Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

Ummmm really??? If Aus wanted Talkbull to govern in his own right and wanted him to set his own polices he would of been able to give a victory speech and outline his vision for his future instead of a 15 min whingefest on what a bunch of liars the Labor party are are how stupid the voters are believing in their scare campaigns. The libs had a dreadful campaign and it showed in the polling, all this election really showed is how sick people are of the major parties.

Definitely a huge protest vote out there. LNP lost ground because of the tepid stance on climate change, SSM etc. Shorten would have got up but for his promises seemed OTT, which people began to think that he could not deliver. One thing that pollies need to understand is that punters are sick of lies and undelivered promises.

Pauline Hanson - WTF have you Queenslanders done ?

Yeah Mal might be a whiny bitch but he has a point ... the result is on the back of a massive campaign about stuff like medicare

I live in a marginal seat and every night when i got home there was a message on the phone from the unions saying "Did you hear what Malcom Turnbull said today ...", medicare this, medicare that

I find it quite funny - every f**ker thought Mal would be a superstar PM - even labor oriented people ...he's turned out a complete dud

Can you believe that the Electoral Commission won't resume counting until Tuesday ? Do the merkins have a RDO Monday ?

No. They have to move all the pre-poll and out of electorate votes to the home electorate, and control that process (i.e. avoid what happened last time in WA). They're just doing different stuff.

Yeah Mal might be a whiny bitch but he has a point ... the result is on the back of a massive campaign about stuff like medicare

I live in a marginal seat and every night when i got home there was a message on the phone from the unions saying "Did you hear what Malcom Turnbull said today ...", medicare this, medicare that

I find it quite funny - every f**ker thought Mal would be a superstar PM - even labor oriented people ...he's turned out a complete dud
Well maybe if the libs didn't freeze Medicare until 2020 their campaign might not have bitten like it did???

Knifing a sitting PM after winning in a last slide victor last election might not have helped them either.

phantom eel

The people of Australia have definitely not delivered a mandate to either side here. If the people had wanted Malcolm to govern on the basis of the policies and campaign he led, his (existing) Coalition would have had a majority of 76 in their own right. Ditto for Shorten.

So we're in limbo, and the deals that now have to be done between different parties (Katter, Xenophon, McGowan) to enable a Government to be formed takes any mandate out of the hands of the population, and purely into the hands of those minor party representative.

Malcolm and the incumbent government get first chance to try and piece together a majority from among the mix of party reps, and getting anything through the Senate will require so much compromise the resultant policies will be nothing like what was taken to the people for a mandate in the campagn.

It's exactly like the negotiations Gillard had to undertake with Greens, Windsor and Oakeshott - where some people felt Labor didn't have a mandate to govern under those circumstances, and carried on about it for three years...?

I am glad that the most pathetic and uninspiring election campaign in recent history is over. If I didn't have to keep an eye on it because my line of work demands it then I would have become happily detached.

phantom eel

It's interesting to note that the premise of the election - the double dissolution, over regulation in the contruction industry etc - didn't make hardly any appearance during the campaign. (Only in Turnbul's post-election/concession speech at 1am.)

The "strategy" to shore up a Turnbull majority and control of the Senate via an early double dissolution election could be said to have failed, with the Coalition losing seats - and now having even more minor party reps in the Senate to deal with?

That's a pretty strong "non-mandate" delivered by the public right there imo... regardless of who manages to patch together the collection of 76 bodies needed for a majority.

Kornstar

People who have too many kids they can't afford and have women who want to stay home and not work are swayed easily by threats to cuts to welfare and Medicare etc.

I know too many of these people and all they do is whinge that they can't afford to live and simply blame the government rather than themselves for putting themselves on the poverty line with kids they can't afford and then try and make me feel bad by having a good job and spoiling the f**k out of my 1 child!

Somehow I'm lucky, rather than worked for it and sensibly decided that if I wanted to give my children everything that I would have only dreamed of when I grew up with less than nothing, the choice was to have 1 kid.

