simply not true.

I work with special ed kids, and my kids are heaps smarter (not to mention funnier) than the members of that forum.

I may have posted this before, but can we all stop saying that the 'other' forum is full of special ed kids? It's simply not true.

I work with special ed kids, and my kids are heaps smarter (not to mention funnier) than the members of that forum.

to be fair i don't think anyone has sunk that low in this thread yet, but i'm thinking that wasn't part of, or is irrelevant to your joke. A+, Matty :D!

Big Tim

to be fair i don't think anyone has sunk that low in this thread yet, but i'm thinking that wasn't part of, or is irrelevant to your joke. A+, Matty :D!

So you didnt read the post above yours? :lol::lol::crazy:

jamesgould

bumpity bump!

just thought i would post this here for everyone to have a bit of a chuckle at. it certainly amused me ;)

please note that this is a direct result of this very thread, as i have not posted on this forum in.. well.. forever.

quite indicative of the general mentality. can't cop a bit of criticism. soft. hahahaha.

Yes it was as a result of this thread. Why do you even want to log-on there though, given your obvious dislike of the place?

Joker's Wild

So any negative talk is met with the ban hammer over there at your site James?

Im sure pervy is not losing any sleep but it is pretty petty to ban his account due to what he has posted on another site

jamesgould

So any negative talk is met with the ban hammer over there at your site James?

Im sure pervy is not losing any sleep but it is pretty petty to ban his account due to what he has posted on another site

It probably is petty, but some of the stuff from the original post was just as petty.

the blind optimism, naivity and occasional sheer stupidity on display is simply mind boggling.

it beats the living sh*t out of a forum that is run by fanatical zealots.

I've spent a lot of time, energy and money on that place, to see threads on here from fellow Knights fans bagging it out is pretty depressing. Nobody is forcing anyone on here to read it or post there ... it's much like here, just designed to help Knights fans get together and have a chat. Nobody over there is claiming to be the second-coming of Einstein.

Just seems a bit sad that you guys feel the need to run other Knights fans down, coz they aren't up to your high standards.

Joker's Wild

FTR James the content side of your site is really good

The forum is full of teeny boppers though

Not really your fault

Apey

It probably is petty, but some of the stuff from the original post was just as petty.

I've spent a lot of time, energy and money on that place, to see threads on here from fellow Knights fans bagging it out is pretty depressing. Nobody is forcing anyone on here to read it or post there ... it's much like here, just designed to help Knights fans get together and have a chat. Nobody over there is claiming to be the second-coming of Einstein.

Just seems a bit sad that you guys feel the need to run other Knights fans down, coz they aren't up to your high standards.

I don't think he's having a go at your site dude just the people who visit it. I doubt Coby would take offence if you called the people here idiots. In fact, I bet he'd be one of the first to agree :lol:

*rubs hands together*

good for you, champion! i put a lot of work into a lot of websites for a living, so i can appreciate that. i also have my work criticised and i'm man enough to cop it on the chin, no matter how harsh. i also engage in discussion on how it could be improved. i certainly don't shun criticism, i embrace it and learn from it. want me to shoot from the hip? my first post was kind, and i did leave a thin veil of anonymity over all my posts so that no-one who didn't already hold an opinion of your website could make their own judgements. hell, i feel i was much fairer than i could.. or evidently should have been.

the hilarity of it all is that i wasn't critical of your site itself (or you specifically, for that matter), only those who visit it and moderate it (or more accurately - the policies which it is moderated by). you have, and do provide some good content. some of your highlights videos on youtube are also good for a watch. unfortunately upon my banning you proved to me that, not only was i 100% on the mark with your site, but that you are just another pea in its' pod.

i think your sites patronage is largely a joke, and i think the site is heavily over-moderated. the "Forum of Love" bullsh*t that you lot go on with is an absolute disgrace, it is not conducive to critical thinking or solid debate and discussion - and it probably contributes to some of the delusions that members go on with. if you can't handle my opinion (obviously i have hurt you deeply, when my criticism was not directed at yourself or intended personally to the webmaster), that is fine.

to answer your question of how i found out i was banned, macavity (who is a good friend of mine, and is treated pretty grossly from time to time on your website also) posted me a link to a thread that i assume was about the Crusade. we were talking about disappointing numbers, particularly for our most recent Monday night game. I typically don't read or post on your site, although i have infrequently this year in the same way i occasionally watch car racing for the crashes (i have zero interest in the sport, but who doesn't love a disaster, on some level?). i have been there bugger all before that. your logs will prove all of that to be true.

