Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non-eels footy stuff

Maybe wearing a YKTR shirt is like an underground signal. ;)

12.jpg

How Shane Flanagan brought Sharks to its knees with cap rorts

Shane Flanagan made one fatal mistake that plunged the Cronulla Sharks into a million-dollar salary cap scandal and cost him his job.

The now deregistered coach sent a confidential spreadsheet of undisclosed player payments from his own private Bigpond account to his Sharks email address on June 3, 2017.

It was a moment of self-destruction, and the smoking gun at the centre of the NRL’s investigation.

The spreadsheet was originally in an email from another person connected to the club.

It reveals hundreds of thousands of dollars of unapproved third-party agreements, including cash payments, to seven of his star players who had won the premiership the previous season.

The Sunday Telegraph has obtained the secret document that left the 2016 premiers facing a crippling salary cap crisis and $1 million in fines.

It is the first evidence that Flanagan had knowledge of the additional payments to players.

Porn shop king Con Ange was found among the data base of around 20 third party providers.

The Sunday Telegraph can also today reveal the names of the players affected by the scandal — Luke Lewis, James Maloney, Wade Graham, Valentine Holmes, Josh Dugan, Jack Bird and Chris Heighington. Holmes, Maloney, Bird, Lewis and Heighington have since left the club.

The Sharks committed $200,000 to Lewis between 2013 and 2016 in payments not disclosed on his playing contract. Another $80,000 went to Bird.

Some of the money was paid to their managers in cash, in amounts of up to $25,000.

There is no suggestion that any of the players or their managers were aware that the payments contravened salary cap rules.

NRL chief executive Todd Greenberg reveals in a letter to the Sharks that the hidden payments were uncovered by integrity unit investigators from the Sharks’ internet server, which contained the email Flanagan sent to himself while he was the team’s coach.

Flanagan sent himself the email 12 months before the Sharks salary cap rorts were exposed. Otherwise it may not have been detected. Other copies were kept on private email accounts.

Until then the NRL knew only of $75,000 in undisclosed payments that had been self-reported by chief executive Barry Russell.

All up, the NRL investigation identified $993,000 of financial commitments by the club to the players that were not included in contracts registered with the NRL.

The spreadsheet on Flanagan’s email was compiled by a company called Connection 2 Sport.

The managing director, Luke Edmonds, started the company when he resigned from his role at the Sharks as its sponsorship manager. Edmonds has denied any wrongdoing.

upload_2019-3-24_0-9-14.jpeg

The NRL says Connection 2 Sport was established with the knowledge of the Sharks board and executive, yet no action has been taken against their CEO Lyall Gorman, who now works at Manly. Gorman has denied any wrong doing

“Edmonds and Connection 2 Sport were from its inception the primary drivers for the sourcing of third party agreements for the Sharks playing roster,” Greenberg writes in his letter.

“Edmonds would provide hospitality and an ‘inner sanctum’ experience for actual and potential third party agreement providers.”

Under NRL salary cap rules, it is illegal for club officials to facilitate or have any involvement in third-party deals.

The Sharks declined to comment.

https://www.outline.com/Wwbhju

The fact that some wanted this man at our club is mind-blowing.

And FTR I don't mean Avenger, who was smart enough to change his POV after hearing what Flanno was really up to.

Rugby League immortal Andrew Johns calls for NRL to be cut to 12 teams

And given he still sees the need for one more team in each of Brisbane and New Zealand, that’s bad news for New South Wales.

“I think it should be 12 teams,” Johns said on Wide World of Sports. “I know from a broadcaster’s (point-of-view) they wouldn’t be happy with that. But I just think there’s not enough talent going around, there’s too many teams in Sydney, nine teams in Sydney is too many, but how they cull them is going to be really difficult.”

https://www.foxsports.com.au/nrl/nr...k=3a8ac8bc6d0969df3f545ea61671bf04-1553368574

TWELVE TEAMS! is joey off his head or what? (don't answer that)

there's no way in hell nine and fox are going to keep paying the same money or even more for only six games a week how does he expect the game to survive?

