Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Non Footy Chat Thread II

There are lots of self indulgent, self righteous and morally superior f**kwits who pretend they believe in God.

In fact, 'morally superior' is a term that better describes people who extol all of the virtues of being Christian but behave like complete merkins. At least an atheist isn't pretending to be something that they are not.

Yes, they are. Their atheism isn't to do with God, it's to do with themselves, so that's pretending.

But you're right about those Christians, too. The questions is - are they only doing the Christian thing for their self-righteousness (like the atheists)?

I think in some cases the answer is yes. You can especially see that the further up the Christian hierarchy you go. So, let's put that as the new #1 and push everything else down a number.

Isn't there warranty?
I reckon the government has a lot to answer. Allowing shitty standards and units going up by builders with poor workmanship. The shortage of houses created this. Everyone jumped in to build units knowing they sell like hotcakes. Standards went to shit.

After the collapse of HIH, the largest insurer of builders warranty insurance (BWI), the market was left with no real insurers who were prepared to either continue to insure or step into the market. Stupidly, the gov agreed to dilute the laws for BWI and capped it to buildings of less than 4 storeys including basement parking etc. BWI is essentially fallback insurance meaning that the consumer needs to exhaust all efforts to have a builder attend to defects before they can make a claim. The reason why builders lobbied for a 4 storey cap was that they had to allow a lien over their personal assets.

So now if you have purchased in a building of more than 4 storeys your recourse against a builder is civil action. If the builder is in liquidation then you can sue the developer (owner). If the the developer is goneskis then you are f**ked.

Developers will argue that tightening consumer protections will add to the problem of housing affordability. Don’t know what the answer is but the herald said in an article abt the Mascot Towers that these days 80% of new buildings have defects that need to be pursued. I know for a fact that a certain developer who sponsor an NRL team (not Alland) who will duck and weave for years in litigation before they will reluctantly attend to defects.

There certainly needs to be better consumer protections for the building industry for new buildings during construction as the certification process seems to be dodgy AF. Once completed an enforceable warranty should cover the owners corporation. Just like the mandatory Annual Fire Safety Certificate, a building should be forced to have its structural integrity (including water penetration) certified annually by an engineer.

Yes, they are. Their atheism isn't to do with God, it's to do with themselves, so that's pretending.

But you're right about those Christians, too. The questions is - are they only doing the Christian thing for their self-righteousness (like the atheists)?

I think in some cases the answer is yes. You can especially see that the further up the Christian hierarchy you go. So, let's put that as the new #1 and push everything else down a number.

Did you hear about the dyslexic, agnostic, insomniac?

He stayed up all night wondering if there was a dog.

I got out of it a couple months ago. Walked in at 9 and was out of there by 9:05. I’m a teacher and said I teach HSC classes. That’s not an automatic get out but the guy was fairly young so probably still had some idea that having your teacher away for a whole term isn’t exactly helpful; Though if you arent a teacher my advice is not very helpful.
Edit: I also had a letter from the boss explaining this
They will just call you up again soon enough

Ive been twice in the last 12ish years .... first time i got out of it twice with sick wife and work excuses. But then 3rd time they just wouldnt accept any excuse so had to go. I worked on contract basis at the time, so no work no pay - and they pay you peanuts. It was a long trial and on the day i told em i cant afford to (entirely legit). So she said if i send you home you will just get called again, can you do a 2 week trial, you might not get picked but if you go through the process you will go off the roll. So i agreed.

Sat in a huge room watching tv with 100s of others all morning. Called to 2 cases in group of 30ish, but not randomly picked for either. At 11:55 all the 50ish people left out of the 100s are quickly told, thanks for coming you're not picked, go back to work now, you wont get paid for today. If they keep you there less than 3hrs they dont have to pay you. LOL.

So then i was guaranteed off roll for 10 years ..... got called up again. Work excuse once. 2 months later another letter. Turned up. Watched tv for 3 hours, never even called to a case this time. Again told to piss off just before 12. So at least im off the roll again for a while.

But the whole thing is such a long drawn out waste of time - just to pick a jury!! I can only imagine the time wasting during a trial ..... its no wonder they take 26 weeks - and all the merkins involved love it cos its a slow paced bludge making them rich.

Christianity did away with the commandments. That was the whole point of Christianity - to bring a new covenant.

A Christian friend of mine told me I'd be going to hell cause I had a grim reaper on my guitar. I explained that the grim reaper was some sort of Disney character. Wasn't it?
I found it quite hilarious. But it does who the power of the brain and concepts people are willing to believe.
You do need something to control the masses of people I guess.
Maybe we should all start our own religion. How many members do we need to have tax benefits?

After the collapse of HIH, the largest insurer of builders warranty insurance (BWI), the market was left with no real insurers who were prepared to either continue to insure or step into the market. Stupidly, the gov agreed to dilute the laws for BWI and capped it to buildings of less than 4 storeys including basement parking etc. BWI is essentially fallback insurance meaning that the consumer needs to exhaust all efforts to have a builder attend to defects before they can make a claim. The reason why builders lobbied for a 4 storey cap was that they had to allow a lien over their personal assets.

