Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

No day time finals after round 1?

Simo

I dont know if this has been discussed but I was browsing through the big league on the weekend and noticed a poll or snippet that said 'is it good that after week 1 of the finals the sundays arvo games are now friday night'

Now that will really piss me off if true. Its the best time of year for arvo footy and theres nothing better than a september day out in the sun watching the finals.

Im not big on nighttime grand finals (thats for origin and tests) but to now rob us of any finals action in the daytime is really bad in my opinion.

If anyone has been out on the weekends lately you will have noticed how heading in to spring, watching a game in the arvo is unreal.

Is it true or something that has been suggested?

Walt Flanigan

Originally I was against night time Grand Finals, but now after I've been to a few I've changed my mind. You sit and enjoy watching the other games during the day then between Premier League and 1st Grade it gets dark and the atmosphere really starts to build.

Why is it garbage? There is an increasing push in society where people work daytimes on Saturdays and Sundays. Matches at night are quite often easier to get to for a lot of people. The vote in the poll on NRL.com was resounding... it's a much more popular option according to that site... but let me guess - there's an excuse for that too?

Cletus

Agree with Ink. A few teams usually play home games on sunday arvos, so I don't see why they can't play one semi on sunday arvo.

You still get the crowd numbers and atmosphere for a day game. Its just not the same tbh, what do you expect people to do who dont work on Sundays? Sundays without footy during the season, just wont be the same.

innsaneink said:
I included a 'why' in my post....1 line, 11 words yet you still missed it.

Still, you're being a f**king sook ;-)

The question was put out there and the majority agreed.

Sook on.

Pierced Soul

I'm a fan of nightime GF's but I'm not happy they've decided to take away sunday arvo finals (go figure).

I'm sure the reasoning will ahve something to do with ratings. ANother possibility is that since the GF is played at night, it may be seen as mroe advantageous for all teams to play as many night games as possible

phonetic

Bad call from the NRL in my opinion. Nothing better than the SFS/Homebush on a Sunday afternoon in September. There should be night finals too, but we shouldn't be getting rid of day games like this.

Unfortunately day games are being phased out. Monday night football, and an extra Friday game is going to make Sunday at the footy an even more rare experience... which is sad.

Mr_Raditch

innsaneink said:
I included a 'why' in my post....1 line, 11 words yet you still missed it.

Gotta gree with ya on that one Ink. Going to the SFS for the tigers game against the broncs in week 2 last year on a Sunday afternoon, was I think the best way to spend a Sunday afternoon possible. What better way to take your mind off the week of work ahead.

edit: woops wrong quote, meant to quote your first post.

Two Sundays at the business end of the season before the GF with nothing happening , leaves the door open for someone else to move in....

Well you lot have a funny way of showing it. On NRL.com the poll was posted for agreeance or dissatisfaction with the choice... IIRC around 50% were happy with it... but I'm guessing because it disagrees with what you believe it's not valid? Come on fishy fishy fishy...

I voted yes. I don't have a problem with the games being Friday Saturday nights.

rabbs

The Rugby League Supporters Association wrote to the league to ask the question why, the reply was.The decision was made in Dec 2005 after it was widely supported by the clubs on the basis of attendance patterns.The league says that the increasing audiences at the grounds and through television broadcasts demonstrated the need for sports to test the notion of 'traditional' timeslots.So it is mostly to do with advertisement revenue for channel nine.

Simo

I just find it a shame......arvo finals footy is/was one of my favourite parts of finals time.

I dont hate night games but sunday arvo finals/footy is part of it all for me.

For the record, I had no idea this poll existed that apparently took place.

Granted, but at the same time - just because a few people here didn't know of it's existence, doesn't mean the result would've changed greatly.