speaking of running other knights fans down, how about the widely held opinions of the Crusade on your very own forum? do you give them the same speech that their behaviour is sad... or depressing? i don't know your own opinion of our supporters group... but i'm interested if you hold your own band of merry men to the same high standard you would hold us (or me)? do they get warned for bagging the Crusade? do they get put in time out? have you banned anyone for it? suggested they enjoy the pungent flavour of sphincter?

you were petty to ban me for my thoughts, but that's just it isn't it? i think that really illustrates the massive contrast between the mentalities of LU versus the mentality of your own forum, which is what my thread was intended to achieve. on the one hand, someone could copy and paste my post and re-write it directed squarely at LU. we'd all have a laugh, some of us would debate it, others would ridicule it... but it would all be fair game. there would be no banning... no broken hearts. i'm a fan of telling it how i perceive it to be, and this forum accomodates things like free speach (within reason and legality) and open debate. we're all richer and wiser for it. we don't have to pretend to like each other, and hell, if we want to play the man instead of the issue... that's fair game too. it certainly adds flavour. welcome to the real world. on the flipside, your forum is run like a school classroom. if 2 of the kiddies aren't getting along, you delete or moderate posts, or you hand out warnings. if someone posts thinly veiled criticism on another forum, you take the purile option and ban them, calling them an arselicker in the process.

for the record, i had no problem or beef with you in particular... well until you called me an arselicker anyway. hell, i wouldn't have had a problem with you banning me on it's own, but to me that was a bit personal... petty... childish... etc. to be honest, i still dont have any particular beef with you, but my opinion of you is certainly diminished from neutral to... something ever so slightly below neutral (it may surprise you to learn i've been called much nastier things than arselicker).

so there you have it. how you cope with my opinion is your own problem. i tell it as i see it. some will agree with me, some won't... and some will see it somewhere in the middle, and ill be held accountable for that one way or another, probably in this very thread. i've got no problem with that, in fact i look forward to it. enjoy your little love in on your own website, and do keep up the good work with your visual content, pictures and video. your efforts certainly arn't unnoticed in that area. if anyone from your forum wants to come and give me a piece of their mind, or if they want to gain some perspective and a sense of reality about rugby league, then they are welcome to signup to LU, i'm sure. i won't be going anywhere. you know where to find me.

Matt23

I can actually see where James is coming from, he does have a point about Knights fans bagging each other out though.

do you believe we should all be united with common opinions, and all like each other? that we should all just get along because we happen to have one thing in common, that being our support of the knights? i support the team... not my fellow supporters... and i completely reserve my right to dislike them if i so choose, and express it. i get along with or agree with people that i get along with or agree with, not people that i get along with and agree with, plus knights supporters. this place would be boring without some conflict.

i think its absurd to think that we should all just get along... and if we were made to do so around here i would lose interest in the place very quickly.

additionally - he is completely hypocritical, because plenty of knights fans bag each other out on his very own forum (or, more accurately, plenty of the patrons of his forum bag out the Crusade, one of the most devoted and passionate groups of supporters this club has).

Serc

Just something slightly to the contrary on the 'everyone getting along' thing...I like to think that straight off the bat I share some common ground with any Knights fan. Of course you're not going to get along with everyone - but I genuinely have time for practically everyone in our Knights section here, whether I think they make Baron pre-coffee posts, or macavity captain emo posts!

Sure you can get a little cheesed off sometimes when we have our big discussions (often arguments), but as has been said thats what creates a good place for learning and laughs. Posters are able to put their thoughts out there without fear of not 'towing the party line' to use a political phrase, but at the same time know that they could get a heap of posts that tell them its a ridiculous idea, or a brilliant idea, or perhaps something in between...or even a very polarised opinion with both ends of the spectrum!

roopy

There's a lot to like about MS.
It's not the place for me because i personally hate over moderation, but it's a great place for young people IMO - and in many areas the level of discussion is better than here because you don't get the mindless flame wars and petty point scoring.

have to disagree. the mindless flame wars and petty point scoring are like spice and flavour. just look at what someone like Karmawave brings to our forums. it makes things interesting. people love conflict. rugby league, itself, is a conflict. Karma is as much an asset to this forum for the opinions he brings as much as the conflict he draws out of other posters, myself included.

i'm not just here to get informed, to discuss and to dissect (although i am here for all of those reasons, too). i'm also here to be entertained.

as for it being a good place for young people... well i suppose that is completely subjective to the young person, or to the older person who thinks it's better for said young person.