And FTR I don't mean Avenger, who was smart enough to change his POV after hearing what Flanno was really up to.
Who didnt change their pov when they found out he was dodgy?

St George Illawarra front-rower James Graham has penned the following personal statement, in response to a Sydney Morning Herald article aimed at him late last week in respect to his views and comments on concussion.

I would like to start by saying that in 15 years as a professional sportsman and having countless articles written about or involving me I have never felt compelled to respond to a single one, until now. Some of these past articles are opinion pieces, some of which have called for me to be rubbed out of the game for years or suggested I be stripped of the captaincy from my previous club.

Seeing as though you have addressed me personally last Thursday, I feel obliged to respond to your condescending portrayal of me and point out some glaring errors in your statements.

You start by saying I once refused to leave the field of play after an obvious head knock. Correct! You do however fail to acknowledge the fact that I've also subbed myself in a separate match because I felt as though I was concussed, even with no apparent contact with the head, but yet let's talk about what I failed to do. You choose this exact incident to suggest I need help and should talk to an expert. If you had bothered to read in full my comments you will see I made it perfectly clear that I have.

I have in fact seen a variety of doctors and completed multiple tests just for my own peace of mind and have took it upon myself to go beyond what the NRL have provided me. I think this fact debunks your strong opinion that I "downgrade the importance of the concussion issue". For the record, I take neurodegeneration and long term brain diseases incredibly seriously, and in all of the interviews last week in no way did I discount the seriousness of the matter.

You pointed me to an article which demonstrates "the need to make the game safer". I've read that article and it is in fact an interesting read. However for a more balanced view on the hugely complex issue of concussion, head trauma and their links to diseases like CTE, dementia, Alzheimer's and epilepsy I suggest you read the article in THE AGE by Konrad Marshall. If you're interested I can send you studies by Shawna Noy, MD, Sherry Krawitz, MD, PhD and Marc R.Del Bigio, MD, PhD, FRCPC. I'm also happy to share with you the Oxford press article from the archives of clinical neuropsychology which discuss head trauma in depth based on scientific studies and not opinions.

"This is not about you?" I'm sorry, but when I get asked a question asking my feelings towards concussion I tend to answer them from my perspective. The journalist who asked the question I'm sure was looking for some personal insight. Maybe you would have preferred the usual script given when being asked questions of this nature?

I'm actually appalled by you paraphrasing my words "basically, getting smashed in the head and getting on with it anyway is what goes with football". Sorry NO! I didn't say that, mate. Complete fiction. If you think I said that maybe you are the one that needs assessing.

If you are so concerned about the future health of contact sport and the athletes, maybe you should explore the avenues I have suggested. Unfortunately, you don't use your very influential platform to offer any suggestions on how we could make sport safer or how to best combat concussion.

Here's where I think we can help each other.

Substance abuse – After speaking with numerous doctors and reading the summaries of many studies, substance abuse is the number one thing you can control to affect your future health. A study done in Winnipeg, Canada found that about 35 per cent of the general population has CTE at autopsy if you look for it, and this was not related to concussion or head impacts. It was commonly associated with drug and alcohol abuse and in people over the age of 40. However, I also pointed out my grandmother suffered with dementia later in life and had no known history of substance abuse (she definitely didn't play in the NRL either).

Career transition – this is seemingly linked with substance abuse issues. It is something the NRL is working on but I do feel we need to be better. If you have some spare time please watch ESPN's 30 for 30 documentary 'Broke'. I know you have been through your own professional sport retirement but I've personally seen friends truly struggle to adapt back into normal life. I don't think any player is seeking sympathy as we have so many privileges afforded to us but after pursuing the dream of professional sport the aftermath can quickly become a nightmare. There is the counter argument however that any current or ex-player who finds himself on the wrong side of the law or suffering from health problems will make the headlines. A recent study by Professor Grant L Iverson from the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation of Harvard Medical School found that when compared to the general population, professional athletes in contact sports are actually less likely to commit suicide, suffer from depression or commit violent crimes.