Tl:dr, I hate the victim mentality in this society.

emjaycee

People who have too many kids they can't afford and have women who want to stay home and not work are swayed easily by threats to cuts to welfare and Medicare etc.

I know too many of these people and all they do is whinge that they can't afford to live and simply blame the government rather than themselves for putting themselves on the poverty line with kids they can't afford and then try and make me feel bad by having a good job and spoiling the f**k out of my 1 child!

Somehow I'm lucky, rather than worked for it and sensibly decided that if I wanted to give my children everything that I would have only dreamed of when I grew up with less than nothing, the choice was to have 1 kid.

Tl:dr, I hate the victim mentality in this society.

It is f**ken selfish attitudes like yours that gives society many of the problems it has today Korny.

Surely you can see the bigger picture and realise that it's not about how hard you work to provide extras for your family, it's about how hard you work to pay extra taxes so that everyone can have for their families what you want for yours even if they don't want to put in the effort to get it themselves.

You are part of a larger society than just the Kornstar family mate - c'mon, think about those people who would love to give their kids what you give your kid. Why does your kid deserve to be spoilt?

Kornstar

It is f**ken selfish attitudes like yours that gives society many of the problems it has today Korny.

Surely you can see the bigger picture and realise that it's not about how hard you work to provide extras for your family, it's about how hard you work to pay extra taxes so that everyone can have for their families what you want for yours even if they don't want to put in the effort to get it themselves.

You are part of a larger society than just the Kornstar family mate - c'mon, think about those people who would love to give their kids what you give your kid. Why does your kid deserve to be spoilt?

Unsure if this is a joke or not?

phantom eel

Delboy's and Avenger's opinions notably absent from post-election analysis talk...?

And Strides, I didn't receive any phone calls at all, or text messages - despite being in the same seat? I did get a(n extra) letter in the post from Malcolm the day before, pleading with me to vote for our sitting member - and it looks like your guy will just scrape through.

My guy? lol

I was deadset getting 2 calls a day (that i know of) ... mostly either recorded messages from Mal or the unions ... the occaisional poll

And i got enough letters and leaflets to sink a ship

I was a bit surprised how few times i saw people at the train station handing stuff out compared to previous elections ... but i have been catching the train later and maybe i just missed em

phantom eel

My guy? lol
Oh that's right, you're a swing voter ;-)

I was deadset getting 2 calls a day (that i know of) ... mostly either recorded messages from Mal or the unions ... the occaisional poll

And i got enough letters and leaflets to sink a ship
Wow, we got nothing - one door knock/buzz from some minor party candidate, and nothing other than letters in the post from the sitting member (using up the electoral allowance).

And yep, no one at the railway station in the lead up here either. *shrugs*

phantom eel

That's probably true... I did know the person who is my current sitting member for one year around 20 years ago - probably knows not to waste the 40c to call me!

Delboy's and Avenger's opinions notably absent from post-election analysis talk...?

And Strides, I didn't receive any phone calls at all, or text messages - despite being in the same seat? I did get a(n extra) letter in the post from Malcolm the day before, pleading with me to vote for our sitting member - and it looks like your guy will just scrape through.

Sorry phantom. Been out all weekend. Turnbull got what he deserved. I never really liked Abbott but Turnbull's biggest supporters were soft Labor voters who realised quickly like the conservatives that he was full of shit and had no real plan. The Liberals always had one on Labor in the fact that they had never knifed a serving PM but his ego and ambition extinguished that. He may be a more polished speaker than Abbott but he has zero substance and comes across as a smug prick. Love it that Wyatt Roy lost his seat. I once had the displeasure of being in a conference with him and he did not impress me one bit. I actually somewhat embarrassed him after he asked me a stupid question about something and I did not give a standard bullshit response but hey maybe I'm just big noting. Don't get me wrong we shouldn't put Abbott back but I would still install him in a Ministerial role and put him back on the front bench.

Haven't really thought about who the Libs should groom after the inevitable defeat in the next federal election in 3 years time. I don't like Morrison despite him being my local member. I just hope Turnbull does the honourable thing and resigns before he is slaughtered.