I'm only here for the football - the rest is boring bullsh*t.
that's fair enough, too. each to their own.

the football and 4C... of course... :)

i don't really care that the other forum exists, they have the right to exist and hold hands and do what they do... i just reserve the right to call it how i see it. if they take exception to that criticism then that's fine, too. i don't have to like what they are and what they have, and i should be allowed to say that. i'm glad LU facilitates this. that is what this thread was about, giving LU a wrap and pointing it out in contrast to... the other forum.

that got me banned from there. i found that both highly amusing and illustrative of the point i was trying to make in the first place.

Noname36

I agree that the content of MS is wonderful, but I can't agree with this bolded part. I joined MS in about 08, and at that stage I made a post declaring that I didn't rate a certain player. I was attacked left, right and centre, and basically told that I didn't know what the f**k I was talking about, as everyone apparently knows that this player is wonderful. I was told that he's a brilliant player because a) he's a Knight's junior, b) he's a fantastic fella, and c) it isn't his fault that he cant defend due to his size (do you know who I'm talking about?)

I was turned off the place after that, for being brutally attacked for merely stating an opinion of a player (which turned out to be correct in 2010). I didn't insult anyone in the forum, and I concluded myself that said player does seem like a good guy. I still read the forums now and again though because some of the content (vids, etc) are fantastic, but I basically never posted again. It just wasn't worth pissing people off again, merely because I said that a certain player was average. And that's the bad part, I honestly think that I really upset them when I said he was average.

jamesgould

I think most people on here think that this forum of love joke (it is a joke you know?) is about everyone agreeing, when it is more about what you mention Roopy. Just not personally attacking other posters coz of what they think and letting everyone express an opinion.

There's certainly lots of disagreement on there, and it's not all blind support of the club - eg. loads wanting Mullen dropped earlier this year, loads wanting to get rid of Stone. It would be pretty boring if everyone agreed on everything.

As for the younger members you mention in another post Roopy, I'm between a rock and a hard place. Me and the other mods do try really hard to get them to improve their posts, think before posting, post more than a few words ... and most of them will go on mod pretty soon after they join if they don't. But they do deserve a say too, and the aim is to make them better contributors - which has happened with plenty of posters.

But there's also loads of younger posters who make great posts and intelligent points straight off the bat.

*rubs hands together*

good for you, champion! i put a lot of work into a lot of websites for a living, so i can appreciate that. i also have my work criticised and i'm man enough to cop it on the chin, no matter how harsh. i also engage in discussion on how it could be improved. i certainly don't shun criticism, i embrace it and learn from it. want me to shoot from the hip? my first post was kind, and i did leave a thin veil of anonymity over all my posts so that no-one who didn't already hold an opinion of your website could make their own judgements. hell, i feel i was much fairer than i could.. or evidently should have been.

the hilarity of it all is that i wasn't critical of your site itself (or you specifically, for that matter), only those who visit it and moderate it (or more accurately - the policies which it is moderated by). you have, and do provide some good content. some of your highlights videos on youtube are also good for a watch. unfortunately upon my banning you proved to me that, not only was i 100% on the mark with your site, but that you are just another pea in its' pod.

i think your sites patronage is largely a joke, and i think the site is heavily over-moderated. the "Forum of Love" bullsh*t that you lot go on with is an absolute disgrace, it is not conducive to critical thinking or solid debate and discussion - and it probably contributes to some of the delusions that members go on with. if you can't handle my opinion (obviously i have hurt you deeply, when my criticism was not directed at yourself or intended personally to the webmaster), that is fine.

to answer your question of how i found out i was banned, macavity (who is a good friend of mine, and is treated pretty grossly from time to time on your website also) posted me a link to a thread that i assume was about the Crusade. we were talking about disappointing numbers, particularly for our most recent Monday night game. I typically don't read or post on your site, although i have infrequently this year in the same way i occasionally watch car racing for the crashes (i have zero interest in the sport, but who doesn't love a disaster, on some level?). i have been there bugger all before that. your logs will prove all of that to be true.

speaking of running other knights fans down, how about the widely held opinions of the Crusade on your very own forum? do you give them the same speech that their behaviour is sad... or depressing? i don't know your own opinion of our supporters group... but i'm interested if you hold your own band of merry men to the same high standard you would hold us (or me)? do they get warned for bagging the Crusade? do they get put in time out? have you banned anyone for it? suggested they enjoy the pungent flavour of sphincter?

