Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non-eels footy stuff

Happy MEel

Soren Lorenson

What Dibs said. There has been no mention of other players involved not consenting to their distribution.

According to the article below it is the two females who are the victims and have reported it to Police.

https://www.google.com.au/amp/s/amp.9news.com.au/article/1d83cb6d-9582-43dd-beab-7b789a1a48b3
The point @I'm a loser baby... is making, is that Napa also did not consent to having a video of himself being distributed. Yet he got punished. Maybe he should go to the police. Maybe he already has.

I'm not taking sides here because I have long been dismayed by the adject stupidity of NRL players. But imagine if you are porking your girlfriend and someone makes a video of it then releases it, and your employer fines you 10% of your wages for bringing the company into disrepute even if you weren't working for them at the time. Then the next week the same thing happens to your mate in the company up the road, and instead of that company fining your mate, the person who sent out the vid gets charged by the cops. It's the inconsistency that people get the shits about, and I think Napa would probably by privately feeling a little bit hard done by.

And finally, what if the bloke who distributed the video of Napa gets caught and also charged with a crime. Does he get his money back? What a f**ken Pandora's box.

Happy MEel

The point @I'm a loser baby... is making, is that Napa also did not consent to having a video of himself being distributed. Yet he got punished. Maybe he should go to the police. Maybe he already has.

I'm not taking sides here because I have long been dismayed by the adject stupidity of NRL players. But imagine if you are porking your girlfriend and someone makes a video of it then releases it, and your employer fines you 10% of your wages for bringing the company into disrepute even if you weren't working for them at the time. Then the next week the same thing happens to your mate in the company up the road, and instead of that company fining your mate, the person who sent out the vid gets charged by the cops. It's the inconsistency that people get the shits about, and I think Napa would probably by privately feeling a little bit hard done by.

And finally, what if the bloke who distributed the video of Napa gets caught and also charged with a crime. Does he get his money back? What a f**ken Pandora's box.
Napa should absolutely have gone to Police if he had nothing to do with their initial distribution. I have some degree of sympathy for Napa but ultimately he placed himself in the risky position of knowingly allowing himself to get filmed by a 3rd party and is now paying the price.

This scenario is vastly different to the Tyrone May case though, which is predominantly about distribution.

Soren Lorenson

This scenario is vastly different to the Tyrone May case though, which is predominantly about distribution.
Absolutely agree with this. But it also highlights the problems with the NRL position on the Napa situation. There's probably no right position though- doing nothing is also not an option.

Put the trials aside - Does anyone think its remotely possible that the continued shit behaviour of NRL players has contributed to the NRL being less popular?

Its not the sole reason but it has to be a factor. I reckon the average player these days is far less interesting and worthy of support.

Weidler probably has a point, but he picked the wrong game to make it.

i think the bigger worry is sponsors pulling out rather than lower ratings or crowds
companies tend to err on the side of caution if they think a scandal will affect their brand

i think the bigger worry is sponsors pulling out rather than lower ratings or crowds
companies tend to err on the side of caution if they think a scandal will affect their brand
Sponsors who are a bit iffy about the cash they are stumping up just look for excuses to pull out