So now if you have purchased in a building of more than 4 storeys your recourse against a builder is civil action. If the builder is in liquidation then you can sue the developer (owner). If the the developer is goneskis then you are f**ked.

Developers will argue that tightening consumer protections will add to the problem of housing affordability. Don’t know what the answer is but the herald said in an article abt the Mascot Towers that these days 80% of new buildings have defects that need to be pursued. I know for a fact that a certain developer who sponsor an NRL team (not Alland) who will duck and weave for years in litigation before they will reluctantly attend to defects.

There certainly needs to be better consumer protections for the building industry for new buildings during construction as the certification process seems to be dodgy AF. Once completed an enforceable warranty should cover the owners corporation. Just like the mandatory Annual Fire Safety Certificate, a building should be forced to have its structural integrity (including water penetration) certified annually by an engineer.

A lot comes down to attitude. How a person can let someone pay there for a poor job. You get paid and you do the best job you can and one that will last.
I'd hate to be know as a shit tradie but would also feel like a merkin knowing what I did wont last.
But you see others laughing at the fact they ripped someone off or should I say took advantage of them.

A lot comes down to attitude. How a person can let someone pay there for a poor job. You get paid and you do the best job you can and one that will last.
I'd hate to be know as a shit tradie but would also feel like a merkin knowing what I did wont last.
But you see others laughing at the fact they ripped someone off or should I say took advantage of them.
Thank you for taking responsibility for the defects. You will now lose your family home.

^^^ not an easy scenario for mum n dad builders. If I make a mistake in my profession, I have $10m professional indemnity insurance . I don’t lose my house but I pay $15,000 per year for this policy cover. If tradies were required to have PI insurance as a condition of your license, I bet the frequency of defects would drop like a stone.

Noise

They will just call you up again soon enough

Ive been twice in the last 12ish years .... first time i got out of it twice with sick wife and work excuses. But then 3rd time they just wouldnt accept any excuse so had to go. I worked on contract basis at the time, so no work no pay - and they pay you peanuts. It was a long trial and on the day i told em i cant afford to (entirely legit). So she said if i send you home you will just get called again, can you do a 2 week trial, you might not get picked but if you go through the process you will go off the roll. So i agreed.

Sat in a huge room watching tv with 100s of others all morning. Called to 2 cases in group of 30ish, but not randomly picked for either. At 11:55 all the 50ish people left out of the 100s are quickly told, thanks for coming you're not picked, go back to work now, you wont get paid for today. If they keep you there less than 3hrs they dont have to pay you. LOL.

So then i was guaranteed off roll for 10 years ..... got called up again. Work excuse once. 2 months later another letter. Turned up. Watched tv for 3 hours, never even called to a case this time. Again told to piss off just before 12. So at least im off the roll again for a while.

But the whole thing is such a long drawn out waste of time - just to pick a jury!! I can only imagine the time wasting during a trial ..... its no wonder they take 26 weeks - and all the merkins involved love it cos its a slow paced bludge making them rich.

That one was the 3rd one I had got out of in 6 months. The first two I didn’t even have to show up as I had holidays booked. The guy at the counter took me off the register for the current period I was on(September 19- September 20). But yep like anyone I could get called up again.

Snoochies

Christianity did away with the commandments. That was the whole point of Christianity - to bring a new covenant.
We're bot bound by the law correct because we'll all fail and Jesus came to fulfill what we couldn't but thall shall not murder is still applicable IMO. Rejecting the 2nd commandment and creating images has lead Christians down the path of image worship where we get offended or outraged by someone being derogatory to a cross or statue. It shouldn't be this way and it's what the Israelites did when making their golden calf. They couldn't see God and made a god for themselves. If workplaces ban wearing a cross, I couldnt care, it's jewelry.

Thank you for taking responsibility for the defects. You will now lose your family home.

^^^ not an easy scenario for mum n dad builders. If I make a mistake in my profession, I have $10m professional indemnity insurance . I don’t lose my house but I pay $15,000 per year for this policy cover. If tradies were required to have PI insurance as a condition of your license, I bet the frequency of defects would drop like a stone.

I guess I do not know enough about it.

PI is generally only for professionals who design or certify in the building industry. Tradies dont do that, then there are guys in the industry who are not tradies, like floor tilers, carpet layers, roof tilers etc, so without any formal qualifications they wont comply for PI insurance

Totally understand which professions currently hold PI insurance, but I am trying to think of ways to safeguard against pheonix operations who build apartments or other commercial buildings and are not held to account for defects. Perhaps builders should lodge a bond with the government for X years sufficient to cover remedial repairs.

It’s either that they hold appropriate insurances to cover defects or funds are retained otherwise the dodgy builders will continue to leave a trail of shit behind them.

Totally understand which professions currently hold PI insurance, but I am trying to think of ways to safeguard against pheonix operations who build apartments or other commercial buildings and are not held to account for defects. Perhaps builders should lodge a bond with the government for X years sufficient to cover remedial repairs.

It’s either that they hold appropriate insurances to cover defects or funds are retained otherwise the dodgy builders will continue to leave a trail of shit behind them.

the builder is the one that should be responsible, it would also stop them from using the De Shonko brothers as tradies