you were petty to ban me for my thoughts, but that's just it isn't it? i think that really illustrates the massive contrast between the mentalities of LU versus the mentality of your own forum, which is what my thread was intended to achieve. on the one hand, someone could copy and paste my post and re-write it directed squarely at LU. we'd all have a laugh, some of us would debate it, others would ridicule it... but it would all be fair game. there would be no banning... no broken hearts. i'm a fan of telling it how i perceive it to be, and this forum accomodates things like free speach (within reason and legality) and open debate. we're all richer and wiser for it. we don't have to pretend to like each other, and hell, if we want to play the man instead of the issue... that's fair game too. it certainly adds flavour. welcome to the real world. on the flipside, your forum is run like a school classroom. if 2 of the kiddies aren't getting along, you delete or moderate posts, or you hand out warnings. if someone posts thinly veiled criticism on another forum, you take the purile option and ban them, calling them an arselicker in the process.

for the record, i had no problem or beef with you in particular... well until you called me an arselicker anyway. hell, i wouldn't have had a problem with you banning me on it's own, but to me that was a bit personal... petty... childish... etc. to be honest, i still dont have any particular beef with you, but my opinion of you is certainly diminished from neutral to... something ever so slightly below neutral (it may surprise you to learn i've been called much nastier things than arselicker).

so there you have it. how you cope with my opinion is your own problem. i tell it as i see it. some will agree with me, some won't... and some will see it somewhere in the middle, and ill be held accountable for that one way or another, probably in this very thread. i've got no problem with that, in fact i look forward to it. enjoy your little love in on your own website, and do keep up the good work with your visual content, pictures and video. your efforts certainly arn't unnoticed in that area. if anyone from your forum wants to come and give me a piece of their mind, or if they want to gain some perspective and a sense of reality about rugby league, then they are welcome to signup to LU, i'm sure. i won't be going anywhere. you know where to find me.

Perverse, to be honest I didn't have much of a problem with what you said in the original post, but it lead to stuff like this:

Which I reckon is uncalled for. And the fact you started the thread lead me to think you wouldn't be requiring your account again. I didn't do the banning myself, so dunno what's up with the message you got.

Now you were critical of the modding, which is me. I don't know how you claim to know how much moderation goes on, when you aren't a mod there? The only stuff that is deleted there is pointless one-word posts which waste people's time. I can only think of one thread that has been closed in the last 6 months ... a Tahu / Johns one which I personally thought was getting a bit dicey with some of the content ... that was a judgement call on my part. There were several others later on that I left open though, and I think one is still being posted in at the moment.

It's true I put a ban on threads with mindless speculation as to who was off-contract and who we could sign, but that was because we were getting post after post of every player who was off-contract in the NRL.

As for the Crusade stuff, I don't think anyone on there has personally attacked the Crusade members ... some don't like the Crusade, but yep, that's life. If this thread had opened just saying lu is way better than ms then I wouldn't have been worried at all, but fanatical zealots, sheer stupidity, etc, and what came later on in the thread was I felt uncalled for.

If macavity or anyone involved in the Crusade does have a problem with any of the posts then please report the post in question or contact me somehow and I'll look into it.

I agree that the content of MS is wonderful, but I can't agree with this bolded part. I joined MS in about 08, and at that stage I made a post declaring that I didn't rate a certain player. I was attacked left, right and centre, and basically told that I didn't know what the f**k I was talking about, as everyone apparently knows that this player is wonderful. I was told that he's a brilliant player because a) he's a Knight's junior, b) he's a fantastic fella, and c) it isn't his fault that he cant defend due to his size (do you know who I'm talking about?)

I was turned off the place after that, for being brutally attacked for merely stating an opinion of a player (which turned out to be correct in 2010). I didn't insult anyone in the forum, and I concluded myself that said player does seem like a good guy. I still read the forums now and again though because some of the content (vids, etc) are fantastic, but I basically never posted again. It just wasn't worth pissing people off again, merely because I said that a certain player was average. And that's the bad part, I honestly think that I really upset them when I said he was average.

I'm sorry to hear that mate ... again I wish you had have reported the posts in question and I could have done something about it. There did used to be more support for Dureau than there is now on there, but he's always had his detractors there as well.

Just something slightly to the contrary on the 'everyone getting along' thing...I like to think that straight off the bat I share some common ground with any Knights fan. Of course you're not going to get along with everyone - but I genuinely have time for practically everyone in our Knights section here, whether I think they make Baron pre-coffee posts, or macavity captain emo posts!

Sure you can get a little cheesed off sometimes when we have our big discussions (often arguments), but as has been said thats what creates a good place for learning and laughs. Posters are able to put their thoughts out there without fear of not 'towing the party line' to use a political phrase, but at the same time know that they could get a heap of posts that tell them its a ridiculous idea, or a brilliant idea, or perhaps something in between...or even a very polarised opinion with both ends of the spectrum!