Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

No stepping back: Mason

Broncodroid

No stepping back

By IAIN PAYTEN

The Daily Telegraph

September 28, 2004

THE Bulldogs have vowed to meet fire with fire if the Roosters spark an early confrontation in Sunday's grand final.

In the best of grand final week traditions, Dogs players Braith Anasta and Willie Mason yesterday gave firm assurances to the Bondi Junction club a repeat of strong-arm tactics used against the Cowboys will not be tolerated.

A clash in the third minute of the preliminary final at Telstra Stadium, which saw Luke Ricketson charged with striking yesterday, saw fired-up Roosters swarm into a melee with the Cowboys.

Among many skirmishes, North Queensland halfback Nathan Fien ended up with loose teeth and fullback Matt Bowen was slugged by centre Justin Hodges.

Anasta declared his side would not be intimidated in the opening exchanges.

"If they put s... on us we are not going to back off. You can't let teams get over you," he said.

Mason said he believed the grand final would be clean but added there were no shortage of Bulldogs ready to defend teammates if trouble flared up.

"The Roosters don't usually play that sort of game and I don't think they will play it with us, but if they want to no one is going to shirk their job," Mason said.

"We are not intimidated by anyone. Nobody in this side will back down an inch."

In a game marred with unsavoury episodes, North Queensland were dismayed the confidence of strike weapon Bowen had been damaged after his clash with Hodges.

Bowen involved himself in the fight and was not an innocent victim, but concern about possible targeting of Bulldogs rookies was not being entertained yesterday.

"That's all part of the game. Our young blokes handle themselves real well," said Anasta.

"Our team is a very close-knit team and if anyone wants to put anything on, I am sure our team will stick up for each other."

The Dogs were in high spirits going through a regular boxing session yesterday at North Cronulla surf club.

Three reserve Bulldogs forwards trained with the squad; Jamie Feeney, Dennis Scott and Hutch Maiava.

Second-rower Andrew Ryan, the man tipped to captain the Dogs should Price be ruled out, said a replacement had not yet been discussed however.

"I guess we can take a fair bit of confidence out of that we did play without him [against Penrith], but in saying that he's a great player and he's one of the form front- rowers in the comp," Ryan said.

Roy Asotasi would likely step into the starting side, although Folkes' concern is lack of match fitness for the bench man. Scott has not played for six weeks with a foot injury. Feeney and Maiava have been idle since the Dogs' Premier League side was outed two weeks ago.

Another option could be to include Johnathan Thurston in the 17 and move Braith Anasta into the forward pack.

Anasta said his fractured sternum had stood up well to Saturday's highly physical encounter with Penrith.

"It feels really good. It got a couple of solid hits and obviously it was a bit sore, but I have come out OK," he said.

The Bulldogs watched the Roosters' tight win over the Cowboys and fear the tricolours' capacity to improve, said Anasta.

"They are playing good footy, but they can play a lot better. That is the valuable thing for them," he said.

Ryan dismissed the lack of grand final experience in the Dogs side, compared to the 16 Roosters who have played in three consecutive appearances.

"A fair few of the guys haven't played semis before either. They just take each week as it comes and they're not too worried about it which is good," the 2001 grand Parramatta grand finalist said.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I had to post this article as when I read Willie Mason was the Canterbury player carrying on with this, I had to laugh. This is the same Willie Mason who backed down to Cowboys five-eight David Myles recently. This is the same Willie Mason who is the Bulldogs answer to Justin Hodges...lot of talk no action.

Mason is a brilliant young player. This season is arguably his best since entering the top grade. But there is one thing (apart from immaturity) that Mason suffers from and that is Big Man Syndrome. What's that I hear some ask ?

BMS, is when an individual of size thinks he is 'King of the jungle' so to speak for the only reason being he is bigger than everyone around him. Mason, like Hodges, is full of hot air when it comes to the throw back days where guys wouldn't talk about what they were going to do, they just did it.

Mason, please, save yourself some embarassment and keep to the 'all business' style you have adopted since your low life act during S.O.O. which one young fan in particular will always remember and for all the wrong reasons.

If this was coming from Mark O'Meley, it carries some weight, coming through you or Braith makes me cringe with embarassment.

This is the same Willie Mason who backed down to Cowboys five-eight David Myles recently
:lol: :lol:

Good call
I've never seen him run so fast than when he hit that little bloke
He RAN away like nothing I've ever seen before
He was pushing blokes from behind him so he could run
Never seen anything so cowardly from a big man in all my life

wittyfan

I'm still waiting for the obligatory "I'm reformed" article on Mason this week. I hope the papers don't let me down. :lol:

gregstar

i don't particularly like "big" willy. could someone give me a reason why he punched myles and ran away?

I'm still waiting for the obligatory "I'm reformed" article on Mason this week. I hope the papers don't let me down
:lol: :lol:
Good call
Dont forget the "this is the first time I've ever cared about my footy" article from last week though, geez Dogs fans must have been real thrilled to hear that!

i don't particularly like "big" willy. could someone give me a reason why he punched myles and ran away?

Simple - he's a coward.

choc_soldier

sullyfan said:
I'm still waiting for the obligatory "I'm reformed" article on Mason this week. I hope the papers don't let me down. :lol:

And also "the-whole-world-is-out-to-get-me" one too...

redVgirl

bahaha oh dear this is starting to sound like boxers riling each other up before a match! i kind of hope they all go out there with hot heads, its shaping up to be an all in brawl if they do. i dislike both teams so i dont mind seeing them all get smacked in the head. bring back the biff! 8)

strong_latte

Big Willy's an absolute f**kwhit and a coward! He whinges and whinges all the time about "everyone hates me" and thinks he is king shit! Even the NSW supporters booed him in ORIGIN! That says something! It is dickheads like him that are largely responsible for everyone hating the dogs! The asshole turned up to the rape hearing in T-shirt, thongs and shorts! .... wanker!

ByRd

I WOULDN'T TALK YOU f**kIN IDIOT RORTER FAN :lol:

YOUR TEAM IS HOME TO THE LEAGUES WORST COWARDS (WALKER/HODGES) & THE DIRTEST TEAM IN THE COMP.

WAIT FOR A f**kIN BEATING ON SUNDAY & BIG WILLIE TO DOMINATE :twisted:

m0j0

gregstar said:
what about the drugs?

Are you talking about the drugs he's taking to control his ADHD, or the drugs (*cough* cocaine) someone at the Bulldogs alledgedly tested positive for but it was all subsequently swept under the carpet?

Chook

m0j0 said:
gregstar said:
what about the drugs?

Are you talking about the drugs he's taking to control his ADHD, or the drugs (*cough* cocaine) someone at the Bulldogs alledgedly tested positive for but it was all subsequently swept under the carpet?

That's one mother of a carpet they have at the dogs. It's bigger than a pool cover I know that.

Chook.

Billy Gunn

Chook said:
m0j0 said:
gregstar said:
what about the drugs?

That's one mother of a carpet they have at the dogs. It's bigger than a pool cover I know that.

Chook.

Thanks Chook I just choked on my drink reading that

Billy

gregstar

is it true that you can halucinate under the influence of *cough* cocaine? It would explain mason backing away from myles because he thought he was "the devil"!

RB30DETT

If you call moving your weight onto your back foot so you dont get hit running away, then yes he ran away.