Genetic testing/screening – From the research I have read, it appears that genetic testing specialists in this area are close to finding links to the carriers of certain genes and the diseases I have mentioned. If a player was to be found to be a carrier of a certain gene, how would the game deal with such findings? A blanket ban? Or is the player allowed to continue knowing the increased odds of them having health problems later in life? Just like those in soccer and athletics are trying to find solutions to the catastrophic deaths caused by hypertrophic cardiomyopathy through the screening of the heart and testing for genetic genes, is this a path rugby league could look at? This is an incredibly delicate situation to which I don't know the answers but I hope the people at the frontier can guide us.

The game – Just like coaches look for catalysts that lead to tries, an offload, a quick play the ball or high completion rates, could we not view head trauma in the game the same way and look for these precursors to concussions or head assessment injury? It might just be fatigue and if so how does the game address that? Is there an assumption that less interchanges means fewer injuries?

One suggestion of mine is the restarts. Greater distance between players tends to mean a greater force in the collisions. If this is proven, what does the game look like moving forward?

I appreciate you taking the time to take my call and to read this Peter. If you wish to discuss any of the content further, please feel free to contact the Dragons for my details.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/03/25/james-graham-statement-on-concussions/

St George Illawarra front-rower James Graham has penned the following personal statement, in response to a Sydney Morning Herald article aimed at him late last week in respect to his views and comments on concussion.

I would like to start by saying that in 15 years as a professional sportsman and having countless articles written about or involving me I have never felt compelled to respond to a single one, until now. Some of these past articles are opinion pieces, some of which have called for me to be rubbed out of the game for years or suggested I be stripped of the captaincy from my previous club.

Seeing as though you have addressed me personally last Thursday, I feel obliged to respond to your condescending portrayal of me and point out some glaring errors in your statements.

You start by saying I once refused to leave the field of play after an obvious head knock. Correct! You do however fail to acknowledge the fact that I've also subbed myself in a separate match because I felt as though I was concussed, even with no apparent contact with the head, but yet let's talk about what I failed to do. You choose this exact incident to suggest I need help and should talk to an expert. If you had bothered to read in full my comments you will see I made it perfectly clear that I have.

I have in fact seen a variety of doctors and completed multiple tests just for my own peace of mind and have took it upon myself to go beyond what the NRL have provided me. I think this fact debunks your strong opinion that I "downgrade the importance of the concussion issue". For the record, I take neurodegeneration and long term brain diseases incredibly seriously, and in all of the interviews last week in no way did I discount the seriousness of the matter.

You pointed me to an article which demonstrates "the need to make the game safer". I've read that article and it is in fact an interesting read. However for a more balanced view on the hugely complex issue of concussion, head trauma and their links to diseases like CTE, dementia, Alzheimer's and epilepsy I suggest you read the article in THE AGE by Konrad Marshall. If you're interested I can send you studies by Shawna Noy, MD, Sherry Krawitz, MD, PhD and Marc R.Del Bigio, MD, PhD, FRCPC. I'm also happy to share with you the Oxford press article from the archives of clinical neuropsychology which discuss head trauma in depth based on scientific studies and not opinions.

"This is not about you?" I'm sorry, but when I get asked a question asking my feelings towards concussion I tend to answer them from my perspective. The journalist who asked the question I'm sure was looking for some personal insight. Maybe you would have preferred the usual script given when being asked questions of this nature?

I'm actually appalled by you paraphrasing my words "basically, getting smashed in the head and getting on with it anyway is what goes with football". Sorry NO! I didn't say that, mate. Complete fiction. If you think I said that maybe you are the one that needs assessing.

