Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Yeah go on, Hindy. It doesn't sound like a trick at all.

Tbh the only person I'd play a trick on here would be you.

Maybe Gary, but he tends to take things personally and I don't want to open my locker to find it full of South Sea Coneshells again on Monday. I've only just got rid of the tics from the last time

Yes you've got to watch out for Gary, he's like a sheep in sheep's clothing. An incredibly vengeful bloodthirsty sheep.

Not having a go at you, Gronk, but I wonder if you could elaborate on why you think the quality of life has improved for all mankind? From my perspective of having spent 62 years in this material world, I would question that assertion.
Gronk means it’s improved for the teeming masses overseas who now have television and all want to come and live in the West.

No way man. Now we have to much information our minds are muddled up with bullshit. And everything we do that is bad for us we know about so comes with a thought.

How good was it growing up as a kid being fed fish fingers and red cordial without feeling guilty about it.Or smoking when you where 13 just to be cool
Interestingly, while our physical health is better, mental illness has gone through the roof.

How much of that is simply a greater understanding of mental illness, though?

Shit, most baby boomers still think depression can be cured by just cheering up....

o0ujojz.jpg
You’re not still defending Hilary ffs?

How much of that is simply a greater understanding of mental illness, though?

Shit, most baby boomers still think depression can be cured by just cheering up....
There is obviously an improvement in detection and treatment. But there is strong evidence that urbanisation increases mental illness. Humans haven’t evolved to live like ants.

I might be way off here but for me mental illness is from people having to live some sort of life they where not meant for. We are forced to live these complicated lives and do all this crap that is kind of pointless cause at end of day we just need food,water,sleep and sex to survive.
Lets be honest how many go to work, do overtime, bust there balls and reward themself with a new car or replace the old sofa with the new one that was nothing wrong with or go buy a big new TV . Just trying to find reason or purpose to what they spent the last 3 yrs doing (passing f**king time )
Its not natural to have this noise go off to wake you up, nor is it natural to force self to go bed when not tired.Or talk bullshit to friends about their new thing they bought or some chik the rooted ......

They lived with more purpose

Rubbish.

They lived at a time where they could go straight out of highschool into a job that allowed them to buy a house and start a family by age 30. They didn't need to go through four years of uni. They didn't need five years experience for entry level jobs. They didn't NEED to work themselves half to death just to stay afloat.

They are also responsible for many of the problems the generations since face....they didn't live with purpose, they lived with far fewer responsibilities and they took far less responsibility as a result.

Bloke I worked with bought a house in an inner-south suburb of Canberra back in the day for basically two years wages. He recently sold it for $1.6 million. If you're an APS 4 in the public service (the level most graduates start at or near), earning roughly 65k a year, that's TWENTY FIVE YEARS wages.

The place across the road from me went for 550k (8 years wages for an APS 4) for a three bedroom ex-guvvy the size of a shack. They knocked it down, spent another 400k plus (another 6 years wages) building an actual decent house.

Yet you've got douchebag boomers telling millenials "just stop buying cups of coffee and you can save for a house!"

They are, as a generation, some of the most full of shit people remaining on the planet...

No way man. Now we have to much information our minds are muddled up with bullshit. And everything we do that is bad for us we know about so comes with a thought.

How good was it growing up as a kid being fed fish fingers and red cordial without feeling guilty about it.Or smoking when you where 13 just to be cool
But imagine how hard it would have been being a parent trying to make enough money to ensure your children have fish fingers, red cordial and durries.

If living longer is the basis then great we are improving as a species but there are less characters these days,less imaginations, More clones and people wanting there 15 mins im the sun.
More greedy, selfish attention seeking people living longer.
You are just becoming more aware as you get older. Those people have always been around.

Geez. Lighten up you mincer.

Yes you've got to watch out for Gary, he's like a sheep in sheep's clothing. An incredibly vengeful bloodthirsty sheep.

I keep telling you, I don’t know why someone spray painted “Gary Rulz” on your car.

FFS, I’m not the only Gary in the world!

Rubbish.

They lived at a time where they could go straight out of highschool into a job that allowed them to buy a house and start a family by age 30. They didn't need to go through four years of uni. They didn't need five years experience for entry level jobs. They didn't NEED to work themselves half to death just to stay afloat.

They are also responsible for many of the problems the generations since face....they didn't live with purpose, they lived with far fewer responsibilities and they took far less responsibility as a result.

Bloke I worked with bought a house in an inner-south suburb of Canberra back in the day for basically two years wages. He recently sold it for $1.6 million. If you're an APS 4 in the public service (the level most graduates start at or near), earning roughly 65k a year, that's TWENTY FIVE YEARS wages.

The place across the road from me went for 550k (8 years wages for an APS 4) for a three bedroom ex-guvvy the size of a shack. They knocked it down, spent another 400k plus (another 6 years wages) building an actual decent house.

Yet you've got douchebag boomers telling millenials "just stop buying cups of coffee and you can save for a house!"

They are, as a generation, some of the most full of shit people remaining on the planet...

Exactly what I said. It was an easier dream they followed. Now people have options work hard and travel or spend most my life paying a mortgage.

Do you think house prices going up has also a bit to do with most families are dual income now? I know a few people where between a couple are pulling 200k+
And plenty of couples where 150k+ So that is around $2500-$3000 a week in the hand. Im sure throwing $1200 a week at a mortgage is doable for them.
Of course there are battlers or males who have failed like me too attract a mate so we suffer.
Lot of baby boomer it was a sole income or the wife had some little part time job. This is something that gets left out of the discussion most the time. Women wanted to work which created dual incomes which helped drive house prices up.....

But imagine how hard it would have been being a parent trying to make enough money to ensure your children have fish fingers, red cordial and durries.

My parents had to go too the 2nds pies markets and buy boxes. Sergants by memory. Bit crumbled and not all had the tops on ut still tasted fine. That along with spam bring back many memories.