If you are so concerned about the future health of contact sport and the athletes, maybe you should explore the avenues I have suggested. Unfortunately, you don't use your very influential platform to offer any suggestions on how we could make sport safer or how to best combat concussion.

Here's where I think we can help each other.

Substance abuse – After speaking with numerous doctors and reading the summaries of many studies, substance abuse is the number one thing you can control to affect your future health. A study done in Winnipeg, Canada found that about 35 per cent of the general population has CTE at autopsy if you look for it, and this was not related to concussion or head impacts. It was commonly associated with drug and alcohol abuse and in people over the age of 40. However, I also pointed out my grandmother suffered with dementia later in life and had no known history of substance abuse (she definitely didn't play in the NRL either).

Career transition – this is seemingly linked with substance abuse issues. It is something the NRL is working on but I do feel we need to be better. If you have some spare time please watch ESPN's 30 for 30 documentary 'Broke'. I know you have been through your own professional sport retirement but I've personally seen friends truly struggle to adapt back into normal life. I don't think any player is seeking sympathy as we have so many privileges afforded to us but after pursuing the dream of professional sport the aftermath can quickly become a nightmare. There is the counter argument however that any current or ex-player who finds himself on the wrong side of the law or suffering from health problems will make the headlines. A recent study by Professor Grant L Iverson from the Department of Physical Medicine and Rehabilitation of Harvard Medical School found that when compared to the general population, professional athletes in contact sports are actually less likely to commit suicide, suffer from depression or commit violent crimes.

Genetic testing/screening – From the research I have read, it appears that genetic testing specialists in this area are close to finding links to the carriers of certain genes and the diseases I have mentioned. If a player was to be found to be a carrier of a certain gene, how would the game deal with such findings? A blanket ban? Or is the player allowed to continue knowing the increased odds of them having health problems later in life? Just like those in soccer and athletics are trying to find solutions to the catastrophic deaths caused by hypertrophic cardiomyopathy through the screening of the heart and testing for genetic genes, is this a path rugby league could look at? This is an incredibly delicate situation to which I don't know the answers but I hope the people at the frontier can guide us.

The game – Just like coaches look for catalysts that lead to tries, an offload, a quick play the ball or high completion rates, could we not view head trauma in the game the same way and look for these precursors to concussions or head assessment injury? It might just be fatigue and if so how does the game address that? Is there an assumption that less interchanges means fewer injuries?

One suggestion of mine is the restarts. Greater distance between players tends to mean a greater force in the collisions. If this is proven, what does the game look like moving forward?

I appreciate you taking the time to take my call and to read this Peter. If you wish to discuss any of the content further, please feel free to contact the Dragons for my details.

https://www.dragons.com.au/news/2019/03/25/james-graham-statement-on-concussions/

^^^

As much as he claims that he has done his own research etc, he maintains that he deems his stance as an acceptable risk. With the greatest of respect to him, a layperson may not be in a position to review scientific findings and make a competent assessment.

I too think he is sending the wrong message. Nice guy and all, but Graham should respect scientific consensus and STFU. Won't anyone think of the children !

Yeah agreed, I think Graham has said the wrong thing...but definitely the other merkin needed putting in his place too. That said, all Graham is doing is feeding his narrative and ego. He's excellent at twisting a situation into a media storm and he has done so again.

^^^

As much as he claims that he has done his own research etc, he maintains that he deems his stance as an acceptable risk. With the greatest of respect to him, a layperson may not be in a position to review scientific findings and make a competent assessment.

I too think he is sending the wrong message. Nice guy and all, but Graham should respect scientific consensus and STFU. Won't anyone think of the children !

I agree with all of this but I just liked the fact that James had a shot at that pompous git Fitzsimmons.
Baz is right though. This will just further fuel Bandanas ego, and give him more ammunition for his Thursday and Saturday columns.
He needs something to write about, because he can't whine about stadiums anymore. They are going to get built, WITH taxpayers dollars.

Thanks Baz. This did leak to me. Not this much detail but the general context. This guy takes no prisoners.